Software Alternatives & Reviews

Phantomjs Reviews

PhantomJS is a headless browser that works hand in hand with Selenium to help developers more efficiently test their sites and apps.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Phantomjs and what they use it for.
  • How to make a SPA SEO crawlable?
    I've been working on how to make a SPA crawlable by google based on google's instructions. Even though there are quite a few general explanations I couldn't find anywhere a more thorough step-by-step tutorial with actual examples. After having finished this I would like to share my solution so that others may also make use of it and possibly improve it further. I am using MVC with Webapi controllers, and... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Building A Serverless Screenshot Service with Lambda
    For this project we will need some extra binaries ( PhantomJS in particular) to take the screenshots. We’ll also use ImageMagick, but that is provided by AWS by default in the Lambda image, so we don’t package it separately. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • yt-dlp release 2022.04.08
    ERROR: [iq.com] apvtge3eng: PhantomJS executable not found in PATH, download it from http://phantomjs.org. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • phantomjs not waiting for "full" page load
    I'm using PhantomJS v1.4.1 to load some web pages. I don't have access to their server-side, I just getting links pointing to them. I'm using obsolete version of Phantom because I need to support Adobe Flash on that web pages. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Is there a way to use PhantomJS in Python?
    I want to use PhantomJS in Python. I googled this problem but couldn't find proper solutions. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Any good way to archive websites into PDFs?
    Check out phantom.js. Https://phantomjs.org/ Https://www.npmjs.com/package/phantom-html-to-pdf. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Migrating Selenium system tests to Cuprite
    In our project, we’ve been running system tests (then called rather "Feature tests") since around 2016. System tests use a real browser in the background and test all layers of a Rails application at once: from the database all the way up to the nuances of JavaScript loaded together with the web pages. Back then, we wrote our system tests using Capybara with Poltergeist, a driver that ran a headless Phantom JS... - Source: dev.to / 12 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Phantomjs

Top 10 Best Selenium Alternatives You Should Try
PhantomJS is an open-source, scriptable headless browser intended for automating webpage collaboration. It is also a powerful testing tool that supports various web standards and makes it appropriate for automation and integration with CI tools.
6 Popular Headless Browsers for Web Testing
Complexity is commonplace in the modern internet landscape, and PhantomJS is built to handle it all using basic command line testing. This headless WebKit is scriptable via the JavaScript API and uses CasperJS to handle testing. Capable of simulating “full navigation scenarios,” PhantomJS can reveal all the places where a user may encounter errors while browsing.
Introduction to Headless Browser Testing
PhantomJS supports headless testing with the use of CasperJS. CasperJS is a navigation scripting & testing tool for PhantomJS. It allows you to build full navigation scenarios using high-level functions and a straight forward interface to accomplish all sizes of tasks.

Do you know an article comparing Phantomjs to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.