Software Alternatives & Reviews

Fedora Reviews

Choose Freedom. Choose Fedora. Pick a flavor of Fedora streamlined for your needs, and get to work right away.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Fedora and what they use it for.
  • RHEL Workstation - Best option for me.
    If you subscribe to RHEL, you get access to all kinds of nice things (like Red Hat Insights, RHEL Kernel Live Patching, RH Knowledge Base through the Customer Portal, etc.) and you can get opportunities to communicate with Red Hat Engineering about your problems and what kind of solutions and technologies you want in RHEL. For example, if you like what Fedora Linux and CentOS Stream Hyperscale have with Btrfs, you... - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • is there somewhat stable os for a celeron 2 in 1?
    You can use JingOS. It has good support for touchscreen but it is not super stable yet. But for regular usage, I think it's okay. You can also Gnome based OS. The recent Gnome 40 has good touchscreen support. For Gnome 40, you can try Fedora or Ubuntu 20.10. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Fedora Silverblue — The Future Is Now
    I wonder when Fedora are going to promote it from the 'Emerging' section to the main section on the downloads page? What more needs to happen before then? - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • This guy is so powerful that no one else can tip their fedora
    I thought of this before thinking of a fedora. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • I want change my distro
    Fedora is very nice -- it's not Debian-based, so the package manager is a little different than what you might be used to, but it's got very up-to-date software, which lends well to gaming. Stable, easy to set up, and most places that offer .deb packages generally also offer .rpm packages for easy installation of software. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Is there a plan to release GnomeOS as its own production distro tracking the latest Gnome release?
    This is my long way to tell you to get Fedora. - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • LM is hiding something.
    #1: Fedora 34 now officially released | 82 comments #2: Made the switch to 34, don't think I'll be looking back. Goodbye Ubuntu and Windows. | 102 comments #3: POV: history student who pretends a minimalist desktop environment will help him focus on getting work done | 35 comments. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Should I make the big move? Windows - Linux
    I mean, I switched about a month ago and it’s been amazing. I highly recommend Fedora, and would stay away from Ubuntu as it’s got this really slow containerized package manager called Snap, that really ruined the experience for me last time. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Install Fedora 35 Linux with Windows 11/10 (Dual Boot)
    Fedora Linux is a Linux distribution developed by the community-supported Fedora Project which is sponsored primarily by Red Hat, a subsidiary of IBM, with additional support from other companies. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Linux Tips For Beginners
    Linux is only the core component of a Linux system. Distributions come and go, so pick a popular Linux distribution that will be around for the next ten years. Something like OpenSuse, Debian, Fedora or Ubuntu. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Fedora

11 Best Linux Distros For Programming And Developers [2020 Edition]
Moreover, Fedora only ships with open source components, which makes it a perfect choice if you’re a die-hard open-source enthusiast. Even Linus Torvalds prefers Fedora over Debian and Ubuntu. The Fedora forum and magazines are a very friendly platform to share your problems and know how to use Fedora and its tools. As Fedora is backed by Red Hat, you can also expect it to work without issues during the...

Do you know an article comparing Fedora to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.