Software Alternatives & Reviews

Heroku Reviews

Agile deployment platform for Ruby, Node.js, Clojure, Java, Python, and Scala. Setup takes only minutes and deploys are instant through git. Leave tedious server maintenance to Heroku and focus on your code.

Latest User Reviews

  1. mark-mercer avatar
     
    Useful Cloud Platform

    Great service to build, run and manage applications entirely in the cloud!

    🏁 Competitors: AWS, Dokku on Digital Ocean, Firebase
    👍 Pros:    Easy user interface|Good customer service|Multi-language cloud application platform
    👎 Cons:    Limitation with some addons|Low network performance
  2. User avatar
     
    🏁 Competitors: Docker, AWS
    👍 Pros:    Powerful development environments|Great value for the money|Great customer support|Paas

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Heroku and what they use it for.
  • Something to share with all of you.
    Host it on heroku.com as it is the easiest way to host for free, look up a guide on how to. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • I need the simplicity of serverless hosting, but it's too expensive
    I'm trying to deploy my self-hosted languagetool server. On Hetzner, a Cloud Server with 80 GB storage costs me €8 a month. However, it's way too hard to deploy it there. The Docker script works fine, but I do not have the nerves to learn how to set up a nginx reverse proxy myself to get https to work. On platforms like https://northflank.com/ or maybe heroku.com this is super simple. 2 clicks and it not only... - Source: Reddit / 27 days ago
  • Build and Deploy a Fake REST API Server for CRUD with Nodejs in 5 minutes
    You need to have Nodejs installed on your machine and also a Heroku account. - Source: dev.to / 28 days ago
  • THE NEW TRICK TO EASILY AND EFFECTIVELY DEPLOY YOUR DJANGO PROJECT ON HEROKU IN JUST 10 STEPS
    Step 1. You need to create a Heroku account Here and then create an app on Heroku. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • How Events & Scripts Work with InAppBrowser in Appery.io
    To demonstrate these techniques, we have created a multi-page site on Heroku.com. Please click here to visit it. All the site pages except for the Login page are protected by login/password. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • What service to build an online game/chat app ?
    I uploaded my server to heroku.com, a free platform to upload server to the cloud, and therefore anyone could reach the server freely (iOS, Web, Android...). - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Is there such a thing for Django as there is Heroku for Ruby on Rails
    Is there a cloud based development for Django, such as there is cloud based development and hosting environment for Ruby / heroku. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • A NodeJS application calling a 3rd-party API
    Heroku – a platform that let me publish my NodeJS application to the world. - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • Fullstack Pulumi: Deploying the MERN Stack on DigitalOcean
    If you've used DigitalOcean before, you know it's all about making infrastructure more accessible to developers. What you may not know, though, or at least I didn't myself until recently, is that you can do a lot more with DigitalOcean than just virtual machines. A fairly new, fully-managed platform service (think Heroku), App Platform gives you a set of high-level abstractions built to align with the tiers of a... - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • Sophisticated, Simple, and Affordable Background Workers
    At CodeFund, we processed 5+ million background jobs per day at our peak. Some of those jobs performed computationally expensive operations. Others performed the slow and latent database work required to operate the business. We hosted on Heroku with 3 Standard 1x dynos responsible for background work, which cost us $75 per month - with plenty of resources to scale without adding linear costs. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Heroku

The Best Cloud Hosting Providers for Elixir Phoenix
There are two different ways to deploy a Phoenix app on Heroku. You can use Heroku buildpacks or the Heroku container stack. For testing, we followed the Deploying on Heroku guide from the Phoenix docs to deploy Phoenix and Postgres using the Heroku container stack and Docker. We created our Phoenix app, updated for releases, added Heroku environment variable config, and added a Dockerfile.
3 best alternatives to the big cloud providers
It mostly comes in highlight due to its wide variety of useful Extensions (which include the ones for managing a database to sending emails or running cron jobs). Also,with built-in CI tools and the fact that almost all of the management tasks can be abstracted, you get a pat on the back, Heroku!!!
Heroku vs self-hosted PaaS
Heroku uses a concept they call dynos. A dyno is by default a container with 512MB of RAM that runs a part of a single application. To scale your app you simply add more dynos and Heroku will automatically load balance it for you. You can also have dynos running background jobs and such as well as schedulers to do cron-like things. If your app gets a lot of traffic then you can simply add more dynos to increase...
Top 5 Alternatives to Heroku
Heroku is a great company; they blazed the trail for a commercially sustainable cloud service like PaaS in an industry where technology is changing rapidly. For a couple of years now, there is no point denying the fact that PaaS had fulfilled so many business needs. I really don’t think there is anything they’ve not done as a cloud service provider, but recently, I began to notice a trend in the developer...

Do you know an article comparing Heroku to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.