Software Alternatives & Reviews

OsmAnd Reviews

Global mobile map viewing and navigation for online and offline OSM maps

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about OsmAnd and what they use it for.
  • Navigation app that isn't a subscription
    OSMAnd+ - less intuitive but more feature rich. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • I just found game changing info
    I can only recommend OsmAnd (you can also get it on F-Droid), it even allows you to plan your route by road type, inclination, etc. - genuinely saved my ass in less than ideal infrastructure conditions. - Source: Reddit / 23 days ago
  • Bike routes
    The OsmAnd app is a good app to use to access it. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • OpenStreetMap makes it easier to find public lands here in Kansas
    OsmAnd is the mobile app I use and given OSM in Manhattan is so much better I don't even have Google Maps on my phone anymore. Https://osmand.net/. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Is there any true alternative to GMaps?
    There is OsmAnd, and then there are a bunch of other apps that are...built with OsmAnd. Others not built with OsmAnd are all pretty much either straight up owned by Google, or not any better for privacy. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Is there any website / app that allows you to tag an endless number of locations on maps?
    OsmAnd & OrganicMaps, just remember to download the maps you need before leaving/while you have internet. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Map of prospect park
    If you use an app that uses OpenStreetMap data, like OsmAnd you can configure it to avoid stairs. Try to route somewhere and then press the gear icon, then open navigation settings -> route parameters -> avoid roads -> no steps. See https://osmand.net/docs/user/personal/profiles/. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Any way of correcting google’s routing for future users? It doesn’t seem to know that the muddy river path exists, and both of these options suck.
    Another good app to have is OsmAnd which is basically OpenStreetMaps for Android/iOS. I find it becomes aware of new bike paths and routes much faster than Google Maps, since it's crowd sourcing the info and there seems to be a strong community of map editors keeping things up to date. I use this version on Android since it comes with free map downloads vs using the play store version requires in app purchases to... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Mercedes locks faster acceleration behind a $1,200 annual paywall
    It's not a Mercedes, but I already hacked my Android-based car entertainment system to install a GPS mapping program meant for a tablet or similar device that has off-line map database capabilities (this one, if you're interested, but there are many other options: https://osmand.net/). I did it when I discovered the factory installs the GPS hardware on all models of the car I've got. The only thing it needed was... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Map of BLM access roads.
    Open Street Maps is also very useful for community contributed mapping info. You can even create an account and help update it yourself. Via the web https://www.openstreetmap.org/ and many mobile apps (I use OSMAnd myself https://osmand.net/ which is also on iPhone). - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Does your city have the bicycle route option for Google Maps? Mine doesn’t.
    Don't bother with Google Maps. Not just for cycling but also for driving. There's better options like Osmand or Magic Earth that actually use a map instead of a yellow pages for navigation. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • New life in Vancouver. What would you do?
    The major banks and phone companies all offer more or less the same kinds of products, which mostly kind of suck. The staff will try to upsell you, so do your research beforehand. 7-eleven speakout has a very basic pay-as-you-go call and text plan (no data). Get an offline map of Vancouver from http://osmand.net/ and you won't need a data plan to navigate. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Navigation with openstreetmap
    I use Organic Maps and OsmAnd (very powerful, yet quite complex). There also is Maps.me. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Apps to use to run on trails
    I use OsmAnd for a decade already. It uses the OpenStreetMap service, which has great trail coverage. A lot of mobile apps use the service, but I like OsmAnd because I am used to it. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Best offline android apps
    You posted into /r/openstreetmap and haven't considered OsmAnd ? - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Warsaw today
    Not sure if OSMand+ has a street view function... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • A navigation app showing appropriate routes (and alternatives) that are suitable for your transport mode.
    Typically, OSM downstream apps like Qwant or OrganicMaps update their OSM data monthly (an exception is Osmand which can update as often as daily, or on-demand.). - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Best maps
    If you want maps use Organic Maps and/or OsmAnd on your phone or Qwant Maps on the web. None of these have reviews really except for Qwants sponsored results from tripadvisor if you search for hotels or restaurants. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Best maps
    OsmAnd is one of the popular mapping apps that uses OpenStreetMap data, and has proposed for an open, collaborative, decentralized site, OpenPlaceReviews to gather reviews for OSM data POIs. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Headway is a self-hosted alternative to Google Maps which supports 200+ cities across the globe
    According to this osmAnd supports android auto. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Unable to execute dex: GC overhead limit exceeded in Eclipse
    When I downloaded the Git project OsmAnd and went to compile it,Eclipse returned these errors:. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of OsmAnd

9 Google Maps Alternatives to Use in 2022
OsmAnd is a free Google Maps alternative that enjoys vast popularity amongst users due to the presence of offline maps. These maps are available everywhere, even if you are in a no-internet zone, and help you find your way.
Top 5 Open-Source Google Maps Alternatives in 2022
OsmAnd is another map application that works online as well as offline. This free navigation software is open source, customizable, and tracks GPS location. OsmAnd is one of the Google Maps alternatives that offers route optimization, helps users indicate paths such as forests, landscapes and etc. In addition, it has text to speech option and comes with night mode options which darken the theme of the user...
The Best 5 Google Maps Alternatives With Offline Maps Support
MAPS.ME is available free of charge on both iPhone and Android.OsmAnd MapsJust like MAPS.ME, OsmAnd was built with offline maps in mind, but as an extra, it also comes with support for CarPlay, so it can work on your car’s display as well.

Do you know an article comparing OsmAnd to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.