Software Alternatives & Reviews

Pi-hole Reviews

Pi-hole is a multi-platform, network-wide ad blocker.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Pi-hole and what they use it for.
  • Self host Ad blocker, a little overwhelmed
    I don't mean to come across as abrasive... But why are you even remotely considering AdGuard (a paid, proprietary solution) when Pi-Hole is readily available? It's also incredibly well-documented. Normie tech outlets like Linus Tech Tips have made videos on Pi-Hole, there are tons of resources available for you to check out, and the installation procedure of Pi-Hole itself is much shorter than the prep work you... - Source: Reddit / about 20 hours ago
  • Just bought a Raspberry Pi, what cool things can be done with it?
    Pi-hole. As someone who absolutely hates advertising, that's what I'd do with it and one day I will get a Pi for myself too. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • Which modern (smart, I guess) TV is least bad for privacy?
    This may be of use to you. Either stand-alone or running in conjunction with a VPN. Full guides for both options on their wiki. https://pi-hole.net. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • MMOs without linux support, just why?
    These days, I'm particularly annoyed by Windows seeming to operate more like a platform for delivering ads onto my PC. I run pihole in my home to block as much as possible. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Docker container for Dynamic DNS and DHCP
    Pi-Hole can do both things and work from a container. It also has the added benefit of removing ads network-wide. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Anyone else getting these slimy lawyer ads? I'm really sick of being told that I can get tons of cash from some bogus lawsuit against Valve.
    Pi-hole as a proxy. VPN to your network while on the move, I guess. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Why don’t people Google shit first before “asking Reddit”?
    A pi-hole like service may do you well as well. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Microsoft is turning Windows 11's Start Menu into an advertisement delivery system
    For those who like Raspberry PI projects, there is Pie-hole: Https://pi-hole.net/. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Fedora Silverblue
    If you're worried about her clicking on stuff like that then put something like a pihole on her home network. Or a firewall with an absurd amount of rules to block ads and such. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Is it moral to act directly against advertisers and advertising technology platforms? Why or why not?
    Get a raspberry pi, and load it up with PI-HOLE ! All you've got to do is train it. Then sit it between your modem and your router ... BLAMO! Your network will be mostly advert free after a while. It's not a bullet proof system but its the best free for ordinary persons appliance solution. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Pi-hole

22 NextDNS Alternatives
Pi-hole App contains an informative web interface that shows stats on all the domains being queried on the network that you are using. Pi-hole - Network-wide Ad Blocking is a signifying ad-blocking platform that helps its global users to block all the harmful and unhealthy advertisements on your online networks. You can run Pi-hole in a container or deploy it right to supported operating systems through its...

Do you know an article comparing Pi-hole to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.