Software Alternatives, Accelerators & Startups

Pi-hole

Pi-hole is a multi-platform, network-wide ad blocker.

Pi-hole Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • Pi-hole Landing page
    Landing page //
    2023-07-12

Badges

Promote Pi-hole. You can add any of these badges on your website.

SaaSHub badge
Show embed code
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code

Videos

Block EVERY Online Ad with THIS - Pi-Hole on Raspberry Pi

I tried Pi-Hole for the first time... (DNS level Ad Blocker)

Pi-hole -- Worth it? Gotchas?

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Pi-hole and what they use it for.
  • Ask HN: For what purposes do you use a Raspberry Pi?
    Pi-hole to block ads and tracking for my less technically savvy relatives https://pi-hole.net/. - Source: Hacker News / 4 months ago
  • Runs on your OpenWrt box: AdGuard Home is network-wide blocking ads and tracking
    I ran a competing project[0] on my home network for a few years before I discovered NextDNS[1]. What I lost in performance (requests don't leave my house) I gained in portability: ALL my devices can take advantage – at home and away – and time-saved. PiHole works 90% of the time, but when it did stop working, I'd have to spend a bit of time fixing it. At $20/year, I simply couldn't compete with NextDNS. Note: This... - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • YouTube Says It Has More Than 100M Premium and Music Subscribers
    Can the piHole help us eliminate bandwidth wasting ads on TV's? https://pi-hole.net/. - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • Higher fees, more ads: streaming cashes in by using the old tactics of cable TV
    It definitely IS an option, but at the network level. https://pi-hole.net/ It runs on damn near everything, and is a DNS level adblocker for the whole network. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • In 2024, please switch to Firefox
    I recently switched to Wipr [0]. It’s dead simple to use, and will auto update its filter lists in the background. Adguard [1] is a decent free option. I also use a Pi-hole [2] on my network. [0] https://kaylees.site/wipr.html [1] https://adguard.com/en/adguard-safari/overview.html [2] https://pi-hole.net/. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Overwhelmed by a project
    Are you trying to build a DNS proxy (similar to Pi-hole) that intercepts DNS requests and checks for the ones that look harmful? If so, I would suggest trying to separately build a DNS client and a DNS server, before trying to integrate them together. Start with Beej's Guide to Network Programming if you need to learn the basics of sockets, and then take a look at the documents that define the DNS protocol itself... Source: 6 months ago
  • Is there an Android app that blocks the ads on games?
    It's definitely not as simple as installing an app on your phone, but I run a Pi-hole on my home network, and it does block ads in many games. Source: 7 months ago
  • What can you buy for less than $50 that will change your life?
    Being a computer you can run anything on it, especially privacy-oriented services like a network-wide adblocker. Source: 7 months ago
  • Pi hole set up for total beginner
    I suggest you start by reading the documentation and install guides on official website: https://pi-hole.net. Source: 7 months ago
  • Is it possible for a PC to only run steam and steam games and nothing else?
    This is, of course, if you're technically inclined. There are guides on YouTube, pi-hole.net, and r/pihole. Source: 7 months ago
  • Setting up a local domain
    Step 1. Install a private DNS server. Pi-hole, for example, is a local DNS server that can: a) protect your browsing from ad and tracking sites, and b) resolve local hostnames. There is a pihole/pihole sponsored Docker container. You won't really need subdomains per se. You'll just need a hostname (eg. jelly) and domain (eg. home.local). I use just home for my private domain, but home.arpa is the Internet... Source: 7 months ago
  • How to block youtube's annoying ads
    If you are looking to block ads on devices such as TV's maybe consider setting up a pi-hole. This blocks ads throughout your whole network on all devices. Source: 7 months ago
  • Exploring the Quirks of YouTube's AdBlock Challenge: Uncovering Some Modest Solutions using YouTube's Embedding API
    YouTube's controversial addition of anti-AdBlock measures has had an interesting effect on the internet community. In short, it's accelerated a technological arms race between YouTube's anti-AdBlock software and creative methods to skirt around it. And considering many suggest that the majority of creators make very little through ad revenue, using one may not be as negative as the Alphabet corporation may claim... Source: 7 months ago
  • My doctor diagnosed me with ADHD – so how did my phone find out?
    Next, set yourself up with network-based ad-blocking, like Pi-hole. Ublock Origin on the browser will have very little to do because ads will be blocked at the network level before they even reach your device. Ublock can catch whatever slips through the net. Source: 7 months ago
  • Need help with home networking slowdown and failure
    I have a Netgear cable modem that uses a pi-hole for the DHCP and DNS server. The pi-hole is set up to use unbound as a recursive DNS. Source: 8 months ago
  • Encrypted Client Hello – the last puzzle piece to privacy
    Are you familiar with https://pi-hole.net/ ? In my house I want DNS resolution to be performed by my own DNS resolver (https://github.com/NLnetLabs/unbound), after I block ad domains. DoH circumvents that. - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • Your privacy is optional
    Pi-Hole - I have Pi-Hole running in a docker container on my server. My router then uses Pi-Hole as it's DNS provider. This blocks all adverts and trackers going across my network. There are still some that get through like YouTube ads but it blocks the majority including Google Analytics. - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • Czech scientists confirm the existence of the π-hole in molecules
    For anyone confused by the comments here: https://pi-hole.net/. - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Homelab or cloud? Where should your apps and data go?
    Some apps that are great for a homelab include a network-wide ad blocker and DNS server like Pi-hole, a Mastodon bot, a network speed monitor, open source home automation like Home Assistant, a media server like Plex, and many others. - Source: dev.to / 11 months ago
  • Amazon requires services on Fire TV to give it 30% of ad impressions or revenue
    >data exfiltration Pi Hole can help with limiting this: https://pi-hole.net Here's the 24-hour top blocked domains list for my network (1x Kindle Fire Stick): https://i.imgur.com/JZsO3WK.png. - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • (StarLAN) Personal Home Lab
    PiHole (https://pi-hole.net/) No need to explain this one, PiHole rocks. Source: 11 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Pi-hole

22 NextDNS Alternatives
Pi-hole App contains an informative web interface that shows stats on all the domains being queried on the network that you are using. Pi-hole - Network-wide Ad Blocking is a signifying ad-blocking platform that helps its global users to block all the harmful and unhealthy advertisements on your online networks. You can run Pi-hole in a container or deploy it right to supported operating systems through its...

Do you know an article comparing Pi-hole to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Pi-hole discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Pi-hole. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.