Software Alternatives & Reviews

Zotero Reviews

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Zotero and what they use it for.
  • Journal of Anatomy
    If you are looking for academic papers, there are many open-access journals now. You could search from https://doaj.org/ or for general browsing I recommend https://journals.plos.org/plosone/ Also just searching at scholar.google.com on any topic, and from within the search it tells you if a pdf is available. If you really love scientific literature, keep it organized for free with zotero.org. Happy learning!! - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • Do you know of any apps for organizing pdfs in a library themed program for windows ?
    Definitely Calibre, unless the PDFs are an academic research collection, in which case Zotero or other research management software might be more useful. - Source: Reddit / 16 days ago
  • what laptop should i get
    Have you considered using http://zotero.org/? It's one of the best biblio management software and can export to BibTex/any citation style you need. Plus its open source and free. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Do I really need ZotFile to use a cloud storage service?
    Oops, I apologise, it turns out I do have Zotfile installed, I should check before commenting! I set everything up a while ago and it just works now, so I'm not actually sure if I'm using zotfile for my current workflow or if I just used it for the initial migration from using zotero sync for the attachment directory. I think I might have actually followed a slightly different link, or the website has changed from... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Help for citation
    Try putting the link into zotero.org or citethisforme.com (they're both citation tools), they can sometimes find more information, and maybe find the last name. If they can't find anything, then just put the first name with no last name, you can only cite it with as much info is given by the source. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • I did a research proposal and my teacher said it wasn't true, was that her opinion?
    To one up+ her, I use zotero.org to help you organize your research paper into a paper written by an college doctorate student. Don't follow her opinion. Fight back by writing on the topic because I do think it is an excellent topic to cover. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • What is wrong with my Zotero!
    Please upgrade to the latest version from zotero.org.". - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • How do you guys do research?
    It's not a collection of sources or anything, but one resource I would like to recommend is Zotero. It's a note-taking and bibliographical organization tool. You can sort books and articles into folders given a topic, and apply tags. It helped me immensely while I was in college one thousand years ago. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Why do students have so much trouble with APA formatting?
    Why do any manual formatting of references? Zotero (zotero.org) is free, works on windows, macos, and linux, works with ms word, libre office writer, and google docs, and works with firefox, chrome, and safari. 1-2 minutes to download & install, 5-15 minutes of watching the tutorial videos, and then do your citations & references with just a few mouse clicks (apa, mla, chicago, journal specific formatting, etc.). - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Productivity tools: looking for recommendations!
    This is a little more specific, but if you write papers a lot as part of your work/school, Zotero can save you a ton of time (and errors) by auto-generating a bibliography. You can add articles from the website that they're on automatically, and then they're just in your library, where you can search for them based on whatever you remember about the title/authors/etc. :). - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Zotero

Top 5 Free Reference Management Software for Research
Zotero is the only software that automatically senses research on the web. Need an article from JSTOR or a preprint from arXiv.org? A news story from the New York Times or a book from a library? Zotero has you covered, everywhere.
10 Best Reference Management Software for Research
Zotero is a reference management software that can be used by students and researchers of all levels. It’s a great way to keep track of your sources, as well as easily create citations and bibliographies. Here are some of the ways Zotero can be especially helpful for Ph.D. students:
Citation Management Tools - Alternatives to EndNote
Mendeley is a free Web-based tool similar to Zotero, but it sets itself apart with a robust PDF annotating tool. Because Mendeley doesn't work within Google Docs, you would have to create a bibliography and copy it over to the document. Thus, Mendeley might be a great fit for those who use citation managers for personal projects but not for those participating in a lot of group work.

Do you know an article comparing Zotero to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.