Software Alternatives & Reviews

Maxima Reviews

Maxima is a fairly complete computer algebra system written in Lisp with an emphasis on symbolic computation.

Latest User Reviews

  1.  
    Stable (slow but steady growth)

    I've been using Maxima since my undergraduate (over 10 years), now with Ubuntu20.04 lts, I become a newbie of SageMath. For a small project (both symbolical and numerical), in particular, student lab activities, Maxima has been a powerful tool for analyzing and visualizing data. (The Android version is also fantastic, but the poor keyboard.)

    Mathematica is always enemy/friend. (My coworkers are all Mathematica speakers.)

    ๐Ÿ Competitors: Wolfram Mathematica
    ๐Ÿ‘ Pros:    Easy for cli user|Lithghter
    ๐Ÿ‘Ž Cons:    Good for advanced users of computers (cli is sometimes hard for newbie)|Hard to find official references, tutors, etc

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Maxima and what they use it for.
  • I made a stupid error, which led me on to a whole other, very incorrect tangent.
    I ended up learning Maxima as one of its benefits is that it checks that each step is consistent with and can be derived from the previous one. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Scheme and ... outputs!
    The computer algebra system Maxima is written in Common Lisp and has TeX output options. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Alternatives to Symbolic Math Toolbox
    I just discovered Maximaa a bit a go. Free symbolics. https://maxima.sourceforge.io/. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Quick Questions: June 08, 2022
    I personally used to use Maxima a while back: https://maxima.sourceforge.io/ . I found it useful for quickly grinding through simple stuff that I didnโ€™t want to do by hand, or for double checking my work. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • What is this problem called? Are there known efficient algorithms for it?
    See for example the way Maxima's simplifier works here. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Experiences with intelligent tutoring systems?
    I have made extensive use of STACK (and before that, a different but similar system) for mathematics teaching. This does not build a persistent model of the student, but it is intelligent in a different sense. It allows students to enter arbitrary mathematical expressions as answers, and uses Maxima to process those answers. This means that you can write complex logic to detect common classes of errors, provide... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Why is Maple a thing?
    There's also Maxima, which is free and open-source. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Graphing software
    An outlier with some potential is https://maxima.sourceforge.io/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • The Orbiter space cimulator I
    Well, there's a lot - a few I happen to be familiar with: Maxima: https://maxima.sourceforge.io/. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • symbol.min - A symbolic math library written in minima
    Interestingly, one of the oldest symbolic math programs which still gets maintained and used today is called Maxima! - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Maxima

Matlab Alternatives
Another alternative of Matlab is Maxima which was inspired by the legendary Algebra system Macsyma. It is a system used for manipulating numerical expressions such as Taylor series, Laplace transformations, Vectors, Tensors, and Matrices. Very accurate results are provided by using exact floating numbers, fractional values, and integers. The Source Forge file manager consists of all the pre-compiled binaries. The...
10 Best MATLAB Alternatives [For Beginners and Professionals]
Maxima is extracted from Macsyma, a computer algebra system developed in the late 1960s by MIT. Maxima is frequently updated to fix bugs for a more optimized coding experience
4 open source alternatives to MATLAB
Check out Maxima, it is a system for the manipulation of symbolic and numerical expressions, including differentiation, integration, Taylor series, Laplace transforms, ordinary differential equations, systems of linear equations, polynomials, sets, lists, vectors, matrices and tensors.
3 Open Source Alternatives to MATLAB
Maxima, another frequently updated alternative to MATLAB. It's based on Macsyma, a "legendary computer algebra system" developed at MIT in the 1960s, can be compiled on Linux, Mac OS X, and Windows, and is available under GPLv2.

Do you know an article comparing Maxima to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.