Software Alternatives & Reviews

Standard Notes

A safe place for your notes, thoughts, and life's work subtitle

Standard Notes Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • Standard Notes Landing page
    Landing page //
    2023-10-21

Badges

Promote Standard Notes. You can add any of these badges on your website.
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code

Videos

Standard Notes: Full Review, Pricing & Thoughts

Standard Notes: Premium Review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Standard Notes and what they use it for.
  • Show HN: Text Lambda, a versatile notebook for your personal data
    This certainly could be useful for me personally, but it would need more functionality. I think the _full_ project could be very useful though. However I would ask, how is this different from e.g. https://standardnotes.com/ and other note systems available ? - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • A rant: improve your comms Evernote. Oh and bye.
    Standard Notes - Fully Private and Secure with Multiple different Editors and Backup options including Self hosting. Source: 5 months ago
  • Evernote will restrict free users to 50 notes starting December 4
    I've been using Standard Notes'[0] free tier for a while now without issues. Far superior to Evernote. And apparently EN uses your data for machine learning so they can monetize their free users. Standard operating procedure. [0] https://standardnotes.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • ⟳ 4 apps added, 72 updated at f-droid.org
    Standard Notes (version 3.178.0): An end-to-end encrypted note-taking app for digitalists and professionals. Source: 6 months ago
  • Beaver Notes: A Privacy-Focused Open-Source Note-Taking App
    - How do I get my data OUT of this thing, if I decide it isn’t right for me? C) If you’re going to go down the “unlike other note-taking platforms” route, it might be valuable to explicitly help people make the comparison in terms of features/approaches/architecture/trade-offs etc. How should one compare this against [Obsidian](https://obsidian.md)? [Simplenote](https://simplenote.com)?... - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • Beaver Notes: A Privacy-Focused Open-Source Note-Taking App
    Would be good to know how it compares to Standard Notes[1] which is also open-source[2] [1] https://standardnotes.com. - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • Ask HN: How Do You Utilize Your Personal Knowledge Base?
    I use the Standard Notes[0] free tier. I organize notes with tags. I self-actualize things with my TODO, and everyone should do that. I'm often reminded of the phrase: 'Because I said I would'. [0] https://standardnotes.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Best free cross-platform note taking app?
    In the past I used the beautiful Zoho Notes. It's good but I experienced sync issues sometimes. OneNote is good but I hate the UI. StandardNotes is nice, but very expensive once you want the paid features. SimpleNote OK too, but too basic imo. Source: 10 months ago
  • Ask HN: Seamless sync of notes between Linux, macOS, iOS
    I recommend Standard Notes https://standardnotes.com/. You can access the notes from your phone and computer. The app is available for Linux, macOS, and Windows. The mobile apps is also available. You can write notes offline. It will sync automatically when you are connected to the internet. - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • ⟳ 2 apps added, 54 updated at f-droid.org
    Standard Notes (version 3.161.1): An end-to-end encrypted note-taking app for digitalists and professionals. Source: 11 months ago
  • Need a notes app replacement for Apple Notes
    Standard Notes is a solid option if you must insist on using an app to manage data. Source: 11 months ago
  • Delete Profile on macOS and Number Formatting Request
    I've seen this question asked on the Joplin Forum, but why is the numbering format not more intuitive like other note taking apps as well as word editing software? I also have noticed that it does not auto-populate a number list when you enter "1.". This seems like common practice as most other apps have this feature, but Joplin does not. Overall, I have really enjoyed using Joplin, but see it as trailing other... Source: 11 months ago
  • Need suggestions for Free, Open-source, privacy focused diary/Journaling app?
    Notesnook & Standard Notes Ticks 1/2/3/5, however Standard Notes can email you your notes if you want to back them up, extremely restricted free tier which I found useless because it only allows for plain text, no markdown or rich text. Unlimited notes for plain text though. Source: 11 months ago
  • Do you use end-to-end encryption?
    I use Standard Notes because of e2e (https://standardnotes.com/) and open-source nature of the thing. It used to be hard to find an app with e2e for task management but now it's much better and I use a bit Organizely (https://www.organized.ly/) - just can't commit to it 100% for some reason :(. Source: 12 months ago
  • Android switching to iPhone highest level since 2018.
    I recently switched back to Android as well. Apple's and iOS restrictions are not for me. I could never get use to Apple apps. They always felt too basic to me and I also like apps that are cross-platform. I did like Apple maps though. Clean and simple map design. Have you checked out Standard Notes? Source: 11 months ago
  • ⟳ 1 apps added, 42 updated at f-droid.org
    Standard Notes (version 3.151.3): An end-to-end encrypted note-taking app for digitalists and professionals. Source: about 1 year ago
  • 'Second brain' program
    Surprised nobody mentioned Standard Notes here. It has a good free tier, and it's E2EE (End-to-End Encrypted). Source: about 1 year ago
  • best note taking app for privacy?
    If you want something more easy - https://standardnotes.com/. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Does a health dashboard exist for medical history data?
    I keep all my relevant medical history using 'StandardNotes' on my phone so I have answers to all the stuff you get asked every freaking time you need medial care (meds, significant history, vaccination status, etc). Source: about 1 year ago
  • App to write ideas and stuff down that isnt notes and that is account based
    Standard Notes. Its E2E encrypted, FOSS, and allows you to create an account and sync notes/has a web app. Source: about 1 year ago
  • ⟳ 1 apps added, 45 updated at f-droid.org
    Standard Notes (version 3.150.3): An end-to-end encrypted note-taking app for digitalists and professionals. Source: about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Standard Notes

10 Best Open Source Note-Taking Apps for Linux
Standard Notes enables you to capture actions with note types (markdown test, plain text, tasks, to-dos, code, spreadsheets, and more). It also features smart views, nested folders, an authenticator, password protection, passcode, face ID, and fingerprint locking. It also supports data import and export and comes standard with sync to all devices and end-to-end encryption.
The best encrypted note taking apps
Standard Notes: Standard Notes is a well-featured note-taking app that provides cross platform apps as well as end-to-end encrypted storage. Standard Notes offers marketing materials emphasizing how encryption, security, and privacy yield critical benefits for collaboration and creativity. Standard Notes’ source code is open-source and links to information about cryptographic audits and security.
15 Best Notability Alternatives 2022
One of the best note-taking apps like Notability, that you can use to create simple or complex notes quickly, is Standard Notes. It’s equipped to handle spreadsheets, markdown, plain text, rich text, tasks and to-dos, code snippets, and any kind of information you want to save.
The 7 Best Lightweight OneNote and Evernote Alternatives
The Extended option opens up additional editor styles (only plain-text is available in the free version), adds two-factor authentication, and enables note history. For anyone who has used Apple’s Notes software, the Standard Notes interface will feel familiar, too.
10 Best Note Taking Apps for Windows in 2020
Private notes should be private, and Standard Notes has ensured just that. Standard Notes has promised that your notes have AES-256 encryption. This means that only you can read the notes you create and no one else. The best part is that the free version of Standard Notes offers you more features than some of its competition’s paid versions.
5 great privacy-focused Evernote alternatives to keep your notes safe
Standard Notes is a free, open-source, completely encrypted and safe place for your notes, thoughts, and other intellectual property. This app’s goal is to be powerful, long-lasting, and simple to use. But above all, its main purpose is to be 100% safe, so it is end-to-end encrypted and can be accessed online or offline. This simple app can be synced across all your devices, the number of which is unlimited.
Ask HN: Favorite note-taking software?
Indeed, one of the most important points is the Q&A in the FAQ: "Has Standard Notes completed a third-party security audit?" (Spoiler: yes, it did).

Do you know an article comparing Standard Notes to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Generic Standard Notes discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Standard Notes. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.