Software Alternatives & Reviews

Linux Mint Reviews

Linux Mint is one of the most popular desktop Linux distributions and used by millions of people.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Best linux distro

    i have used about 2years linux mint and i really like it look and feel

    🏁 Competitors: Ubuntu, Windows 10
    👍 Pros:    Easy to use|Easy user interface|Easy customizability|Secure
    👎 Cons:    Slow

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Linux Mint and what they use it for.
  • Where can i buy a Macbook for the cheapest price in Amman?
    4-Don't use Windows, windows is literally a piece of trash. But most computers use it, so if you can't find something with out windows then remove windows yourself by downloading and install something like Ubuntu or Mint and here is how to do that https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_8cD4HFvhc. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Is linux still not a viable option for a normal user?
    I'd recommend downloading Linux Mint or another distro and flashing it on a usb drive, booting into the live system (no install required) and trying it. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Can you install Linux on a already in use disk?
    I would actually recommend Linux Mint if you are coming from Windows. It is basically Ubuntu without all the problems that are in actual Ubuntu and it comes with a graphical layout that will be much more familiar to Windows users. - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago
  • Commission on Audit (COA)'s 2021 audit report on DepEd states DepEd purchased P2.4 billion worth of laptops for teachers which "are too slow because the processor is Intel Celeron, which is outdated" and "pricey for an entry-level type of laptop" @gmanews
    If people give me such a laptop, I will format Windows at papalitan ko ng Fedora, Arch, Mint, Ubuntu, Pop! OS, Manjaro. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Why is nobody suing Microsoft
    The best option is to simply stop using MS Windows. (I highly recomend that you give Linux a try). - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • It appears I will not be entering the giveaway
    No lol I see myself as the greasy Linux using scum of society. You can be just like me if you really want to1!11!1 https://linuxmint.com. - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • HTPC OS which boots off USB
    Yep, https://linuxmint.com. You can even install it to a USB flash drive. - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • GOT HACKED AND ASKED FOR RANSOM
    You probably installed malware on your PC. Just start over. Maybe try Linux; this stuff happens less often on Linux. https://linuxmint.com. - Source: Reddit / 18 days ago
  • Help me build a pc around 800 dollars
    Pop!_OS is free, fairly easy to work with, benchmarks about the same as windows these days, and steam and gog are both working hard on general linux compatibility. Linux now runs new games, old games, kind of old games... And with the steam deck seeing actual success is only going to become more and more supported. Getting the distro set up requires that you be comfortable with using a computer but no longer... - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • I want more privacy in the digital information age, where do I start?
    Best Alternative is Linux. Make a Ventoy USB, put Mint and Fedora/Pop!_OS onto it, try it, and after you tested everything works (since its booted off a usb, it will be slow asf, don't worry, its no comparison to a actual install) and then dual boot. You will be able to chose which os you boot into while the computer boots up. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Linux Mint

Best Top 20 Ubuntu Linux Alternatives (Pros and Cons)
It is based on Ubuntu and is a community-driven Linux distribution that is based on Debian. It comes with a lot of free and open-source apps and provides full out-of-the-box multimedia support for people who want to add their own software, like codecs for multimedia, to their PC. The Linux Mint project was started by Clément Lefèbvre and is still being worked on by the Linux Mint team and other users.
13 Best Linux distros for gaming in 2022
Unlike some Ubuntu flavors (like Kubuntu & Lubuntu), which provides 3 years of system updates, Linux Mint offers 5 years of updates no matter what desktop environment you go for.
6 Best Linux Distributions That are Not Based on Ubuntu or Debian
I have been asked this question a number of times by our readers. I often answer to this question with Ubuntu, Linux Mint, elementary OS or something similar from the list of our best Linux distributions.
9 Best Linux Gaming Distributions in 2021
Linux Mint also offers LTS releases similar to Ubuntu. Unlike some Ubuntu flavors (like Kubuntu & Lubuntu), which provides 3 years of system updates, Linux Mint offers 5 years of updates no matter what desktop environment you go for. You get the option to choose Xfce, MATE, or Cinnamon edition.

Do you know an article comparing Linux Mint to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.