Software Alternatives & Reviews

MuPDF Reviews

MuPDF is a lightweight PDF and XPS viewer.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about MuPDF and what they use it for.
  • Pdf reader for less memory consumption
    Doesn't exactly fit your requirements, but might as well mention it here: muPDF - the most lightweight PDF viewer that I've ever seen. You don't even have to install it. Mobile version exists by the way. - Source: Reddit / about 9 hours ago
  • ⟳ 1 apps added, 74 updated at f-droid.org
    MuPDF viewer (version 1.21.0a): Lightweight document viewer. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • Zathura can't manage big files
    I don't see anything about that on ArchWiki or MuPDF's website. Could you provide details on how it is obsolete and what critical vulnerabilities it has? - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Show HN: I am building a new Python library to read/write PDF files
    I think you might mean PyMuPDF (https://github.com/pymupdf/PyMuPDF), a Python library built on top of the MuPDF C library (https://mupdf.com/). PyMuPDF and MuPDF are both available under dual open source AGPL and commercial licenses. They have been around for many years and are under continual development. [Disclaimer, I work for Artifex, who wrote MuPDF and recently acquired PyMuPDF.]. - Source: Hacker News / 4 months ago
  • can I make a pdf maker apk out of c language?
    I used to work on PDF creation and management software, and I had become familiar with MuPDF https://mupdf.com/. It's lightweight, written entirely in C last I checked, crazy fast, compatible with many different platforms, and open source. API is a bit tricky to learn but once you got your head around it, it's pretty neat. The PDF specification is insanely complex so I'd personally build an app like you want on... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Can someone point me to a GOOD pdf viewer???
    Anyway, the fastest I've tried for Linux is mupdf. The mupdf libraries tend to be faster than the poppler-based ones which most linux PDF viewers use. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Looking for a utility/suite for working with PDF files and documents
    For a lightweight epub viewer, I'd probably go with mupdf or zathura. (Till recently I'd have said llpp which is based on the same codebase, but I think the developer has removed the sources for reasons having to do with the war in Ukraine.) However, I think these are based on the same library as Sumatra for Windows, so you may have the same problem. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Large PDF files
    Even after flushing caches, the cross-platform MuPDF turned out to be much faster: two to three seconds. If you're experiencing load times of more than five seconds with MuPDF on a Windows machine with gigabytes of free memory, then I'd remove "anti-virus" software and test again. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • FOSS android app for reading PDFs?
    Thanks for the recommendation!! Looks like the latest fdroid version is based on Mupdf. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • ⟳ 5 apps added, 63 updated at f-droid.org
    MuPDF viewer (version 1.20.0): Lightweight document viewer. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • epub-reader?
    You can also use any of the document viewers that use the mupdf library, including also mupdf itself, or Sioyek. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Okular – The Universal Document Viewer
    Try mupdf [1], it allows the selection of any rectangular shape. Use the "right" mouse button to select an area, the text contents of which are copied to the primary selection from where they can be pasted using the "middle" mouse button. apt install mupdf on Debian, your distribution may vary. [1] https://mupdf.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • Help Extracting Data from PDF Files
    Another possibility is MuPDF. There are bindings for many platforms and languages. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • ⟳ 7 apps added, 50 updated at f-droid.org
    MuPDF viewer (version 1.19.0): Lightweight document viewer. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Tutorial on how to use Active Storage on Rails 6.2
    As mentioned, active storage uses third-party software to enable file processing. You can download and install libvipsor ImageMagick v8.6+ for image analysis and transformations, ffmpeg v3.4+ for video/audio analysis and video previews, and poppleror muPDFfor PDF previews separately, as Rails will not install this software. - Source: dev.to / over 1 year ago
  • Show HN: Sioyek – PDF viewer for reading research papers and technical documents
    So why do you choose https://mupdf.com/ as the pdf engine? How does it compare to google's pdfium https://opensource.google/projects/pdfium. - Source: Hacker News / over 1 year ago
  • Windows 10-like distro for laptop (low end from ~2018) for mostly academic purposes, large PDFs, Zotero, obsidian, office etc.
    I'm not sure the OS has something to do with this. Maybe look after some alternative PDF readers on Windows first: Sumatra https://www.sumatrapdfreader.org/free-pdf-reader, or MuPDF https://mupdf.com/ for example (MuPDF is really minimalistic, you have to learn some of its keyboard shortcuts because it has no GUI, but it is incredibly fast and efficient). - Source: Reddit / almost 2 years ago
  • xorg sucks, use swc
    PDF Viewer: zathura using the mupdf backend, or better yet to view PostScript or DjVu files, mupdf;. - Source: Reddit / about 2 years ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of MuPDF

13 of the Best Free PDF Readers
MuPDF is another small PDF reader. MuPDF allows users to view and edit PDF files, fill out forms and leave annotations on the document. Another feature of MuPDF is that it allows the user to convert their PDF file into other formats, such as HTML or SVG. For those people looking for a small and fast PDF reader and editor, this is a strong contender.

Do you know an article comparing MuPDF to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.