Software Alternatives & Reviews

Fly.io Reviews

Edge computing is the new frontier.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Fly.io and what they use it for.
  • Is Fashion of the Wild down for anyone else? I wonder if people are rushing over after watching this morning's TotK gameplay 😂
    Hey, sorry, yeah, every once in a while the app will run out of memory and crash. It's a consequence of running the app in the free tier of fly.io. But I'm actually planning a rewrite of the app that will open up more free hosting options that might have better performance; it won't be for several months (it's part of my plan to make a TOTK version), but it's coming eventually! - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • remote uptime kuma instance
    I have uptime kuma installed on fly.io, Is there a way to give it access to my home network so it can monitor services that are not externally accessible? I would like it hosted outside of the network so I can still access it if the network is down. - Source: Reddit / about 19 hours ago
  • Looking for a different Game System with full support (like Pathfinder 2)
    ICRPG?: https://www.runehammer.online/online-store/ICRPG-Foundry-VTT-Premium-Kit-p517442468 (and there's a free module too)... I bought it but can't seem to figure out how to install it (self hosting at fly.io with a minimal docker image, so I don't (think) I have access to the data directory) :-). - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • What’s an actual use case for Rust
    - heavily used in for all kinds of network backend stuff, eg. At AWS, fly.io, Deno, even Cloudflare I think (don't they use deno deploy for some of their stuff?), Discord, Microsoft. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • How to understand IO enough not to introduce Memory Leaks into apps ?
    I started out building some services recently for testing (such as mocking, placeholders) etc using Crystal. I've deployed some of the apps to fly.io . Although everything worked at first, I tried adding stumpy_png to my HTTP server to respond with dummy images. But that's when memory happened only to raise, without releasing. - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago
  • Trouble with fly.io deployment
    Hi everyone! I’m a very inexperienced webdev using fly.io and PocketBase to build a simple webpage where users can create a soccer lineup. I’ve been making modifications to my lineup.js file to get the functionality correct and redeploying to test the changes I make. That’s probably not the easiest way to do things, but it’s worked well so far. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Are there any sites that let you host an app without a credit card?
    I'm willing to pay, but all the sites I've seen require a valid credit card. I've tried heroku, fly.io, render.com. - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • Live Updates
    Deploy the application using a hosting service, like fly.io, DigitalOcean or Heroku. See https://nicegui.io/reference#server_hosting. - Source: Reddit / 16 days ago
  • What is something you wish there was a Python module for?
    It's experiencing some growing pains lately, but for interface -- fly.io gives you that. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • Building a full-stack app for learning Italian: Supabase vs. Wasp
    Feature Supabase Wasp Getting data from the API Use the Supabase JS SDK to query database tables Declare query in Wasp config and use Prisma JS SDK to implement it Custom business logic Writing custom PostgreSQL procedures or by writing edge functions Declare actions in the Wasp file and write server-side JS Defining the database schema Visual editor or by CREATE TABLE query By code - edit Prisma schema... - Source: dev.to / 17 days ago
  • Free hosting for a discord bot
    Also fly.io offering some free options. You need to dockerize your app, but then should be easy. - Source: Reddit / 18 days ago
  • Ask HN: How a non dev ops host things to the world?
    A couple other similar options are Vercel (https://vercel.com) and Fly (https://fly.io), but there are several of these. Vercel might be the best choice if you're building with Next, though. - Source: Hacker News / 23 days ago
  • What is dumb to dockerize?
    You can set up a free low-resource VPS with fly.io and install Uptime Kuma on it. No need to expose anything to the web, it does it all pretty easily. - Source: Reddit / 26 days ago
  • where do you deploy your apps?
    Services like Render.com, fly.io, and Digital Ocean's App Platform are great. - Source: Reddit / 27 days ago
  • Help me choose this new offer. its the only offer I got from 250+ applications
    No. DevOps will be the last thing to be fully automated. If we could just automate everything from an outside provider, everyone would be using fly.io or heroku already. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • fly.io isn't free anymore?
    So I was trying to deploy my pocketbase server on fly.io using docker but it's asking for my credit card details... What are some free alternatives I can use in my situation? - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • How can I implement the microservice architecture approach using a fixed price, dedicated CPU hosting plan? [SERIOUS ANSWERS ONLY]
    Sounds like your only goal is to save money while meeting some SLAs. Try writing something in Rust as a monolith to get the best performance possible and easily get 10x to 100x the value out of your fixed rate compute. You can probably even look into Go with something like PocketBase where the whole app is a single binary and it uses a SQLite database locally to make it extra fast. This can easily handle 10k... - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • Drop-in collaborative editor for markdown, mermaid, mindmap, echarts, music notes...
    Deployed the demo on fly.io with the free tier, so... - Source: Reddit / 30 days ago
  • Axum + Sqlite + minijinja + htmx winning website combo?
    Due to the lack of logging features on fly.io I also developed something similar for logging too. I kind of figured well if the database is going to be embedded, why not the other tools too! - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Axum + Sqlite + minijinja + htmx winning website combo?
    I worked on a side project (currently with about 30-50 regular real users) using Rust (with axum), sqlite for the database, minijinja for template rendering, and htmx for the frontend interactivity and S3 for backups. It was quick to hack together (who says Rust is bad for prototyping?), and yet I still feel happy about the code quality. It's been running for a while now in production on fly.io free tier, I... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Building a Node API with Fastify, esbuild, and Nx
    There are numerous platforms that we can deploy our app to. I like Fly.io since it very easy to deploy all over the world using the CLI, and it comes with good Docker support. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Fly.io

5 Free Heroku Alternatives with Free Plan for Developers
Fly.io is one the best free alternatives to Heroku that you can use. It’s designed for developers and students to run small applications for free and scale costs affordably as you grow. Just like Heroku it comes with CLI applications and there are other tools in it that you can use to easily deploy your apps. For advanced users, it has premium plans but for now, due to its free tier, you can use it in place of Heroku

Do you know an article comparing Fly.io to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.