Software Alternatives & Reviews

Standard Notes Reviews

A safe place for your notes, thoughts, and life's work

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Standard Notes and what they use it for.
  • Apps for taking notes?
    I tried several different ones back when I wanted to switch to a non-google one. Standard notes was the one I liked the most and still use today. Google Keep is good too if you don't mind the fact it's owned by Google. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Note Taking Apps
    I've looked at Joplin, StandardNotes (which I'm using the free version of now), and I've just now discovered Notesnook. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • What is your Disaster Recovery Plan?
    Backup for the Backup: Recovery code stored in Standard Notes with a password I remember, no 2FA. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • What’s your favorite note taking app, foss or selfhosted?
    None of the above, Standard Notes is my go-to. Cross-platform, end-to-end encryption, and open source. So, I happily gave them my money (very affordable cloud plans for them as well). - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • honest feedback
    I can recommend https://standardnotes.com/ for basic notes ;). - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • What happened to Evernote? Where to go next?
    Https://standardnotes.com/ - I use it for the past few years and am quite happy with it. Text-only, but I view this as more of a feature…. - Source: Hacker News / 28 days ago
  • Encrypted offline note app for iOS?
    Check out Standard Notes, a free, open-source, and completely encrypted notes app. https://standardnotes.com. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Ask HN: What Happened to Evernote?
    Https://standardnotes.com syncs well. Cant speak to importing. They have an interesting privacy/encryption approach and some (all?) open source https://github.com/standardnotes. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • weird app crashes
    Standard notes runs fine after install... But after I log in, it will always crash and be imposssible to open. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Is simplenote doing well financially? I want to fully switch to it but am afraid they’ll shut down soon. I don’t want to lose all of my notes.
    Simplenote has always been a side project for automattic, I’d recommend standardnotes instead. https://standardnotes.com/. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Standard Notes

The 7 Best Lightweight OneNote and Evernote Alternatives
The Extended option opens up additional editor styles (only plain-text is available in the free version), adds two-factor authentication, and enables note history. For anyone who has used Apple’s Notes software, the Standard Notes interface will feel familiar, too.
10 Best Note Taking Apps for Windows in 2020
Private notes should be private, and Standard Notes has ensured just that. Standard Notes has promised that your notes have AES-256 encryption. This means that only you can read the notes you create and no one else. The best part is that the free version of Standard Notes offers you more features than some of its competition’s paid versions.
5 great privacy-focused Evernote alternatives to keep your notes safe
Standard Notes is a free, open-source, completely encrypted and safe place for your notes, thoughts, and other intellectual property. This app’s goal is to be powerful, long-lasting, and simple to use. But above all, its main purpose is to be 100% safe, so it is end-to-end encrypted and can be accessed online or offline. This simple app can be synced across all your devices, the number of which is unlimited.
Ask HN: Favorite note-taking software?
Indeed, one of the most important points is the Q&A in the FAQ: "Has Standard Notes completed a third-party security audit?" (Spoiler: yes, it did).

Do you know an article comparing Standard Notes to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.