Software Alternatives & Reviews

Splunk Reviews

Splunk's operational intelligence platform helps unearth intelligent insights from machine data.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Splunk and what they use it for.
  • How do I use my sku?
    Go to splunk.com, logon to your Splunk account. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • So Conf 2022 Session recordings are locked behind a paywall
    It wasn't using the auth through RainFocus anymore, it was using splunk.com - separate accounts as well, which is why the attendee pass didn't give access. Still, I don't see a way to log into the RainFocus domain side to force that auth instead of SSO thru splunk.com. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • What is the best way to prepare for an entry-level SOC Analyst role?
    Splunk.com has some free classes. I would suggest being able to read a TCP packet trace and pick any IPS vendor, find out how to read logs from any major security vendors. This is a very good skill but can also be very useful in interviews. When you do get an interview, be ready with multiple questions for them that make you sound smart. Example: What is your procedure here for identifying vulnerabilities? ... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Need Help Creating a Virtual Splunk Lab Environment - Connecting to download.splunk.com failed: connection timed out. How do I get to connect?
    I'm actually having trouble reaching splunk.com itself right now, so might not be you at all. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Is anyone familiar with Unfi Firewalls? How do I view dropped firewall logs for a specific IP?
    I just tried to create an account at splunk.com for that purpose and got this message. Any other alternatives that are quick to set up? - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • splunkbase update failed
    I have requested access to splunk.com and splunkbase.splunk.com The update button appears on the launchpage on all my servers and I can curl the sites from the cli. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Dropping Windows Logs Part 2
    PROPS.CONF -- Does it not allow 3 commas? It says on splunk.com it does. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • I have no prior Splunk background, I have very basic knowledge of Linux, can I build a career as a Splunk Admin
    Sure, go on splunk.com and start with the free training then if you have the financial resources take a few of the paid courses. there's also loads of youtube videos on splunk. Go forth and good luck. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Dev license error
    If you do not know who they are, please DM me your splunk.com email / username. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • How to get hands on in Splunk ES
    If you go to your dashboard within splunk.com you should still be able to get a 7 day trial of ES Sandbox environment complete with dummy data under Free Trials and Downloads. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Splunk

Top 11 Best SIEM Tools in 2022 For Real-Time Incident Response and Security
Splunk provides improved security operations like customizable dashboards, asset investigator, statistical analysis, and incident review, classification, and investigation. It has features of alerts management, risk scores, etc. It provides security services to the public sectors, financial services, and healthcare.
11 Best Splunk Alternatives
Splunk is a web-based program primarily used for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated Big Data. Splunk automatically captures, indexes, and correlates real-time data in a searchable container from which graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards, and visualizations can be generated. Its goal is to provide machine-generated data that can be used to recognize data trends, provide metrics, diagnose...
13 tools to use for DevSecOps automation
💰 Splunk is a service for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated data via a Web-style interface. It indexes and correlates information in a container that makes it searchable, and makes it possible to generate alerts, reports, and visualizations. The Splunk node allows you to manage fired alerts, users, as well as search configurations, jobs, and results. Similarly to Elastic Security, you can...
10 Best Big Data Analytics Tools For Reporting In 2022
Splunk is currently used by 91 of the Fortune 100 companies, including Intel, Comcast, and Coca-Cola. Splunk offers machine learning-centric visibility and detection of entity profiling and scoring, risk behavior detection, anomaly observation, and high fidelity behavior-based alerts. You can access a free cloud-based sandbox trial of Splunk UBA to check it out before committing. They offer dedicated solutions to...
8 Dynatrace Alternatives to Consider in 2021
Splunk provides a platform which it self describes as Data-to-Everything. With the one platform to rule them all, this service offers a scalable and reliable data platform to understand your data and help you act on the data. Its modern data platform helps IT, Security, and DevOps professionals ingest data from any source available so that you can monitor, investigate and analyze it.
The Top 14 Free and Open Source SIEM Tools For 2022
Splunk Free as the name suggests is the free version of Splunk Enterprise, its paid version. Splunk Enterprise is a comprehensive SIEM tool and its free version shares a number of its features but may not handle all the security needs of your organization especially as it grows.
Top 21 Log Management Software Tools
Spluk provides a platform that can turn machine data into answers. Splunk log management has features of index machine data, search/correlate & investigate, drill-down analysis, monitor & alert, and reports & dashboard. It will allow you to collect, search, store, index, correlate, visualize, and analyze any machine-generated data.
5 Splunk Alternatives – Faster, Affordable Log Management Solutions
Splunk is more than just a log collection tool. It's extremely expensive because it's feature-rich for enterprise level organizations.The Splunk tool ingests, parses, and indexes all kinds of machine data including event logs, server logs, files, and network events. This data can be used to monitor activity and issues in your infrastructure, look for trends in operational performance, trigger alerts after...
Best Log Management Tools: Useful Tools for Log Management, Monitoring, Analytics, and More
Splunk’s log management tool focuses on enterprise customers who need concise tools for searching, diagnosing and reporting any events surrounding data logs. Splunk’s software is built to support the process of indexing and deciphering logs of any type, whether structured, unstructured, or sophisticated application logs, based on a multi-line approach.

Do you know an article comparing Splunk to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.