Software Alternatives & Reviews

GNU Guix Reviews

Like Nix but GNU.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about GNU Guix and what they use it for.
  • any Aces
    I've been learning the basics to properly configure my system with Guix. Honestly it's pretty fun! - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Do you prefer DE's or WM's?
    Next big move -> GUIX. 1 config file for the entire OS! - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Red Hat donates $10,000 to OBS Studio, Flatpak to be official for Linux
    If you don’t care about isolation, then GUIX (https://guix.gnu.org/) is superior for solving dependency issues without any performance overhead. (You can install that package manager to any system). - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Python: Please stop screwing over Linux distros
    And Guix too of course https://guix.gnu.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • I need some tips on how to do a completely fresh WordPress install in NixOS:
    I also want to know this too, but I only found one which is https://guix.gnu.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Most active lisp?
    Right now the GNU project is trying to build a whole operating system (sans the kernel) in GNU Guile Scheme. If you're looking for more than just a language for experimenting, it could be cool to have operating system tools to hack on in Scheme: https://guix.gnu.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • What's your perfect Linux setup ?
    Each independent hardware device would have an immutable base OS layer, similar in concept to Fedora Silverblue or CoreOS, but lighter weight like Alpine and composable like NIX or Guix. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • I want to report a grammatical error
    Http://guix.gnu.org -> About -> Contributing. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Nix-GUI: Make NixOS usable for non-technical users through settings / GUI
    Guix (https://guix.gnu.org/) is a similar project, and it has the same issue regarding confusing terminology. I wonder if adoption of these otherwise awesome projects would improve if they did a better job with communication? - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • How hard would it to be to design a Linux Distro?
    If you really want a minimal installation, either Guix OS or Nix OS are probably your best bet, because they both use what are called "pure functional package managers," which are a very modern dependency management algorithm to compute very precisely the exact software that you need, which ensure ALL software that you do not absolutely 100% need is never installed. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago

Do you know an article comparing GNU Guix to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.