Software Alternatives & Reviews

Notepad++ Reviews

A free source code editor which supports several programming languages running under the MS Windows environment.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Notepad++ and what they use it for.
  • My Story and the Importance of Text Editors in Transitioning to Linux.
    Your biggest mistake was installing Notepad++ trough snap. If you would've installed it from their website and run it directly trough wine, you would've had a much better experience. Snaps are retarded, and should never be used. Its one of the main reasons why I don't recomend anyone Ubuntu, and many of the Ubunut-based distros. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Help with the %TIME:~6,2% set dt=%dt: =0% ECHO %dt%>> command in a bat file please?
    I do use Notepad++ (as seen here: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/) for writing code files, so I'm not sure if that is close to or the same as the UI from github. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Is it worth round tripping back into MC from Resolve?
    This is where pre-processing comes in. Making sure brackets are used for non-spoken things, like [laughs], or [unintelligible] or [skip this part] can help. Also ScriptSync™'s temporal resolution (and the width of Avid's Script window) is dictated by the length of the lines in the script, so running that through something like BBEdit or Notepad++ to limit line lengths automatically can improve how quickly you can... - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • Any good tools for making mods?
    No tools are needed to get into DF modding, but a .txt file editor of some kind. Your computer comes with one installed (always, unless you’re using some very strange custom setup), but I recommend getting one that is less crud than the built-in, like notepad++. For your first mods, copy-and-paste from other creatures, and read the wiki’s introductory guide. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • In windows 10, are there better text editor options than sublime text if you want dark color by default, fast opening/operation, make text big and wrap to next line so never have long horizontal lines of text?
    Notepad++ has recently added dark mode (if you need a text editor and not an entire IDE). - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • LG WebOS suddenly transcoding (burn SRT)?
    Check subtitle file encoding. Make sure it is UTF-8, not UTF-8-BOM or some other format (Easy to check/change with Notepad++). - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • What could you recommend a must have for PC essentials
    Notepad++ - Open source text editor (notepad, but better). - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Trying to edit controls from the gbarunner2 config file on my pc but the control setting aren’t coming up. Am i dumb can someone please help me
    NB! The text file will have to be in Unix (LF) file format. On Windows this can be changed with a source code editor like Notepad++ by right clicking 'Windows (CR LF)' on the bottom status bar of the window and selecting Unix (LF). - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Help Creating updatable personal GitHub Kodi Repo
    I am doing same thing gonna make repo for older versions of FEN that first link is the shiz find a good text editor that can execute code like notepad +++ so that you can run the generator file but even that github really walks you through it. Not to mention youtube is your friend I would suggest getting the github desktop app. Now like these guys said you can really text edit everything its time consuming but... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Is there any way to export with pixel grid showing?
    Open the .svg file in a code editor (Visual Studio Code, Notepad++, Atom). If you don't have one, a plain text editor will do. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Notepad++

The Top 7 Notepad++ Alternatives for You
I have provided you with mainly free Notepad++ alternatives here. This is not that surprising because Notepad++ is free also. When choosing a Notepad++ alternative you need to consider what you are going to use it for and your level of programming experience.
10 Best Notepad++ Alternatives in 2020
Here, is a curated list of top 10 alternatives which can replace Notepad++. This list includes commercial as well as open-source code editors (IDE) with popular features and latest download link.
10 Best Notepad Alternatives With a Better UI and Features
EditPad Lite is again on the lighter end of the spectrum when it comes to features, which is not necessarily a bad thing. The program is fast and boots up instantaneously. While it offers some good features over Notepad, it comes nowhere near Notepad++ in terms of sheer functionality, which definitely makes it a lot more user-friendly and suitable for beginners. The app feels dated, especially in the shadow of...

Do you know an article comparing Notepad++ to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.