Software Alternatives & Reviews

Splunk Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • Splunk Landing page
    Landing page //
    2023-10-20

Videos

"Splunk Product Overview"

Splunk in 60 Minutes | Splunk Tutorial For Beginners | Splunk Training | Splunk Tutorial | Edureka

Splunk Incident Review Demo

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Splunk and what they use it for.
  • Can I install apps on Free 60 day Enterprise?
    I'm using the free 60day Enterprise license and tried to install different apps from the "Browse more apps" menu in Splunk Enterprise, but it doesn't accept my credentials when I try to log in. I tried my username and password from splunk.com(which I'm sure it works, because I tried it straight away on the official website). Also I tried using my username and password with which I'm accessing Splunk Enterprise,... Source: 3 months ago
  • Can someone explain this before I go a little crazy? xD
    I'm noticing a questionable trend in Splunk question/answer structure for these free courses on splunk.com So I go to an exam dump to try and compare to something I have studied thus far. (Prepping for entry level 1002). Source: 4 months ago
  • Where exactly can I start to learn?
    With your splunk.com username, you can login to Splunk trainings portals as well https://www.splunk.com/en_us/training.html .. There are lots of free trainings available. Enroll yourself, complete them, you will gain more confidence. Source: 8 months ago
  • VAST 3.0 released. Open-Source Security Data Pipelines with Kusto-like syntax
    VAST is an open-source SecDataOps project for working with data from open-source security tools. Version 3.0 adds a pipeline syntax similar to splunk, Kusto, PRQL, and Zed. Source: 12 months ago
  • Apps not downloading in Splunk Enterprise Trial on EC2 Instance
    I'm entering my correct credentials for splunk.com nothing happends, even tried downloading the tgz file from splunkbase and then going the install app from file route. Nothing happens. No failure message, no app downloading. Please help! Source: 12 months ago
  • How to contact Splunk Sales Team directly?
    So, in recent 3 weeks I have tried to get a pricing for Splunk Enterprise Security for my company. I used the web form on splunk.com multiple times, and haven't received any sort of response. I even traced the mail flow to see if any mail was rejected by filters but nada. Hence my question. Anyone got some kind of contact I can email directly? Source: about 1 year ago
  • How do I use my sku?
    Go to splunk.com, logon to your Splunk account. Source: over 1 year ago
  • So Conf 2022 Session recordings are locked behind a paywall
    It wasn't using the auth through RainFocus anymore, it was using splunk.com - separate accounts as well, which is why the attendee pass didn't give access. Still, I don't see a way to log into the RainFocus domain side to force that auth instead of SSO thru splunk.com. Source: over 1 year ago
  • What is the best way to prepare for an entry-level SOC Analyst role?
    Splunk.com has some free classes. I would suggest being able to read a TCP packet trace and pick any IPS vendor, find out how to read logs from any major security vendors. This is a very good skill but can also be very useful in interviews. When you do get an interview, be ready with multiple questions for them that make you sound smart. Example: What is your procedure here for identifying vulnerabilities? ... Source: about 2 years ago
  • Need Help Creating a Virtual Splunk Lab Environment - Connecting to download.splunk.com failed: connection timed out. How do I get to connect?
    I'm actually having trouble reaching splunk.com itself right now, so might not be you at all. Source: about 2 years ago
  • Is anyone familiar with Unfi Firewalls? How do I view dropped firewall logs for a specific IP?
    I just tried to create an account at splunk.com for that purpose and got this message. Any other alternatives that are quick to set up? Source: about 2 years ago
  • splunkbase update failed
    I have requested access to splunk.com and splunkbase.splunk.com The update button appears on the launchpage on all my servers and I can curl the sites from the cli. Source: over 2 years ago
  • Dropping Windows Logs Part 2
    PROPS.CONF -- Does it not allow 3 commas? It says on splunk.com it does. Source: over 2 years ago
  • I have no prior Splunk background, I have very basic knowledge of Linux, can I build a career as a Splunk Admin
    Sure, go on splunk.com and start with the free training then if you have the financial resources take a few of the paid courses. there's also loads of youtube videos on splunk. Go forth and good luck. Source: over 2 years ago
  • Dev license error
    If you do not know who they are, please DM me your splunk.com email / username. Source: almost 3 years ago
  • How to get hands on in Splunk ES
    If you go to your dashboard within splunk.com you should still be able to get a 7 day trial of ES Sandbox environment complete with dummy data under Free Trials and Downloads. Source: almost 3 years ago
  • Any actively maintained open source GUI for snort ?
    You need a free account on splunk.com to download the software; it looks like they've changed the site some, but what you want is here, that's the download page for "Splunk Enterprise" (not Splunk cloud). Source: almost 3 years ago
  • Interactive Relationship Chart
    What format is the inputs and outputs of your project management? What is the data like--- qualitative or quantitative? And if it's qualitative, how could you convert the qualitative data into quantitative data for visualization? If there are data in table format, it is very simple to visualize this; even with multiple variables. Thinking what makes a big impact are Sankey diagrams where you see inputs and... Source: almost 3 years ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Splunk

Top 11 Best SIEM Tools in 2022 For Real-Time Incident Response and Security
Splunk provides improved security operations like customizable dashboards, asset investigator, statistical analysis, and incident review, classification, and investigation. It has features of alerts management, risk scores, etc. It provides security services to the public sectors, financial services, and healthcare.
11 Best Splunk Alternatives
Splunk is a web-based program primarily used for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated Big Data. Splunk automatically captures, indexes, and correlates real-time data in a searchable container from which graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards, and visualizations can be generated. Its goal is to provide machine-generated data that can be used to recognize data trends, provide metrics, diagnose...
13 tools to use for DevSecOps automation
💰 Splunk is a service for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated data via a Web-style interface. It indexes and correlates information in a container that makes it searchable, and makes it possible to generate alerts, reports, and visualizations. The Splunk node allows you to manage fired alerts, users, as well as search configurations, jobs, and results. Similarly to Elastic Security, you can...
10 Best Big Data Analytics Tools For Reporting In 2022
Splunk is currently used by 91 of the Fortune 100 companies, including Intel, Comcast, and Coca-Cola. Splunk offers machine learning-centric visibility and detection of entity profiling and scoring, risk behavior detection, anomaly observation, and high fidelity behavior-based alerts. You can access a free cloud-based sandbox trial of Splunk UBA to check it out before committing. They offer dedicated solutions to...
8 Dynatrace Alternatives to Consider in 2021
Splunk provides a platform which it self describes as Data-to-Everything. With the one platform to rule them all, this service offers a scalable and reliable data platform to understand your data and help you act on the data. Its modern data platform helps IT, Security, and DevOps professionals ingest data from any source available so that you can monitor, investigate and analyze it.
The Top 14 Free and Open Source SIEM Tools For 2022
Splunk Free as the name suggests is the free version of Splunk Enterprise, its paid version. Splunk Enterprise is a comprehensive SIEM tool and its free version shares a number of its features but may not handle all the security needs of your organization especially as it grows.
Top 21 Log Management Software Tools
Spluk provides a platform that can turn machine data into answers. Splunk log management has features of index machine data, search/correlate & investigate, drill-down analysis, monitor & alert, and reports & dashboard. It will allow you to collect, search, store, index, correlate, visualize, and analyze any machine-generated data.
5 Splunk Alternatives – Faster, Affordable Log Management Solutions
Splunk is more than just a log collection tool. It's extremely expensive because it's feature-rich for enterprise level organizations.The Splunk tool ingests, parses, and indexes all kinds of machine data including event logs, server logs, files, and network events. This data can be used to monitor activity and issues in your infrastructure, look for trends in operational performance, trigger alerts after...
Best Log Management Tools: Useful Tools for Log Management, Monitoring, Analytics, and More
Splunk’s log management tool focuses on enterprise customers who need concise tools for searching, diagnosing and reporting any events surrounding data logs. Splunk’s software is built to support the process of indexing and deciphering logs of any type, whether structured, unstructured, or sophisticated application logs, based on a multi-line approach.

Do you know an article comparing Splunk to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Generic Splunk discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Splunk. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.