Software Alternatives & Reviews

Drupal Reviews

Drupal - the leading open-source CMS for ambitious digital experiences that reach your audience across multiple channels. Because we all have different needs, Drupal allows you to create a unique space in a world of cookie-cutter solutions.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Drupal and what they use it for.
  • Is there and easy way of porting a site from d7 to d9?
    I would be interested in some good migration tools, paid ones are also ok. I found a post about this on drupal.org, but it didn't seem like an easy process. It is a multilanguage site with many content types, and a totally custom theme. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Is there any nice group, where I can ask questions, when I get stuck and recieve some guidance instead of crytics?
    You got already good advice, but wanted to point the guide of drupal.org where you can see some tools listed with instructions and channels https://www.drupal.org/community/contributor-guide/reference-information/talk/tools. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • MAMP issue after Pro trial ended
    There is a service call GitPod that provides a temporary container Drupal environment. If you are familiar with what is going on around the future of how Drupal modules will eventually be offered up, you will likely have seen the "Project Browser" module as a contrib demo of the approach. It is used for people to give feedback to the developers. So they set up the typical 'SimplyTestMe' but also a GitPod... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Best Modules for Product and Recipe?
    For reviews, it depends entirely on what you mean by "review". I believe core has a simple comment module, although it may have been deprecated for D9? There are likely many review-style modules on drupal.org that might work, or if you just want to link out to third-party reviews then it could just be a repeating-value link field on the Product content type. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Leadership?
    They should also use standards tools like Github. The drupal.org platform was certainly impressive 10 years ago, today it's a pain to use it. They ducktape it with gitlab, but really it sucks to have to read documentation to simply do a pull request. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • drupal.org crashed/offline/hacked?
    When I go to drupal.org right now, I receive a "403 forbidden" error after being auto-redirected to https://www.drupal.org/install.php. Anyone else seeing this? - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • I used to run Adyax, a 350 pax Drupal shop based in France. Today, I think Drupal is dying. Let’s talk. https://medium.com/@maximetopolov/drupal-is-dying-6129b4bd3d22
    Although the archive on drupal.org is quite straight forward to install, the composer variant is not a very good first experience for beginners trying to install it the "tech" way. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • The Tale of Dependency Injection in Drupal / DrupalCamp Poland 2021
    IMO It is perfectly proper solution, way better than suppressing some PHP inspections (as drupal.org suggests). - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Any resource that goes in depth about module development?
    Docs pages on drupal.org can be hit or miss, but I often reference them:. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Does anybody have any idea of why Lumon's logo has a waterdrop?
    It resembles the logo for Drupal (drupal.org ) which is a content management system I have worked on a fair bit over the years - not thrilled about that lol. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Drupal

8 Great Drupal Alternatives to Try for your Website (Nov 2021)
Whether you're creating a new website from scratch or looking for a way to upgrade your existing one, you'll need the right content management system. A content management system (CMS), is a tool that helps you to modify and optimize your website however, you choose, without the need for any complex API or PHP work. While some CMS solutions allow you to have some control over the code on your website, they're...
WordPress alternatives: Which CMS platform is the best?
With Drupal, the startup costs are higher than WordPress, since developing with Drupal requires more technical expertise. It’s more complex than WordPress, and you will likely need to pay for a developer. Besides that, you’ll have to invest in the basics like – domain registration, hosting, added security, and so on.
11 Popular Free And Open Source WordPress CMS alternatives in 2021
If you are a WordPress user, certainly you will like Drupal as it has come with robust content management tools, sophisticated APIs for multichannel publishing, and a track record of continuous innovation—Drupal is ready to stand as the hub of your digital presence.
Top 5 Open-Source CMS Platforms
Unlike WordPress, Drupal does not have an extensive library of plugins and extensions, however, the efficient and very friendly platform enables users to make just any website instantly. The platform works seamlessly for creating, handling, and managing data and content of large and extensive websites. The platform has a modular layout and therefore, the users will have to install various modular extensions to...
Best CMS Platforms in 2019 [WordPress vs Joomla vs Drupal vs Squarespace vs Wix vs Medium]
Drupal was first developed as a student community solution but is now available as a fully customized open source CMS, flexible and highly scalable. The software comes to a far wider range of features out of the box than other alternatives. Drupal offers an extremely easy basic installation.
9 Reasons I Think Craft is the Best CMS on the Market Today
Craft CMS is simple, minimalistic, agile and has every capability a modern CMS framework needs. Over the past ten years we have worked with every CMS you could think of (Wordpress, Drupal, Rails+ActiveAdmin, Ghost, Weebly, DjangoCMS, Jekyll, Joomla, Tumblr, Squarespace, Expression Engine, Statamic, Blogger)… here are the reasons why we’ve landed firmly with Craft as our №1 choice.
WordPress, Joomla and Drupal are NOT the Best CMS
Let me apologize in advance to all Drupal fans for this next statement. Drupal simply isn't easy to use. In fact, it's one of the more complex content management frameworks out there and people who think setting up Drupal properly is a quick and easy process are definitely going to be in for a shock.
CMS comparison 2018: The 5 most popular open source systems
The CMS Drupal offers extensive opportunities for customization with its modular layout. Users who know exactly what they need can spare themselves the manual compilation of software components. For many scenarios, preconfigured distributions based on the Drupal framework are available.

Do you know an article comparing Drupal to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.