Software Alternatives & Reviews

OpenMediaVault Reviews

OpenMediaVault is the next generation network attached storage (NAS) solution based on Debian Linux.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about OpenMediaVault and what they use it for.
  • Thinking about making a home storage server
    Basically, there a few options to start with. The most decent ones are TrueNAS/FreeNAS (https://www.truenas.com/) , OMV (openmediavault.org), both supports zfs. Also, you can look into UnRAID (https://unraid.net/) which allows you to scale easily. Also, some info on zfs https://www.enterprisestorageforum.com/hardware/10-reasons-why-zfs-rocks/ https://www.starwindsoftware.com/the-ultimate-guide-to-zfs. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • just how well does the nvidea shield pro do as a plex server?
    I have 5 Optiplex 3010's (i3-3rd Gen processors) sitting in my closet with 4GB RAM that would work just fine as a direct play Plex server with openmediavault as it's OS. And should even HW Transcode a couple of 1080p files with a Plex Pass. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • How I reclaimed my server after resetting devices after the breach (Ubuntu)
    Wow, I'm on a Debian based headloess OS (openmediavault.org) and my update was much easier. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • No write access after clean install of Linux Mint
    The link that u/Fribbtastic had quite a bit of detail. Or there is always r/linux4noobs. I don't have mine installed on Mint and the GUI of my openmediavault.org OS is quite a bit different (I.e. There is no desktop, only a web interface/command line). But the command line should be the same for all distros built off of Debian. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • How stable/dependable is your PleX instance?
    Once I got all the correct settings on my server and clients the only problems I've had is the ones that I have no control over (I.e Plex issue on their end). Other than that it has been rock solid running on https://openmediavault.org since 2017. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Is it worth me moving back to a Linux based OS?
    I've been running OpenMediaVault and Plex since 2017. I also use this machine for my file server for my personal files, Tautulli and it is my PiHole. My next project will probably be NextCloud on the server since it has been so reliable ...even on 9+ year old Dell 7010. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Raspberry Pi Plex Server External Hard Drive Always On
    I'm running OMV https://openmediavault.org/ and in the web gui I have an option to disable the sleeping of each drive. (Mine spin 24/7/365 so that I don't have to wait for them to "wake up"). Each OS is different, a Google search may help. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Easiest way to attach external storage?
    FreeNAS or OpenMediaVault can be run on something as small as a Raspberry pi. Plug in your USB HDD and go. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Why is Amahi not a popular home server solution?
    Anyway, I also use ZFS. My server distro of choice is OpenMediaVault, which has a great ZFS plugin that allows easy management via Web UI. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of OpenMediaVault

9 Of The Best FreeNAS Alternatives For Your Storage Needs
Openmediavault is maybe the best FreeNAS alternatives in the market as of now. This comes with an appended capacity (NAS) arrangement. It works on Linux, and you can also use some powerful administrations like DAAP media servers.
Top 7 FreeNas Alternative For Your PC
Openmediavault is one highly advanced and next-generation NAS solution based on Debian Linux. This platform was designed mainly for small offices and homes and offers a simple GUI solution to manage NAS storage hardware. This has many services such as SMB/CIFS, FTP, SSH, DAAP media server, BitTorrent, RSync, etc. This software has a modular design and is made advanced with many various features by using the...
Top 15 Best TrueNAS Alternatives In 2022
The most notable characteristics of OpenMediaVault include its ability to operate right out of the box, web-based administration volume control, file sharing, including aggregation, email notification, and extensibility via a plugin, among others. This is another truenas alternative.
15 FreeNAS Alternatives 2020 | Best Storage Operating System
Known as the best alternatives to FreeNAS, OpenMediaVault is a free next-generation NAS solution based on Debian Linux. It contains administrations such as NFS (v3/v4), DAAP, SSH, (S)FTP, SMB/CIFS media servers, RSync, BitTorrent clients, etc. OpenMediaVault is simple, stable, comprehensive, and does not necessitate expertise to install and administrate.
10 Best FreeNas alternatives in 2020
Openmediavault is one of the most popular FreeNas alternative you can have a try. It is the cutting edge organize appended capacity (NAS) arrangement dependent on Debian Linux. It contains administrations like SSH, (S)FTP, SMB/CIFS, DAAP media server, RSync, BitTorrent customer and some more. Openmediavault is principally intended to be utilized in little workplaces, or home workplaces yet aren’t restricted to...
6 Best FreeNas Alternatives for self-hosted NAS
FreeNAS alternative OpenMediaVault initially was developed to provide NAS facility to home environments or small home offices but later it proliferated and expanded its reach to further verticals too. It is just like FreeNAS available in ISO file which can be easily installed top operated without much deeper knowledge to install and manage Network Attached Storage ( NAS ).

Do you know an article comparing OpenMediaVault to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.