Software Alternatives & Reviews

Mint Reviews

Free personal finance software to assist you to manage your money, financial planning, and budget planning tools. Achieve your financial goals with Mint.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Mint and what they use it for.
  • I’m making 42k and need hell budget
    Groceries and fun spending needs to be expanded upon. That's a huge chunk of your spending that remains uncategorized. Use Mint or a similar tool to get an initial estimate. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Fine line between autopay and not paying late fees?
    It might be worth taking a look at something like Intuit's Mint, as they'll automatically pull in and categorise your purchases for you, and then you can see if your "subscription" charges are higher than you thought they would be. Their categorisation isn't always accurate, but I found it to be decent. - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • What are the best budgeting apps? Or what do you use to budget your money?
    You might want to look at Mint. I looked at a demo a while back and thought it looked pretty good. - Source: Reddit / 24 days ago
  • Use large chunk of savings for debt?
    Others have already mentioned good advice on handling debt... But one thing worth doing in parallel, is to start tracking your expenses. This will help you see where the money is going, and also draw up a realistic budget going forward. If you aren't good at tracking your expenses, apps like Mint can do it for you. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Using Excel to track bank balances, any templates?
    Just since you're new, I'll make a small plug for Intuit's Mint budgeting platform. You can use it for free and it has ability to connect to all your accounts and track transactions, budget, as well as basic goals. Basically does an automatic version of manually copying your bank statements into a XL file and writing your own formula. See r/mintuit if you want to know more from Reddit, or direct site:... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Moving into Push based integrations
    Maybe getting too technical here and I'm by no means a technical expert, but wouldn't you need to be authenticated in order for the app to push that kind of specific info? If the need is quick access to metrics, I'd suggest looking at creating a widget that uses a token authentication rather than having to open up a presumably larger app that needs more resources, etc. As an example, I use a widget of Mint by... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • how the fuck do you people have so much money....... I've never had over $2000 in my life. talking about your brand new houses and cars... what planet are you people from?
    You don’t need to do this manually, check out You Need a Budget or Mint, or google and find a website or example that works for you. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Understanding finances, budgeting, etc ADHD style
    Mint isn’t really educational but is a common budget tracker tool. i’ve used it before (free version) with some success- I didn’t really know what I was doing when setting my budgeting goals, but the app/site was fine for tracking my spending and saving. Easy since it imports transaction data from your bank accounts. it’s nice that you can see credit score tips and stuff and see it improving over time. Also neat... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Am I saving enough money for my age?
    Now you should learn to budget. It starts very simply - track your spending. I like Mint, but there are others. You need to see where your money is both coming from and going to. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • spending money too often
    1: Mint. Mint is an online money management app that helps me obsess on not spending. https://mint.intuit.com/. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Mint

11 Best Quicken Alternatives in 2021 (#1 is Free)
I used Mint when it first came out more than a decade ago. Today, many are looking for Mint alternatives, including several of the apps listed here. Still, Mint is a worth consideration if you are replacing Intuit’s Quicken. It’s free, for starters. It’s easy to link your accounts and track your spending. It includes a budget planner and credit score tracker. Of course, there are great Mint alternatives as well.
How to Track and Manage Your Paid Subscriptions
If you're looking for a free and easy-to-use personal finance service, Mint is a five-star, PCMag Editors' Choice pick. With Mint, you can connect your bank account to track credit card payments, recurring subscriptions, utilities, and even offline payments. The app also offers reminders before payments are due and alerts you when prices increase. Custom budgeting features, automated categories, and personalized...
The Best Personal Finance Budget Software with Apps (In 2020)
When you sign up with Mint, you provide the program with all of your financial accounts, including bank accounts, investments, retirement funds, credit cards, 529 accounts, and even real estate purchases. Mint allows you to see all of your financial information in a single dashboard, which also calculates your net worth. More info…show
Top 15 Budget Apps to Make Your Personal Finance Goals Easy
Mint also lets you track bills and set alerts so you never miss a payment. If that wasn’t enough, you can also check your credit score for free through Mint. Lastly, you can receive budget suggestions if you need some extra help setting yourself up for success.
The 8 Best Budgeting Apps of 2020
Mint is one of the oldest and best-known budgeting apps. Owned by Intuit, the same company that makes Quickbooks and TurboTax, Mint offers an array of features to help you track and manage your money from a giant list of banks, credit card issuers, brokerages, lenders, and other financial institutions.
7 Best Budgeting Tools and Apps for Personal Finance
Mint is a highly popular budgeting app. It takes your bank and credit card information to analyze your income and spending trends. It then points out the exact areas where you can spend less to improve your finances. You can set alerts for bills and upcoming payments to avoid unnecessary late fees. It also analyzes your credit score for free and gives you tips on how to improve it. You also get notified in case of...
18 Best Free GnuCash Alternatives for Free Accounting
Mint is a free web-based software that offers free sign up and offers services like paying and managing bills, keeping a track of bank accounts, credit cards, bill dues and payment records, budgeting & investment, and much more. Best of all, you do not even need to get into the hassle of downloading or installing the app. It allows you to not just view your bills and money on a single interface, you can also get...
10 Mint.com Alternatives – Money Apps Fresher than Mint dot com
Hello, thank you for your review. I FINALLY switched from Mint.com after being with it since ’14. I’ve tried just about every app, and after all these years, I have found NONE that compare to Pocketsmith. I honestly think it should be #1 because of the rich features it has. Not only was I able to switch to mint.com and add all my transactions, they all retained every bit of data from mint. It’s like I upgraded and...
5 open source alternatives to Mint and Quicken for personal finance
In frustration I tried some online financial apps and settled on Mint. Yes, it's ironic, Mint is by Intuit (Quicken), but it is free and does everything I need and runs on any device with a browser. The budgeting feature is strong as is customization for categorizing your spending. The weak point is reporting. I don't need printed reports so that's not a factor for me.
2017: Top 9 Personal Budget Software Apps
Mint is a well-known and popular app, and it shares several similar features with Quicken. Intuit once owned Quicken, then it purchased Mint in 2009—thus the similarities. But Mint is different from Quicken in an important way: it is free.

Do you know an article comparing Mint to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.