Software Alternatives & Reviews

TortoiseGit Reviews

TortoiseGit is an easy to use client for the Git distributed revision control system.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about TortoiseGit and what they use it for.
  • Ask HN: Where are the simple Git GUIs?
    I use mostly TortoiseGit, https://tortoisegit.org. As easy as it gets, no Electron boilerplate, full Windows native executable. - Source: Hacker News / 1 day ago
  • How do you work on the same project when you're in between two PC's in a day?
    If you're on Windows, I'd start with installing official Git. It comes with a Git Bash CLI and what not. There are also third party apps like GitExtensions and TortoiseGit if you want more UI/shell integration. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • this never gets old
    I don’t know who out there needs to hear this, but you can use something like Tortoise and never have to bother with command line. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Why isn't Git working with a right click?
    Https://tortoisegit.org/ is maybe what you are looking for? Or some other graphical interface like SourceTree or GitKraken? - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Is There an Easier Way to Use Git/Github?
    Maybe Tortoise Git it's app that you search it's very good GUI for git. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Dangit, Git!?!
    Personally, I use TortoiseGit because it's integrated into Windows shell/explorer, so I'm basically invoking things through context menu directly in folders and files, which I have constantly open anyway. But this probably isn't for everyone - it can be finicky. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • How I created my Portfolio website using Hugo and GitHub pages?
    To start with I installed Hugo on my Windows 10 laptop (instructions here), I already had Git Bash installed, but it’s easy to install it from here. You may also choose to use a Git GUI tool like Tortoise Git. Next, I created a new Git repository at my GitHub account with the name [my-github-username].github.io containing just a blank README.md file (note that its necessary to name the repo this way, in order to... - Source: dev.to / 5 months ago
  • Does something like git for MS Word Exisits?
    Https://tortoisegit.org/ does word diffs. It works well and I have been using it for a while editing some rather large word files. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Git makes me want to pull my hair out.
    Also, Tortoise is a really good tool, that is not too invasive with the normal workflow. (But it won't help you with rebases). - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Git makes me want to pull my hair out.
    I also like https://tortoisegit.org/ - this adds right click options in Windows to Git Commit, Sync and other options. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of TortoiseGit

Best Git GUI Clients of 2022: All Platforms Included
There are tools such as TortoiseGitMerge that help resolve conflicts and lets you see the changes you made to your files. It has a spell checker to log messages and auto-completion for keywords and paths. It’s also available in 30 different languages.
Boost Development Productivity With These 14 Git Clients for Windows and Mac
You are free to use TortoiseGit with any development programs that you prefer since it is not an IDE-specific integration for Eclipse, Visual Studio, and so on. It is perfect for large-scale DevOps projects since you can also integrate the tool with issue tracking systems.

Do you know an article comparing TortoiseGit to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.