Software Alternatives & Reviews

Box Reviews

Box offers secure content management and collaboration for individuals, teams and businesses, enabling secure file sharing and access to your files online.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Box and what they use it for.
  • How can I do two-way, real-time syncing with sites like OneDrive and Box.com?
    I've been using OneDriver for 6 month now, I discover this project from a post on itsfoss.com and now I'm using the program everyday. You have the option of mounting on Login and has real-time syncing. For box.com sadly I can't help you since I don't use that platform. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • Need advice regarding my product idea
    Box.com ? I would check out the reasons people use the tools they use. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • trying pop episode 3: after pop!_os installation
    Looking for a good box.com solution, looking at maybe using expandrive (which is not free) to mount box. - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • Does anyone not have social media and how do you share photos with friends and family?
    I exchange photos and other info to family members via cloud storage, mostly box.com. - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • What are the least unsaturated career paths in IT ?
    To practice things, you can get your own free tenant in Azure AD. Set up access controls. Play around with the default roles in Azure. Federate some applications and get signed in (box.com, adobe.com for example allow anyone to federate and are even self-service). Download SAML tracer and review authentication attempts. Read about OIDC/SAML. OIDC is the future of authentication. OAuth 2.0 is great. I think this is... - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Has anyone entirely ditched paper copies?
    I see a lot of people moving over from box.com or dropbox to OneDrive. I have Dropbox and it's so easy so drag and drop and share a link. It seems a bit cumbersome with the guys in the field though. What was your main deciding factor to move to OneDrive? - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Has anyone entirely ditched paper copies?
    I worked at a personal injury firm for over five years. When I first arrived everything was paper. They had cabinets FILLED with endless documents that nobody ever looked at but we "needed". Eventually, we started to switch to paperless took me months to scan every single document into our new online system. But it was worth every second. We went from using box.com to OneDrive. I highly recommend one drive. You... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Are "hard copies" of travel documents really necessary these days?
    I'm curious how others here have had to actually use the hard copies of their travel documents; and if it isn't enough to simply store them in the cloud (Box.com etc) and/or thumb-drive. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Download speed extremely slow but only on one website - need help.
    Today, downloading from box.com has been abysmal, as despite my internet speed being completely normal, the download speed from box has slowed to 50KB per second. Downloading from everywhere else (google drive, steam) has been totally fine and it is just this specific website that is having issues. I have messaged others whom I work with and they are all having no trouble at all and are downloading from the same... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • TTE download website problem.
    So the only download link is from box.com. However, when clicking download the speed is painfully slow. I'm talking 40kb/s slow. When normally I get 2-3mb/s easily, third party download softwares like IDM don't work. After trying to search for solutions for hours I decided to just wait out the long download time. After an hour and a half the download just drop dead with error at around 50mb to 70mb. Retrying gives... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Box

13 Best Free Dropbox Alternatives for File Sharing
Box provides enhanced features such as dedicated phone support, encrypted data transfer and storage. You can also integrate it with Salesforce.com and Google Apps. In addition, you can access it through tablets, Android phones, Blackberry, iPad and iPhone. They also have partnerships with mobile companies for apps which allow users to easily access their services. Box supports approximately 120 applications...
Top 11 Best Dropbox Alternatives in 2020: Which Is The Most Secure?
An additional metric for your review could be resources consumed by each program. DropBox is notorious for gobbling up a lot of your free memory. As I type this, it is using 143 threads and 357MB of my 8GB RAM on a MAC and it is not performing a synch. I would love to know which of your top choices was less RAM hungry than DropBox. It is the major reason I am looking to change services.
8 Best Dropbox Alternatives
Box is a cloud storage service designed for businesses and collaborative team members. It offers dozens of tools and features to improve your workflow and easily collaborate with others in your team. It is made for collaboration.
Dropbox Alternatives: 10 Best Cloud Storage Services
Box is what Dropbox would have been if it had focused more on the business users rather than individual users. Box is made with keeping the needs of businesses in mind. Once you create an account, you can access Box from its websites or its apps which support all the major platforms including Linux. Any folder you put into the Box-folder will sync automatically. But, every other app on this list does that, then...
The Best 21 Sharepoint Alternatives in 2019
Box for Business has garnered some international recognition. They help teams function by giving a better option than sending files via email. Different files can be stored in the Box cloud such as:
5 Actual Sharepoint Alternatives in 2019: Not every collaborative app is a Sharepoint Alternative
Box has gained momentum in the document sharing and collaborative arena. Although Box is primarily focused on the document management piece for Sharepoint, it qualifies as a worthy alternative because most companies use Sharepoint primarily for this feature. Moreover, Box’s DM capabilities have a lot of depth, making it suitable for enterprises.
7 SharePoint Alternatives that Actually Get the Job Done
Unlike other SharePoint alternatives, Redbooth is primarily for project management, which means it comes up short in a lot of areas. There’s no document storage capabilities, and its search abilities are poor. It does, however supports Box (and SharePoint), so there are good integrations there if you need them.
Google Drive Alternatives: 10 Best Cloud Storage Services
Box is one of those cloud storage service providers which focus more on business users than on individual ones. This means that if you are looking for a cloud storage service for your personal use, you should probably stay clear of it. However, if you are a business user and looking for a service which not only saves your data on the cloud, but, allows your employees to collaborate easily, this is the one to get....
Top 9 Slideshare Alternatives
Box.com is integrated with Microsoft Office Online tools and Google Docs. After you upload a presentation, you will be able to edit it live, or you can create a new one and automatically save it on your account. However, even if your presentation has audio and video elements, animations or transitions, you won’t be able to see them outside of PowerPoint Online. The free Personal Plan gets you 10GB of storage space...
Four Awesome File Sharing Alternatives to Dropbox
Box is another cool cloud-based solution for sharing and sending large files. You can use Box as an online application or download it for use on your PC, Mac, iOS, Android, or Windows device. You can also integrate Box on your specific version of Microsoft Office to edit and share files without ever leaving the comfort of your Office interface. With Box, you get the very best in cross-platform synchronization.
Google Drive is not for everyone, so try these alternatives
Box Box is the file-sharing service designed for businesses. You can get a plan as an individual user, but this company makes its money from, and does it best work for, the business team. Desktop sync isn't even available on individual accounts.

Do you know an article comparing Box to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.