Software Alternatives & Reviews

Xcode Reviews

Xcode is Apple’s powerful integrated development environment for creating great apps for Mac, iPhone, and iPad. Xcode 4 includes the Xcode IDE, instruments, iOS Simulator, and the latest Mac OS X and iOS SDKs.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Xcode and what they use it for.
  • Unable To Install "<appname>". This app cannot be installed because its integrity could not be verified. [With paid developer account]
    If you encounter this error when you have a paid developer account, try logging into https://developer.apple.com/, navigate to "devices", make sure your device UDID is registered. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Can I code or set up my Apple watch for my own health status?
    Sorry, I don’t really get what you are trying to achieve, but maybe start here: https://developer.apple.com/. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • React Native Expo automated deployment using fastlane and CircleCI
    Apple Developer Account and knowledge on how to setup an App Store app listing. - Source: dev.to / 30 days ago
  • Defer macOS updated
    Like enforcedSoftwareUpdateMajorOSDeferredInstallDelay is documented on developer.apple.com but I don't see it as an option in Jamf, or ProfileCreator, or iMazing Profile Editor. I wish they made it easier. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Where do developers hang out in 2022?
    Since the XDA Developers community is mostly focused on Android and Windows, I’d like to show you some communities for IOS developers. You may have heard something about the main forum for IOS developers (the official Apple Developer website). However, there are numerous other communities on various platforms to your taste, for example: iOS Developers Slack Community, MacRumors forum and Subreddit for IOS... - Source: dev.to / 30 days ago
  • Major regression in monitor support with Ventura
    I'm using Ventura build 22A380, which identifies itself as Ventura 13.0 (it shows up as RC2 on developer.apple.com). With my hardware configuration completely stable and unchanging for months, suddenly one of my three monitors won't turn on, even after reboot, re-plugging all the cables, etc. I've never experienced this at all - ever - on any previous version of MacOS. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • My school wants us to allow this on our personal devices, just to use Google Classroom.
    I looked up "Apple Device Manager" and got to the developer information site (developer.apple.com). Then I looked at the Apple Support site and got more information. It all sounds great for a school- or company-owned device being used by a student or employee, but seriously, I wouldn't allow it on my personal device. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • For Devs: MacBook Air M2?
    If you are developing an app for iPhone or Mac, you can use Apple's free IDE Xcode. You can also create a free Developer Account for access to some software and services. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • App Store Connect login error: "Failed to verify your identity. Try Again"
    I've seen online that some people resolved this by appending a verification code to the end of the password, but that hasn't worked for me. I'm able to log in to devices and apps, like the App Store Connect app, but if I try to log in to icloud.com, searchads, appstoreconnect.apple.com, developer.apple.com, or appleid.apple.com I immediately get this error and no code is sent. The only way I was able to get a... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Do you know how to upgrade XCode 13.4 to XCode 14 ?
    Get it through developer site instead. developer.apple.com -> downloads -> Applications. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Xcode

Android Studio Alternative
Apple’s integrated development environment (IDE) for macOS is Xcode, which can be used to create software for macOS, iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, and tvOS. In addition, it provides Command Line Tools (CLT), which enable UNIX-style development via the Terminal app in macOS. Xcode also has built-in support for source code management via the Git version control system and protocol, allowing users to build and clone Git...
Top 10 Visual Studio Alternatives
The XCode cloud is a constant integration and a type of delivery service. It is a type of cloud that is ideally designed for apple users. It is only made for MAC OS X; hence, you need to try other ways if you have a Windows PC. The main goal of Xcode is to develop the software system for various IOS systems.
Best Eclipse Alternatives to Use
Xcode includes a code editor supporting syntax highlighting, intelligent code completion, and code snippets, as well as an interface builder, which is designed for developing graphical user interfaces. Xcode supports the entire lifecycle of an application, including code editing, compilation, debugging, testing, and deployment.
Can you develop iOS apps on Windows in 2021
If you still don’t understand the problem, it is two-fold. First of all, you need Xcode to make iOS apps. You cannot change this. Secondly, you can only use Xcode on Apple hardware. Therefore, officially speaking, without Xcode and an Apple device, you cannot make iOS apps. You cannot use Xcode on Windows.
Top Alternatives to Xcode for Mac
As an integrated development environment (IDE), Xcode offers users a new way to create software. It offers live rendering functionality that turns your code into a live user interface. All changes you make in the code get reflected on the display screen. Apart from this, Xcode download for Mac offers a range of features that let you create apps for iPhones, iPads, and macOS laptops, among other devices. Visual...

Do you know an article comparing Xcode to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.