Software Alternatives & Reviews

Shadertoy Reviews

Build shaders, share them, and learn from the best community.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Shadertoy and what they use it for.
  • What is this game style called?
    Shadertoy.com has some opensrce examples on the core ideas, and youtube videos explain the concept of wolfenstein.perspective. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • I’ve been seeing these types of abstract diagrams on Instagram lately. Does anyone have an actual name for this style of art? I’m wondering how I can go about making similar shapes and concepts. Thank you
    Also check out shadertoy.com which lets you create and share GLSL shaders and "demos". If you decide you want to learn to make shaders, be sure to check out https://thebookofshaders.com/ for free guided / interactive learning. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Glass study
    I think what you described is just the nature of this method. There usually is a limit on how many steps you take along the ray and on how close to the object you test. I think for this scene I had it set up to something like 100 and 0.0001. You can check shadertoy.com for reference on ray marching. But in general you are right. For simple scenes with planes and spheres it is far less efficient than ray tracing.... - Source: Reddit / 26 days ago
  • Unity As Animation Framework
    Yes, and you could become a very good effects programmer if you were to take this route. When people see Animation in a sentence with Unity they're going to think "Character Animation". The resource you provided is something more closely related to shader programming (check out ShaderToy). Any time you see abstract or detailed effects it's usually done with in a shader programming language. Shaders programs are... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Does anybody do animated music videos?
    I've been writing a program to streamline my ability to turn shader programs into seamless loops for my music. Feel free to check out my insta to see if you like my style, or Shadertoy to see the kind of graphics my program can accommodate. If you're looking for something relatively cheap in effort that most artists won't even be capable of replicating get @ me. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • How about some creative shader action? (repo in comments)
    Shoutout to the amazingly talented people on https://shadertoy.com for inspiration. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Some fun with WebGL shaders
    Hey! A major ingredient is just a crazy iterated [coordinate transformation](https://github.com/mapehe/web-shader-test/blob/master/index.html#L45-L49). I saw people using similar transformations on shadertoy.com and the main idea is pretty simple: Trigonometry gives you curly, periodic shapes, iterating stuff adds a controlled amount of chaos (in the spirit of the logistic map). - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Hexagon dance | Rendered with a combo of OpenGLES, SDL2 and FFMpeg | OC
    Unfortunately not in it's current state but the "heart" of the graphics program is in a fragment shader that I intended to post to shadertoy.com. I posted this to another subreddit as well, people are very interested in how it works so next time I come around posting this art I'll make sure to have the documented versions ported over to shadertoy! Shadertoy can't do what I hope my program will soon do, but to just... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Hexagon Dance Fragment Shader | Made w/ C++, OpenGL and SDL
    For learning openGL and SDL I honestly just spammed miscellaneous tutorials until I got the damn program to compile and run hahaha. If you're starting with shader I would HIGHLY recommend the book of shaders. Once you have the basics down check out shadertoy for inspiration and to pick up on techniques. If you check out shader you you'll see that I have a LOT of room to grow 😂. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Möbius mixer
    It's GLSL (OpenGL Shading Language). It's a program that runs once per pixel in an image and outputs the color for that pixel. Easiest way to get started with it is probably ShaderToy. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

Do you know an article comparing Shadertoy to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.