Software Alternatives & Reviews

Kubernetes Reviews

Kubernetes is an open source orchestration system for Docker containers

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Kubernetes and what they use it for.
  • Quarkus fundamentals
    By producing small binaries with fast startup, Quarkus is perfectly suited for orchestration platforms like Kubernetes. - Source: dev.to / 1 day ago
  • Go on Node, I am all about Go(Golang)
    Kubernetes is an orchestration tool that allows the ability to manage all of your Docker containers in a central location. The official page of Kubernetes defines it like so: Kubernetes is a portable, extensible, open source platform for managing containerized workloads and services, that facilitates both declarative configuration and automation. It has a large, rapidly growing ecosystem. Kubernetes services,... - Source: dev.to / 5 days ago
  • unable to get search results from kubernetes.io
    Manage to get it working again. Had to add kubernetes.io to the Tracker and AD Blocking exception list. Not sure how to feel about this one, I've use brave and this doesnt happen there with trackers and ads blocked. Would this be considered a bug? - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • unable to get search results from kubernetes.io
    Since last week I've been unable to get results from kubernetes.io search tool while using Vivaldi with a synched account. This happens at desktop and also android. When not using my account, I can see that it works but I don't know what exactly I messed up? Can someone help? - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Top 6 DevOps Trends that your organization should focus on in 2022
    An open-source container orchestration system called Kubernetes has recently been popular in infrastructure (more so on the operations side). But in 2022, according to analysts, Kubernetes will penetrate much deeper into software development. This paradigm shift will make it simpler for developers to launch a local Kubernetes cluster on their machine. DevOps teams can then use Kubernetes features early in the... - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • How does Docker divvy up resources when containers are running multiple instances of the same program?
    It sounds like you may want to look into Kubernetes? - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • Mom at 54 is thinking about coding and a complete career shift. Thoughts?
    Maybe rare for someone to be seeking their first coding job at that age. But plenty of us are in our 50s or older and still coding up a storm. And not necessarily ancient tech or anything. My current project exposes analytics data from Apache Druid and Cassandra via Go microservices hosted in K8s. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • Senior DevOps Interviews
    "Sorry, we ban kubernetes.io, Google, and Stack Overflow at our web filter... For reasons." lol. - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • Deploying and Scaling the Official Strapi Demo App “FoodAdvisor” with Kubernetes and Docker
    Kubernetes is a container orchestration system used for automated deployment, scaling, and management of containers. Kubernetes makes running a containerized application easy. Multiple worker machines are combined to form a cluster, and each worker machine hosts pools that run different application-related containers. If you're new to Kubernetes, the official tutorials are a great place to start. - Source: dev.to / 24 days ago
  • Kubectl Patch: What You Can Use It for and How to Do It
    Kubernetes' automated deployments make life easier. Managing integrated applications used to require multiple systems, with error-prone orchestration that crossed multiple computer and application boundaries. But with k8s, you can define your application as deployments and let the orchestrator do the rest. - Source: dev.to / 28 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Kubernetes

Docker Swarm vs Kubernetes: how to choose a container orchestration tool
In this article, we explored the two primary orchestrators of the container world, Kubernetes and Docker Swarm. Docker Swarm is a lightweight, easy-to-use orchestration tool with limited offerings compared to Kubernetes. In contrast, Kubernetes is complex but powerful and provides self-healing, auto-scaling capabilities out of the box. K3s, a lightweight form of Kubernetes certified by CNCF, can be the right...
Docker Alternatives
An open-source code, Rancher is another one among the list of Docker alternatives that is built to provide organizations with everything they need. This software combines the environments required to adopt and run containers in production. A rancher is built on Kubernetes. This tool helps the DevOps team by making it easier to testing, deploying and managing the applications. A rancher is used by the operations...
3 best alternatives to the big cloud providers
Very interesting topic! I’m not sure if things like Netlify or Vercel could replace something like Kubernetes on GCP but I believe in the power of Netlify for hosting websites!

Do you know an article comparing Kubernetes to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.