Software Alternatives & Reviews

Laravel Reviews

A PHP Framework For Web Artisans

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Laravel and what they use it for.
  • Vue App with Lumen Passport API (Part I)
    Lumen is a stripped down version of Laravel for building APIs. This makes it a lightweight framework. I'm currently using Lumen in a project and I want to use this opportunity to share some of the things I've learnt. - Source: dev.to / 8 days ago
  • [ Discussion ] Thinking of switching from PHP to Java
    I have been a programmer for 2 years now, using PHP and Laravel for Web Development. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • Laravel 8.0 on Digital Ocean
    Laravel is a free, open source PHP web framework, created by Taylor Otwell and intended for the development of web applications following the model–view–controller (MVC) architectural pattern. Some of the features of Laravel are a modular packaging system with a dedicated dependency manager, different ways for accessing relational databases, utilities that aid in application deployment and maintenance, and its... - Source: dev.to / 20 days ago
  • Got approached and told I shouldn't use frameworks.. thoughts?
    You didn’t ask, but I would highly recommend Flask with Python as an easy framework to start learning for newbies. Or, try Laravel for PHP with Laracasts if you need a more structured guide (I learned everything about frameworks with laracasts). - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Understand Laravel Gates and Policies for Roles & Permissions
    There are numerous packages available to help you out with it, install it and straight away use it without digging into the complexity of understanding Gates and Polices and how to use them with Laravel. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Invalid session token - fix the most annoying Shopify bug
    Once again he's working in Larvel and this time he's solving something that plagues every new Shopify app build: 400 errors related to invalid session tokens. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Cost Effective Deployment of Data
    We at Blue Feather do this a lot and like to use Laravel and our open source Eloquent FileMaker package to make the data retrieval from FileMaker, but you don't need a specific package or framework to get data from FileMaker. Anything that can do cURL/http requests will work. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • After being away a decade from web dev.. can anyone explain some things?
    If you're still comfortable with PHP / HTML / CSS / JS, save yourself a shitload of time and just go use Laravel with a LAMP stack. You won't have to learn any fancy new JS framework, and can lean on your old experience. PHP is still one of the best ways to make a website, and Laravel is supposedly fantastic. I'm looking at it for my next project. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Laravel: How to tracking user IP after they register or login
    After few years, I working with Laravel. The one I loved that the queue and especially that the Laravel Horizon is very powerful when we process parallel the tasks and jobs at the same time. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Is building WordPress websites with ACF "flexible content" and the "classic editor" going to disappear?
    I’m using Laravel with Filament to build custom backends Tailored to the site’s specific needs. Working out really well so far and the sites are a lot more performant. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Laravel

The Most Popular PHP Frameworks to Use in 2021
Laravel Homestead is an official, pre-packaged Vagrant box that provides you a wonderful development environment without requiring you to install PHP, a web server, and any other server software on your local machine. No more worrying about messing up your operating system!
Top 9 PHP Frameworks For Web Development In 2021
Laravel is an open-source web development framework. Of-course, free. It enjoys awe-inspiring support from the PHP developer community. And as a result, Laravel wheels are always in motion. Right from its launch in 2011 to the time of writing this insight, there have been 20 mega releases, Laravel 8 being the latest stable version. The Laravel web framework community provides LTS versions too. Laravel 6.0 LTS is...
Top 5 Back-End Frameworks to Consider for Web Development in 2021
The Laravel framework is designed to offer native APIs for authentication, authorization, and rate-limiting services. The framework comes in handy if you require database migrations for your application as they can be executed easily using the command line tools. Laravel offers an excellent code organization with packages that follow the modern PHP standards. The Laravel Lumen framework provides a robust set of...
The 10 Best PHP Frameworks To Use in 2021
At the same time, Laravel is efficient enough for building complex applications. And its more technical features like a template engine, routing, security, and authentication support this endeavor.
Best backend technologies to use in 2019
The documentation of Laravel is very clean, organized and understandable. The MVC architecture is supported in Laravel and it helps in bringing a variety of built-in functions to select from a better development architecture. Laravel allows the developers to create both small as well as huge applications. Laravel gives a secure API building structure that can support building the Hybrid Applications.
Top 4 PHP Frameworks to use in 2019
From the beginning, the main goal of Laravel is to create feature-rich web applications. Laravel has a well-built templating engine that performs a large variety of regular tasks. This framework has such features as RESTful routing, caching, user management, and authentication. This way, Laravel speed up the development process. Why do we use Laravel?
10 PHP MVC Frameworks in 2019 for Modern Web Developers
A popular framework introduced in 2011 falls in our PHP MVC framework list, Laravel. The framework’s main goal is to take the drag from development to make it more fun and enjoyable for developers. Laravel’s philosophy suits very well mostly among millennial web developers gaining a wide community. Laravel achieved this output by easing common tasks like authentication, routing, sessions, and caching. It is...

Do you know an article comparing Laravel to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.