Software Alternatives & Reviews

Pidgin Reviews

Pidgin is an easy to use and free chat client used by millions. Connect to AIM, MSN, Yahoo, and more chat networks all at once.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Pidgin and what they use it for.
  • So can you send texts without data/wifi?
    Carrier https://pidgin.im would still need data somehow ;). - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Where is pidgin dark theme ! The goggles, they do nothing !! My eyes burnnn !!
    Pidgin is reliant on GTK for the kind of theming you're asking for. There are instructions on pidgin.im for customizing the theme on Windows, but as you've likely discovered they're difficult to follow and they do rely on some rather old components. When Pidgin 3 is released, it will use GTK 4, which will make it fit in much more smoothly with other Windows applications, including following the system dark theme... - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • What is so ancient only an Internet veteran can remember?
    Or Pidgin - the chat client to manage all the others. https://pidgin.im/. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • People have been wanting a photo sharing app since Instagram just wants to be a tiktok clone. We made one.
    You do know about https://pidgin.im , right? - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • C:\
    The actual link. Looks to be some custom developer dlls for Pidgin to connect to WhatsApp and Signal? - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • New Vaccine age group
    It's not my software, but I could try to troubleshoot with you. If you're on Windows, you have to select server yax.im. If you can't get Gajim to work, I used to use Pidgin for my XMPP communication protocol needs. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Microsoft Teams is one of the worst chat apps I’ve ever used
    We used Pidgin for all of our chat needs. Your IT dept should be able to set this up for you. It’s a matter of pointing it to your server with your login creds. We set this up for the call center I worked at. We had the agents use it, instead of yahoo messenger. Much more secure and effective. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • The pressures of iMessage
    I almost wish they had just integrated an updated version of pidgin with multiple E2EE chat clients integrated. That way everyone could communicate on one app platform with everyone. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Pidgin

The 7 Best Chat Apps and Clients Better Than Official Messengers
Given its many years and open-source nature, Pidgin supports a wide variety of chat networks, along with third-party plugins to enable many more. For example, there isn’t an official WhatsApp plugin, but you can get WhatsApp on Pidgin using third-party plugins.

Do you know an article comparing Pidgin to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.