Software Alternatives & Reviews

Pocket Reviews

When you find something you want to view later, put it in Pocket.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Pocket and what they use it for.
  • E-Reader for easily reading web articles
    Look into Pocket. It's an extension that comes preinstalled on Mozilla Firefox, but can be added to other browsers like Chrome. It is exactly what you are looking for. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • I have some spare time at my job and don't want to waste it just scrolling, ideas?
    If a book is too daunting, you could collect articles in a service like Pocket and read them. Or maybe subscribe to newsletters and read those. You should be able to fit one in your 30 mins block. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Toronto rents expected to jump by another 15% over the next six month
    My hot tip. Save the article to Pocket (https://getpocket.com/en/) that way you can download the article and get passed the paywall. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • “I’m done believing we’re the stupid ones, Ukrainian soldier tells Jonathan Franzen”
    Completely unrelated to your paywall comment, this is an app I really like. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • ‘Note taking app’ recommendation?
    Have you seen https://getpocket.com/en/ ? - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Zettelkasten for Internet Learning
    Managing learnings from the internet is not an easy task and it seems like everyone has their own way of managing things from the internet. Whether that be with save-it-later services like Pocket, highlighting solutions like Hypothes.is, or simply pasting / writing things from the internet with tools like Roam Highlighter to their personal Zettelkasten system. But none of these solutions hit the mark for taking... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • [q] Index template/website script
    Sounds like you are describing Pocket , if you use Firefox it comes preinstalled, but that’s only if you’re after using it yourself. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Daily Discussion Thread: January 28, 2022
    For those looking to bookmark articles for later reference, I would strongly recommend getting Pocket. It allows you to save articles and add tags to them as well. Once you are done reading them, you can archive it and pull it up again if needed. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Productivity apps (iOS) that you swear works
    Hey, there are so many productivity apps you can use. For a to-do list app you can try Quire, it's a great app for personal users, I think. You can break down your task in a list view and see your progress in a timeline view. And I also like Pocket to store all the articles or links, even videos that I found interesting but haven't got the time to read them. Good luck! - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Any free and private bookmark managers?
    I have managed to replace most of my online services with private ones except for Pocket. I just use it for saving links in Firefox, I do not need the reading app functionality. I would go with Memex, but it seems like it will be going into paid mode later this year, and I unfortunately can't afford to pay for anything right now. Nextcloud and self-hosted managers are not an option for me. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Pocket

11 Pocket Alternatives You Must Try Out!
With similar features, here is a twin and one of the best alternatives to Pocket. Paperspan is an app for Android as well as iOS. You can also use the Chrome extension for bookmarking articles and websites.
10 Best Apps like Pocket in 2021 - Pocket Alternatives
Raindrop.io is a capable alternative to Pocket in terms of versatility and intuitive reading experience. In other words, you should consider it a feature-rich bookmark manager. So, if Pocket does not provide you with a variety of tools to manage the massive number of bookmarks that you frequently store, then this should be a more convenient substitute. It can help you get your work done efficiently whether you...
Del.icio.us is closing down. Time for a roundup of alternative bookmark managers.
It's a bookmark manager for people who don't like graphical interfaces, and value speed and privacy. There are no ads and no third-party tracking. You can connect and sync Twitter, Instapaper, Pocket and similar services.

Do you know an article comparing Pocket to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.