Software Alternatives, Accelerators & Startups

Dark Reader

Reduce eye strain in your browser with this extension that provides a dark theme for browsing.

Dark Reader Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • Dark Reader Landing page
    Landing page //
    2021-12-27

Badges

Promote Dark Reader. You can add any of these badges on your website.
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code

Videos

Dark Mode for Google Chrome — Dark Reader

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Dark Reader and what they use it for.
  • View Wikipedia in Dark Mode with?withgadget=dark-mode
    If you look at the description in TFA, it sounds like this isn't a proper stylesheet, it's a heavy Invert Colors implemented specifically for Wikipedia. If we're going to be indiscriminately inverting colors and trying to piece the page back together anyway, I strongly recommend using Dark Reader [0] instead and getting the benefits of this globally. It's open source and very good. I installed it when I... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • View Wikipedia in Dark Mode with?withgadget=dark-mode
    By far my favorite extension is Dark Reader - no need to rely on every website to implement a dark mode https://darkreader.org/. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • What to avoid building as an early stage startup
    I'll plug https://darkreader.org/ as the extension I use. - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • New UI sucks
    Change to light mode, and try out https://darkreader.org/. Source: 6 months ago
  • Hacker News Classic
    Dark Reader does the job. Can be used on mobile via Firefox for Android as well. https://darkreader.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • A Treatise on the Nature of Vessels
    I highly recommend utilizing a dark reader. Source: 9 months ago
  • Ask HN: Why is this site so stubbornly against readability and accessibility?
    Do yourself a favor and get Dark Reader[1] - [1]: https://darkreader.org. - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Ask HN: Why is there no dark theme for Hacker News?
    I couldn't live without the Dark Reader [1] plugin. Every website is now dark. Once in a great while it does something weird, but that's on specific websites with weird stuff going on. It makes Hacker News look great. It's available for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, and Edge. - [1]: https://darkreader.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Ask HN: Does anyone know the idiot decided gray txt on white bg was a good ideea
    I totally forgot about the atrocious default HN theme. Yeah that's unreasonable, unreadable. A low-contrast light theme is literally equivalent to shining a flashlight in your eyes. Only unreasonable people do that to others (e.g. The police). If you use Firefox, I recommend the Dark Reader[1] extension for taking care of all the websites that insist on destroying your eyes. [1]: https://darkreader.org. - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • What kind of lifestyle do people who are used to eye floaters have?
    I use https://darkreader.org/ for chrome and don't see flies 99% of the time. Source: 11 months ago
  • Internet browser MUST-HAVES
    Dark Reader adds a highly customizable dark theme to websites which don't have one. Source: 12 months ago
  • Reddit has to be doing this on purpose
    Not only does Reddit support a dark mode, but there are browser extensions you can use to make anything dark mode (I'm using Dark Reader). Source: 12 months ago
  • Hacker News Needs a Dark Mode
    I know you mentioned you don't like extensions, but for those that don't mind Dark Reader is really useful: https://darkreader.org/ I have it setup to enable according to the system. Also, I use the whitelist mode, so I enable on specific websites instead of having it enable for every one automatically. It's available on mobile via Firefox for Android! - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • [Announcement] RES & Reddit's upcoming API changes
    In case you need it, I found the DarkReader extension to be very useful for any site that doesn't offer a dark mode. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Embedded graphics in Linux - Ubuntu Frame
    The datasheet that you linked to has grey text on a white background, which is really hard to read. (You should never include grey or colours on any text where accessibility matters.) Is this the same info? (On web pages, I'm able to use a combination of DarkReader, and Dark Background and Light Text to get it into a readable state.). Source: about 1 year ago
  • Announcing Rust 1.70.0
    Dark Reader probably can help you with that! Source: about 1 year ago
  • [Request] Auto toggle dark mode on websites
    Why don't you use an extension for that like Dark Reader? Source: about 1 year ago
  • Humble Chronicles: Managing State with Signals
    DarkReader is your friend. https://darkreader.org/ I use it on every site except a select foew that have beetter Stylus UserStyles. HN happens to be one I use a custom stylesheet for. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • [Kitakombs] Thanks to your feedback, I've changed the mazes and updated the graphics!
    Oh actually I did have one add-on running in private window but disabled for the site: https://darkreader.org/ I have darkreader on chrome as well though and it worked fine there. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Low Vision - White text, black background
    Alternately, the free, open-source Dark Reader (which I do use, on Safari) has a Chrome extension. It works on all websites, so, maybe he could use that to access email from the browser..? https://darkreader.org/. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Low-contrast font color and unreadable texts? To hell with them!
    Dark reader[0] has been a godsend when it comes to readability. Sure the content isn't how the creator intended it but most of the pages don't have a dark mode option so Dark Reader's rendering suits my eyes and I find that to a certain extent, it also improves readability, especially for those low-contrast texts. [0]: https://darkreader.org/. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Dark Reader

7 Best Dark Mode Extensions For Chrome
Using an on-demand dark styles theme generator, this eye-care extensions for google chrome turns on night mode for web pages. Bright color are turned into high contrast, easy-to-read hues at night thanks to Dark Reader.
The 10 best dark mode extensions for Google Chrome in 2022
Dark Reader also provides you with other controls that let you tweak your display however you want. They allow you to change any website’s brightness, contrast, font, and other display elements. You can also store the settings for a particular URL so that you do not have to make these adjustments every time. The most notable feature of Dark Reader is its toggle switch that can instantly alternate between dark and...

Do you know an article comparing Dark Reader to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Dark Reader discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Dark Reader. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.