Software Alternatives & Reviews

Notepad++ Reviews

A free source code editor which supports several programming languages running under the MS Windows environment.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Notepad++ and what they use it for.
  • Critique my hi-sec trig hunting fit
    Easy way to do this? Get Notepad++. It's free, open source, ... good. It is a text-processor, not a word processor, so it's designed for programmers and stuff. It's good for manipulating and working with text. Anyways you can copy a fit like the one above into Notepad++, hold down the ALT key, drag up or downwards to shift a whole series of lines forward 4 spaces by extending the curser you normally work with,... - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Looking for a simple, slightly old school theme. Can anyone help?
    In terms of the type of theme I’m looking for…I want simplicity—but with a bit of nostalgia folded in. In my head, something like the Notepad++ website is what I’m seeking. https://notepad-plus-plus.org. - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago
  • What exactly is vim?
    If you're looking for something like notepad but with more features, maybe take a look at Notepad++. - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • Import vcf into access
    But basically it is like a CSV? Just open it on opensource notepad++, thing is just try to import a txt. file, (in windows explorer show filetype), i.e. Make a copy of the vcf, rename the extension to .txt. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Top 5 text editors for developers
    Notepad++ is a free and open-source source code editor and is a favorite of many programmers like me. The uncluttered experience and additional features make it an ideal choice for source code editing. - Source: dev.to / 23 days ago
  • help, plugins are confusing
    If the plug-in isn’t “obfuscated”, then the help info is likely on the plug-in file itself. If so, download a “text editor” (e.g. Notepad ++). Open the plug-in file in the text editor and read the top of the file (usually there is help info there that is “commented” out). Even if the file is obfuscated, getting a text editor and learning the very basics (opening a file, looking at it, beginning to understand it,... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • FIX for Dream Aerial glitch!! (PC only)
    -Backup your save files (Copy the folder C:/Users/[name]/Appdata/Roaming/Hello Games) -Download GoatFungus's NMS Save Editor from https://github.com/goatfungus/NMSSaveEditor -Load your most recent save file -Delete the Dream Aerial from your inventory if you have one already -[Optional] Add 3 Living Glass and 1 Solar Mirror to your inventory to craft a new one (right click an empty slot and select "add item"... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • For anybody who didn't hear Linus' explanation on Friday re: EU shipping costs and why an EU warehouse is unfeasible for LMG.
    Notepad++. Very useful program, comes with a ton of language syntax preloaded so you don't need to install a whole IDE everytime you need to take a peak at a file. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • What are your favorite text editors?
    For graphical usage I stick with simple ones like mousepad, but I use Notepadqq to have an alternative to Notepad++ . - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • (Plex Meta Manager related) im completely stumped, i cant find anything wrong with this, does anyone see anything that would be giving me this error?
    Notepad++ is lightweight but can do a whole lot. Used it for many years for a lot of things, my choice. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Notepad++

Top 10 Notepad++ Alternatives for Mac in 2022
First, you can get a better version of Notepad++ Mac. For instance, Setapp caters to your own Notepad++ Mac. You can also Notepad++ Mac using an emulator. Typically, the emulator is a form of creating a layer of compatibility where you can run the Notepad++ Mac on your operating system. Another thing you can do t enjoy Notepad++ Mac is by using Wine. This can help you have e Notepad++ Mac. You can also use the...
The Top 7 Notepad++ Alternatives for You
I have provided you with mainly free Notepad++ alternatives here. This is not that surprising because Notepad++ is free also. When choosing a Notepad++ alternative you need to consider what you are going to use it for and your level of programming experience.
10 Best Notepad++ Alternatives in 2020
Here, is a curated list of top 10 alternatives which can replace Notepad++. This list includes commercial as well as open-source code editors (IDE) with popular features and latest download link.
10 Best Notepad Alternatives With a Better UI and Features
EditPad Lite is again on the lighter end of the spectrum when it comes to features, which is not necessarily a bad thing. The program is fast and boots up instantaneously. While it offers some good features over Notepad, it comes nowhere near Notepad++ in terms of sheer functionality, which definitely makes it a lot more user-friendly and suitable for beginners. The app feels dated, especially in the shadow of...

Do you know an article comparing Notepad++ to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.