Software Alternatives & Reviews
Register   |   Login

Heroku Reviews

Agile deployment platform for Ruby, Node.js, Clojure, Java, Python, and Scala. Setup takes only minutes and deploys are instant through git. Leave tedious server maintenance to Heroku and focus on your code.

Latest User Reviews

  1. mark-mercer avatar
    Useful Cloud Platform

    Great service to build, run and manage applications entirely in the cloud!

    🏁 Competitors: AWS, Dokku on Digital Ocean, Firebase
    πŸ‘ Pros:    Easy user interface|Good customer service|Multi-language cloud application platform
    πŸ‘Ž Cons:    Limitation with some addons|Low network performance
  2. User avatar
    🏁 Competitors: Docker, AWS
    πŸ‘ Pros:    Powerful development environments|Great value for the money|Great customer support|Paas

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Heroku and what they use it for.
  • Managing my Heroku app from iOS
    The heroku.com web app on mobile is great for basic tasks. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Can I run scripts 24/7 using GitHub?
    Well my question is simple, I heard somewhere you can host sites using GitHub, so I was just curious if you can keep running python scripts using GitHub. I have 2 reddit bots that are currently running 24/7 through Heroku. I was just curious if I could keep em running 24/7 through GitHub instead. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Daily Share Price Notifications using Python, SQL and Africas Talking - Part Two
    For the next part ensure you have an Africas Talking account and a Heroku account. - Source: dev.to / 17 days ago
  • Using Arduino's New OplΓ  Kit to Read Remote Sensors and Display the Data in Your Home
    Heroku account (the free hobby account should be fine). - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • [21] Top 10 Must-Have Web Dev Tools – May 2021
    A very impressive and easy-to-use deployment and collaboration platform for front-end developers from creators of NextJS. Vercel enables developers to host websites and web services that deploy instantly and scale automatically – all without any configuration. So far, I have been using it for a couple of weeks, and it really feels like a Heroku or Netlify on steroids. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Group chat bot that assign points to members
    After finishing writing code for the bot upload your code to heroku.com or repl.it . I use repl.it personally. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Your Heroku App Is Slow to Load Because Of This.
    No doubt that Heroku is a great tool for developers. One particular reason for me is its generosity. I will explain how. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Web Hosting option?
    Use Heroku for dynamic sites, Vercel or Netlify for static sites. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Shelly: under the hood
    Finally, on the backend, we've got a simple Scala-based application, deployed on Heroku. The database is PostgreSQL, but the application is not a straightforward CRUD as you might expect, but instead uses SQL-based, transactional event sourcing. Probably overkill, but β€” if we ever want to create a new view basing on the events (which include e.g. Program creation in creative mode, or solving a challenge) β€” for... - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • Need advice about infrastructure [Django, Nuxt, AWS]
    1a. Just use heroku. Might look expensive but the moment you put into the equation your time, it is not that expensive. You can always move things later to more cheap and do it yourself providers (such as AWS). You'll have won a lot of time implementing features by then. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Heroku

3 best alternatives to the big cloud providers
It mostly comes in highlight due to its wide variety of useful Extensions (which include the ones for managing a database to sending emails or running cron jobs). Also,with built-in CI tools and the fact that almost all of the management tasks can be abstracted, you get a pat on the back, Heroku!!!
Heroku vs self-hosted PaaS
Heroku uses a concept they call dynos. A dyno is by default a container with 512MB of RAM that runs a part of a single application. To scale your app you simply add more dynos and Heroku will automatically load balance it for you. You can also have dynos running background jobs and such as well as schedulers to do cron-like things. If your app gets a lot of traffic then you can simply add more dynos to increase...
Top 5 Alternatives to Heroku
Heroku is a great company; they blazed the trail for a commercially sustainable cloud service like PaaS in an industry where technology is changing rapidly. For a couple of years now, there is no point denying the fact that PaaS had fulfilled so many business needs. I really don’t think there is anything they’ve not done as a cloud service provider, but recently, I began to notice a trend in the developer...

Do you know an article comparing Heroku to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.