Software Alternatives & Reviews

My Language Exchange Reviews

Language Learning Community for Safe Effective Practice

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about My Language Exchange and what they use it for.
  • Places to meet other Spanish learners?
    There's a website called mylanguageexchange.com and I am sure others where you can meet up online for video chats or in person in the same city. You put in your native language and what you are learning so you would watch with native Spanish speaking learning English. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Instagram or whatsapp group
    I've used Language Exchange for many years, we usually communicate over whatsapp. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • For Germanic languages, what are techniques for improving word order fidelity while speaking?
    I found someone (my ex) who was very patient with me so the practice happened in the context of normal conversation. So I'd say finding someone willing to be patient is helpful. I met her on mylanguageexchange.com. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • what is the best way to practice speaking Spanish?
    I've had good luck with mylanguageexchange.com. I've met some really pleasant language partners there. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Just had a decent conversation with a native Spanish speaker!
    I've had good luck with mylanguageexchange.com. You can send a free "hi" to someone whose profile you match with or you can pay $25/year and have more options for communication. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Reflections on five years of learning Japanese
    Like flinters17 said, if you live in a somewhat populated area you can look on sites like meetup, conversation exchange or mylanguageexchange and filter by location. Quite a few Japanese people in their mid-late twenties do a working holiday, so if you live in the UK, Ireland, Australia or New Zealand, you can look for areas where Japanese people congregate and look for events there. Whenever I'm back home in... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Where can I practice the language online?
    HelloTalk, Tandem, Conversation exchange, My language exchange, Discord. There are also quite a few events online events available on Meetup. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • I am head over heels in love with Spanish. I've been learning it for a little over 5 years now, but I have never spoken to a native speaker. Just haven't been able to overcome the anxiety of initiating the conversation. Any advice?
    I have had really good luck with mylanguageexchange.com. I have 5 friends in other countries now. We alternate half an hour English and a half hour in Spanish. It's fun because they want to speak English as much as you want to speak Spanish. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Learning by watching/listening
    My memory isn't what it used to be, but I think I'm slowly improving by trying a little of everything. I take a couple of courses I paid for, try to listen to podcasts at or a little above my level (National Geographic has a great one on Curiosidades de Historia, Dreaming Spanish, Spanish Language Coach, 1001 Reasons to Learn Spanish, Hola Spanish, etc.), occasionally watch a TV show that looks good in Spanish but... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • How would you learn Spanish if you had to start over?
    d. Language exchange/tandem: e.g. https://mylanguageexchange.com/ & https://www.tandem.net/ Spoken Spanish is not my focus, and I don't expect to be able to travel before 2023 anyways. There is a Spanish community in a larger city nearby so real life tandem might be an option when we are allowed to meet in person again. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of My Language Exchange

Talk Like a Native with These 15 Italki Alternatives for Language Learning
Once you’ve found your perfect partner, My Language Exchange can hook you up with lesson plans, text chat rooms, links to free voice chat rooms, hangman word games and so much more. With so many resources, your language exchange never has to have a dull moment!

Do you know an article comparing My Language Exchange to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.