Software Alternatives & Reviews

Box Reviews

Box offers secure content management and collaboration for individuals, teams and businesses, enabling secure file sharing and access to your files online.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Box and what they use it for.
  • My dad trying to find a file 😂
    Yeah, we used to have network share too; but then one day during the holiday, the pipe burst in the building and server room got flooded. We decided to get rid of local servers altogether and move to the cloud. For storage, we got box.com for service and they complains it's too slow to move it there. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • The crap people put in sharepoint!
    We are in the process of migrating off of box.com and when I tell you that folder structure is a fucking disaster, that is an understatement. - Source: Reddit / 26 days ago
  • Box.com Client Sych
    Hello, Is there any good way to synchronize box.com files locally on my laptop? Working online with hundreds of files takes so much time for me. If anyone finds a solution to it, please share. Thank you in advance. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Meta launches ad campaign targeting iMessage: ‘WhatsApp is far more private and secure’
    Icloud is as secure as any other main stream cloud service when it comes to your garden variety hacker, but when the govt comes calling that's another story. Apple, like dropbox, google, box.com, etc... Your data is available to them and through them anyone else. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • My experiment with ObsidianMD
    Only tried with box.com. In iPad did not see the option of keeping Google Drive file Offline. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • I hate box - migration issues
    Hey all - so I'm with a biotech startup and we are looking to migrate from the box.com account that was setup when the company was started over to sharepoint. Documentation makes it look like this should be simple, however we're failing at literally step 1 - which is to login to box and add the M365 migration app. When we login (I am a co-admin) I do not see the migration app as an option. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Zotero WebDAV Service
    Box.com webDAV sync support is reportedly dead since 20th of August. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Question about storage
    Thank you so much for your help, I owe you 9.99/month by saving box.com subscription haha. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Question about storage
    I don't know if it's matter but I don't want to have the option to see ANYTIME my files on the Mac via iCloud (just when I need them). Like box : I need to see something, I open box.com see my file and close the tab. it's the same thing possible ? I just want storage on my Mac again ^^. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • £1,500 budget. Any laptop recommendations, please?
    Yes, I saw that deal at box.com, had the laptop in my basket, went to make lunch to think it over then it went out of stock!!! - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Box

The Best iPhone Transfer & Manager Software for 2022
Whether you have an iPhone or any other device, one of the options you can check out is Box. The designers of Box say that their unique selling point is the simplicity of the software. For instance, all you need, to transmit files of any size to anywhere, is a link. This means that you don’t necessarily need a Box account to use the software.
Google Drive alternatives: Best picks
With Box, you can create files that will instantly be shared with your teammates. They can then edit and comment on your documents in real time. The Box is probably one of the most integrated apps on this list, too. With over 1,000 leading software providers like Office 365, Salesforce and Adobe Sign, your teammates will be able to edit documents without leaving the platform. It also gives you detailed version...
13 Best Free Dropbox Alternatives for File Sharing
Box provides enhanced features such as dedicated phone support, encrypted data transfer and storage. You can also integrate it with Salesforce.com and Google Apps. In addition, you can access it through tablets, Android phones, Blackberry, iPad and iPhone. They also have partnerships with mobile companies for apps which allow users to easily access their services. Box supports approximately 120 applications...
Top 11 Best Dropbox Alternatives in 2020: Which Is The Most Secure?
An additional metric for your review could be resources consumed by each program. DropBox is notorious for gobbling up a lot of your free memory. As I type this, it is using 143 threads and 357MB of my 8GB RAM on a MAC and it is not performing a synch. I would love to know which of your top choices was less RAM hungry than DropBox. It is the major reason I am looking to change services.
8 Best Dropbox Alternatives
Box is a cloud storage service designed for businesses and collaborative team members. It offers dozens of tools and features to improve your workflow and easily collaborate with others in your team. It is made for collaboration.
Running Out of Room in Dropbox? Here are 11 Dropbox Alternatives That Offer WAY More Free Cloud Storage
Box.com gives 10 GB of free storage space. With its easy sync feature, you can access any stored file on your tablet or phone. A potential downfall of Box.com is that you can only share files up to 250 MB.
10 top file-sharing services: Dropbox, Box, Google Drive, OneDrive, and more
Additional features with business plans: Built-in integrations with Slack (as well as Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace), plus 1 additional enterprise app integration; Box Sign (unlimited e-signatures via web app); Box Relay (workflow automation); data loss protection; two-factor authentication; SSO; Active Directory integration; other user management features. Higher-level plans offer additional enterprise app...
Dropbox Alternatives: 10 Best Cloud Storage Services
Box is what Dropbox would have been if it had focused more on the business users rather than individual users. Box is made with keeping the needs of businesses in mind. Once you create an account, you can access Box from its websites or its apps which support all the major platforms including Linux. Any folder you put into the Box-folder will sync automatically. But, every other app on this list does that, then...
The Best 21 Sharepoint Alternatives in 2019
Box for Business has garnered some international recognition. They help teams function by giving a better option than sending files via email. Different files can be stored in the Box cloud such as:
5 Actual Sharepoint Alternatives in 2019: Not every collaborative app is a Sharepoint Alternative
Box has gained momentum in the document sharing and collaborative arena. Although Box is primarily focused on the document management piece for Sharepoint, it qualifies as a worthy alternative because most companies use Sharepoint primarily for this feature. Moreover, Box’s DM capabilities have a lot of depth, making it suitable for enterprises.
7 SharePoint Alternatives that Actually Get the Job Done
Unlike other SharePoint alternatives, Redbooth is primarily for project management, which means it comes up short in a lot of areas. There’s no document storage capabilities, and its search abilities are poor. It does, however supports Box (and SharePoint), so there are good integrations there if you need them.
Google Drive Alternatives: 10 Best Cloud Storage Services
Box is one of those cloud storage service providers which focus more on business users than on individual ones. This means that if you are looking for a cloud storage service for your personal use, you should probably stay clear of it. However, if you are a business user and looking for a service which not only saves your data on the cloud, but, allows your employees to collaborate easily, this is the one to get....

Do you know an article comparing Box to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.