Software Alternatives & Reviews

Sia Reviews

Official site for Sia. Includes news, tour dates, videos, webstore, and more!

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Sia and what they use it for.
  • Being poor and a datahoarder is a nightmare. Is there a more efficient way of saving things?
    As long as your needs are not beyond a TB, you can always consider something that does not require an actual "login" or a national currency, such as using SIAcoin (https://sia.tech). The cost for a terabyte hosted in two places often will cost you under the equivalent of $6-8 per month. It takes getting used to, but since it is blockchain based, it might even be possible for you to mine the means of paying for... - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • Is there really no way to delete something uploaded to Arweave? I would prefer if I as the owner of the content could do that.
    SiaCoin which is the utility token for the Sia ecosystem https://sia.tech/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Can I rent space on Sia? Is it convenient?
    To quickly answer your question, it's easy to rent on Sia. You'll need to download the SiaUI program from the Sia website and transfer some coins into your wallet. After setting up your storage allowance, you just hit the upload button to upload files! - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Say it louder for the ones at the back!
    There's also sia. Where it's possible to earn cloud storage credits by providing cloud storage to others instead of paying for it. If you want, you could set it up so that you're basically just trading with somebody else, allowing somebody else to store files at your house while you store files at their house. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Sia UI stuck at Block 137,860
    I'm using the one from sia.tech site, which is 5.6.9. So you're saying I should download 1.5.6 from the link above? - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • America's Ring doorbell camera obsession highlights the scourge of mass surveillance. Why plastering cheap, internet-connected surveillance cameras on everything we own isn't fun or funny — and makes everyone less safe.
    Also if you do want to have offsite storage I would consider looking into using the Sia network. I don't know if anyone has used it for this before as it's still relatively new. But it is a fully decentralized cloud storage network which requires no third party to access or store data on the network. All your data gets sharded and encrypted into 30 pieces using Reed-Solomon erasure encoding with 3x redundancy.... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Any DataBase-type project built on IPFS?
    It deviates from IPFS in many ways. So, it is a fork. You can check https://sia.tech. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Calling Git a blockchain to rebrand bad tech
    What problem does Mastodon solve? Just non-Twitter shortform social networking? What about Diaspora, PeerTube, etc? Not being beholden to a central authority (whether that authority be Twitter, PayPal, or the US government) is intrinsically valuable to a lot of people. Blockchains are just a convenient and proven way of enabling that sort of independence. Granted, decentralization is a bit of a niche, and the... - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • There aren't that many uses for blockchains
    You’re not thinking it through. It’s not only about being efficient and not, it’s also about being able to trust something. Sure, you can trust a DB that says that an account holds this much money - but why not have nodes verify that? For markets as well, blockchain make perfect sense. Blockchains tech tend to have standards, too. This makes for great tech that can be super cheap. Akash is more reliable than AWS... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Isn't ICP a *clear* evolution of blockchain technology, am I missing something?
    Since you're so focused on ICP which is mostly used to run webapps, I can also think of why Sia/Skynet can be useful. Skynet bases itself on the Sia blockchain, where any user can upload a file or a database entry through a portal, self-hosted, private, or public. With cryptographic proofs, it is possible to verify that files are not lost, are re-generated, are legitimate (i.e., not spoofed by the potentially... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • What is Decentralized Web Services?
    Decentralized Web Services (DWS) blockchain is a cloud computing product, which connects multiple decentralized infrastructure solutions like Akash, Sia, Handshake, NYM, and many others under one umbrella. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • What if Web3 was all about decentralization, IPFS & multi-cloud
    Or use a properly decentralized cloud network and avoid needing to use multi cloud to achieve decentralization. Look into Filebase and their IPFS implementation that uses the Sia network. Sia is currently comprised of ~650 individually owned and operated hosts in over 53 countries. Meaning it covers nearly 30% of the globe and is truely decentralized. 👍. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Need to store > 7 TB of data, what is the cheapest but mildly reliable way of doing so
    Siacoin .... You can define which host you use ... Can be under 5 $ for months ... https://sia.tech/. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • What are you working on at the moment, why do you think it's important and does it have any connection to SSC?
    I work on Sia, and in my free time, Urbit. I think both of these are meaningful steps towards something like Balaji's "network state." To me, the idea of leapfrogging physical nation states via technology is very SSC-adjacent. There's a joke in my friend group that Scott is the only person we'd unanimously trust to run an autocracy; I'm pretty sure he'd refuse that role, but the idea of "emigrating" to an SSC... - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • The Privatized Internet Has Failed Us: The early promises about the utopia that the internet would bring us have proven wrong. The internet can never deliver on all it’s capable of when it’s run for profit — we need a publicly owned internet
    There is still some pieces not quite ready, but is about 95% complete. Should be ready for mass adoption by the end of the year is my guess. It is being developed by The Sia Foundation and Skynet Labs. And I highly recommend looking into it. 👍. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Ape historian | To all who saw my IPFS post and commented - thank you. thank you for dealing with teething issues. Here is a few more links that definitley work for me now - can all other apes see these? This will all be linked in the dashboard so no need to remember these.
    I am also working on getting the same setup to host on SIA (sia.tech) which offers a similar functionality as well. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Ask HN: Pros and cons placing idle computers to use outside business hours?
    Anyone have experience placing 10s-100s of computers into paid service (e.g. MQL5 [1], Digital Coin Generation [2], Golem P2P network [3], MinePrize [4], etc) with distributed decentralized storage (SiaCoin [5] vs Storj [6] vs Filecoin [7])? Is it worth the effort? Beest practices? Any exacerbated security or support concerns? What about altruistic grid computing through BOINC, [email protected] etc? Assume... - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Decentralized Storage Networks — An Explainer
    IPFS Whitepaper Juan Benet IPLD Tutorial | Merkle DAGs: Structuring Data for the Distributed Web | ProtoSchool Multiformats Tutorial | Anatomy of a CID | ProtoSchool SafeNetwork Sia Storj Swarm The Meaning of Decentralization | Vitalik Buterin 7 decentralized data storage networks compared | Robert Sheldon, Brien Posey. - Source: dev.to / 10 months ago
  • NFT sales ‘have declined 92% since their peak’
    Another example is sia, which provides reliable cloud storage for $1 per Tb per month. Again, since it creates a decentralized marketplace it can offer lower prices than services like Dropbox. There's a similar service called storj which is targeted at enterprise customers, as well as filecoin which is designed to store public information like Wikipedia. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • NFT Monkeys Suck
    Sia- reliable decentralized cloud storage at $1/Tb/month. Cheaper than Dropbox or any other centralized cloud storage. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Unraid Community Rockstars 🤘
    Or even better: sia. It's truly decentralised and doesn't rely on any gateways like storj does. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago

Do you know an article comparing Sia to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.