Software Alternatives & Reviews

MagicaVoxel Reviews

MagicaVoxel Official Website. MagicaVoxel @ ephtracy (Win/Mac) - 0. Read more about MagicaVoxel.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about MagicaVoxel and what they use it for.
  • OBJ to VOXEL
    Does anyone know of an open-source library to convert OBJ or other 3D formats into a voxel format? Any other efficient ways of doing it? I know MagicaVoxel can convert. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • one of my 3D accretor cellular automata, rendered in Blender
    This looks awesome. If you haven't yet, I encourage you to try out MagicaVoxel. It has a wonderful render engine and supports loading models. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • raylib 4.0 released!
    Those are some of the key features for this new release but actually there is way more! Support for VOX (MagikaVoxel) 3d model format has been added, new raylib_game_template repo shared, new EncodeDataBase64() and DecodeDataBase64() functions added, improved HiDPI support, new DrawTextPro() with support for text rotations, completely reviewed glTF models loading, added SeekMusicStream() for music seeking, many... - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Ithakros by Mari K
    Not sure if serious, but it's MagicaVoxel not Minecraft. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Lately, out of seemingly nowhere I have developed a passion for creating symmetrical isometric digital sigils using my own synaesthetic colours to match different themes. 🤷 idk.
    If you are doing it voxel style have you ever tried MagicaVoxel? - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • My Room in 3D
    I found it a bit easier to start with voxels: https://ephtracy.github.io/. - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • MagicaVoxel 0.99.6.4 is here!
    #MagicaVoxel 0.99.6.4: improved scene outline, pattern library and layer panels; multi-language support; ephtracy.github.io. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Is there a software that can provide a realistic 3d preview like prusaslicer does for sliced fdm?
    Sorry, seems like I've misunderstood you then. If you have a 3d mesh (and not just the CTB file) then you could use tools like https://github.com/mattatz/unity-voxel for Unity3D or this library https://github.com/karimnaaji/voxelizer if you want to write to your own custom format (and know C/C++) or maybe MagicaVoxel https://ephtracy.github.io/ (though I don't know about it's import/export formats and whether it... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • LPT: If ever you need a program you want for free (for example a video/photo editor) don't search for "free", search for "open source" to avoid limited trial versions, adverts and malware
    MagicaVoxel -A free lightweight GPU-based voxel art editor and interactive path tracing renderer. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • What software for making scifi buildings?
    Generaly, any 3D asset that you need can be done in Blender. It's the just the pattern for indi devs and for those who don't work professionaly. Free and open source. But if you like more pixel art and voxel, usually they will recommend Magicavoxel. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago

Do you know an article comparing MagicaVoxel to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.