Software Alternatives & Reviews

DuckDuckGo Reviews

The Internet privacy company that empowers you to seamlessly take control of your personal information online, without any tradeoffs.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Google chrome, firefox, edge, ie, opera, are now tracking you.

    ddg is my favorite search engine and it has great restutes. It has a built in video player too! The only problem is that i have to use google in a blue moon to get the results it need. Duckside! Brave! Lunix!

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about DuckDuckGo and what they use it for.
  • I'll be visiting soon and will need a hot-spot device for video (Zoom) calls. Any recommendations?
    What if I want to research "hotspot device" and "hot-spot device" and I used google.com, yahoo.com, askjeeves.com, duckduckgo.com and I thought to myself. "I wonder what the good people of Reddit thinks too? Should I post there? Hmmm, maybe people will be nice and helpful.". - Source: Reddit / about 9 hours ago
  • Strange code popping up in search engine?
    Same thing happened to me. I see it on duckduckgo.com on Firefox on desktop and on the DDG browser on Android. Actually doing the search on DDG gave a bunch of random results, but searching for it on Google led me here. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • I went to study at a coffee shop that was infested with bed bugs.
    — try using Google or your preferred search engine: Google, Bing, Duckduckgo, or Reddit search. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Xperia 5 III - VoLTE and WiFi Calling (US carriers)
    It does get WiFi calling, but the hotspot function doesn't work very well. Specifically, IPv4 traffic does not go through, as if there's a firewall (iptables) incompatiblity between Xperia and the Fi network settings. IPv6 works (as of Android 12), and is typically preferred by most applications and Internet site - but just to be sure you would want to configure your computer (the one you're sharing your hotspot... - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Any recommendations for a good weighted blanket in Germany?
    The search terms you need are "schwere Decke" and "Gewichtsdecke". If you're having trouble with Google surfacing paid junk above the fold, try a search engine like DuckDuckGo which claims to be completely neutral. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • I’m thinking of a move to Mexico. Best towns to live and why?
    — try using Google or your preferred search engine: Google, Bing, Duckduckgo, or Reddit search. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • can anyone kindly suggest me any book/website/yt video on GPS, remote sensing or gis from which i can gain know what are these, how these works and so on (things are explained elaborately so that it can be understood better).. TIA
    Also you may find that search results from DuckDuckgo will give you more results without the pollution of ad generated SEO. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • The Danger of Minimalist Design
    Aesthetics have evolved to reflect what’s financially feasible to mass produce, since design taste is driven in large part by common (i.e. Not rare) design elements. I’d also argue that many of those award winners are still incredibly ornate [0,1,2]. [0]... - Source: Hacker News / 7 days ago
  • The Danger of Minimalist Design
    > Manufacturing labor is much more expensive than it used to be, so it’s no longer economically feasible to mass produce ornate buildings or goods. That's the excuse architects give us, yes. But look at the extravagant, price-is-not-a-factor designs that win architecture awards [1] - the same soulless lack-of-detail they claim is purely a cost cutting measure, even when other elements of the design are very... - Source: Hacker News / 7 days ago
  • Beware of the new YourLRPD app
    Take your tin-foil hat off; this is not a conspiracy, they are not out to get you. This is nothing new. It's been going for decades. Don't believe me? Do a google (or anybody else) search for "Internet Browser Headers". Duckduckgo.com sends me to this page, which in my case says: "Referer: https://duckduckgo.com/". Using a different search site will return that site. - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of DuckDuckGo

The Difference Between Search Engines
There are a whole lot of similarities among Google and Bing. Bing is completely different as a result of the highly advertised praise methods. It has many features identical to Google and that's the primary distinction between Bing and DuckDuckGo. The later has fewer features and it believes in the privacy of its users. As a result of that in contrast to Bing, it does now not observe its users. On the other hand,...
I Ditched Google for DuckDuckGo. Here's Why You Should Too
A quick office survey revealed similar search banality: recent Googles included "capitalist," "toxoplasmosis," and "hyde park police." For the most part, what we’re looking for online is simple: definitions, companies, names, and places. Where DuckDuckGo has struggled is when I look for something incredibly specific. So, for example, search for "film Leonardo Dicaprio goats scene" in DuckDuckGo and it doesn’t...
No need for Google: 12 alternative search engines in 2018
Like DuckDuckGo, StartPage was founded with strict user Privacy as its USP. Again, it doesn’t track and store your data, and it doesn’t target ads based on your behaviors.
Top 10 Best Google Search Engine Alternative List of 2019
DuckDuckGo is a very loved search engine by many of the users, especially in China. There are many reasons. First, this has a neat and clean interface. And the other great thing about DuckDuckGo is that this search engine never tracks you and your activities.
12 Google Alternatives: Best Search Engines To Use In 2019
Moreover, it has a clean interface and brings the search results from Yahoo, Yandex, and other search engines besides Google. You can add DuckDuckGo’s extension to your browser to keep your activities private. It offers all the standard features of a search engine like Google, but there is one cool feature called “bangs” that is worth mentioning.
14 Great Search Engines You Can Use Instead of Google
DuckDuckGo is the perfect choice for those who wish to keep their browsing habits and personal information private.
The Best Private Search Engines — Alternatives to Google
DuckDuckGo is probably the most well-known alternative search engine. Its CEO, Gabriel Weinberg, said, “if the FBI comes to us, we have nothing to tie back to you.” Searches are sourced mostly from Yahoo. One cool feature of DuckDuckGo is what it calls “bangs”. Users can directly search other sites, like Amazon, Wikipedia, Yelp or Youtube, by starting their query with an exclamation mark!
8 Privacy Oriented Alternative Search Engines To Google in 2018
Duckduckgo in October 2020 has been caught red-handed filtering their search results. They are no longer a legitmate search engine ‘platform.’ They are curated selective publisher. This same issue is going to Supreme Court regarding Twitter, Facebook and Google. Duckduckgo are actually worse than Google for its overt censorship. This is the lastest verifiable and verified offense. In the name of political bias,...
A List of Search Engines to Use Instead of Google
DuckDuckGo offers some slick features, like zero-click information wherein all your answers appear on the first results page. DuckDuckgo offers disambiguation prompts that help to clarify what question you are asking. Most significantly, DuckDuckGo does not track information about you or share your search habits with others.
Say goodbye to Google: 14 alternative search engines
The key feature of DuckDuckGo is that it doesn’t retain its users‘ data, so it won’t track you or manipulate results based on your behaviour. So if you’re particularly spooked by Google’s all-seeing, all-knowing eye, this might be the one for you.

Do you know an article comparing DuckDuckGo to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.