Software Alternatives & Reviews

Wise Reviews

Currency exchange Banks and other providers could charge you up to 5% in hidden costs when sending ...

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Wise and what they use it for.
  • Opening a bank account
    If you are just needing a bank card that works but not tied to a Finnish bank. Wise allows you to hold multiple currencies at once with little to no fees. I set it up in the US and had my card in less than a week. Its worked on every trip I have been on including my recent trip to Helsinki. - Source: Reddit / 27 days ago
  • How to get inherited money from my American bank account to my foreign account? Should I just leave it in my American account?
    To my mind one of the more reputable and affordable services is Wise. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • What's the cheapest way to send money abroad from Israel?
    I have experience with wise. Extremely good rates and trustworthy. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Three Arrows Capital reportedly facing insolvency, crypto bubble is bursting
    As far as I can see, https://wise.com/us/ is in all ways a better way to simplify cross-border flows than crypto. When working with overseas teams, it is literally how they ask to be paid. - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • Safest way to transport cash internationally?
    It is far safer to use any means of electronic transfer you can. There are services specifically for transferring money electronically internationally. For example Wise.com (formerly TransferWise) is a good option with low fees. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Studying abroad in Belgium
    You can open an account on https://wise.com/us/. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • How can I avoid currency conversion fees from Paypal?
    There are some money transfer sites such as Wise, but those also charge fees, for conversion plus for the transfer, so probably aren't any more cost effective. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • An update on Cusco’s breeder from Ukraine, Svitlana: How you can help her family & poms (read in comments)
    So, Paysend worked fine for me - but others have had some trouble with it, including my partner. He shared this instructional on his instagram, he used a different service called Wise and got through successfully with that. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • The Best FB Groups to join for Freelance Writers (Find gigs on Facebook)
    Other services such as Dwolla, Transferwise, 2CheckOut, and Payoneer offer similar services at lower costs. The terms vary, and one can check for their preference on their sites. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Converting DFI to USD and spending on a debit card - USA Edition
    Download, Install, and register with Wise - sign up for debit card. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Wise

Best money transfer apps of 2021
TransferWise does also offer Business pricing, which adds in extra features that are free, including the ability to receive money in EUR, USD, GBP, PLN, AUD and NZD currencies without charge. However, this comes with a 0.33%-3.56% fee to convert currencies. The supporting TransferWise debit Mastercard comes free too, with the same currency conversion fee of 0.33%-3.56% plus a 2% fee of ATM withdrawals over £200...
Top 7 Wise Alternatives
Wise’s Multi Currency Account (review) and associated Wise card (review) (which works great as a travel money card) are especially useful to expats who need banking features in a new country to pay rent, buy groceries, or receive money like a local (Wise offers international bank details in 10 currencies).
5 Safe Money Transfer Alternatives to Wise
As a money transfer service, Wise (formerly known as TransferWise) is a transparent and easy to use option. But if you’re making an international money transfer, it can be worth looking at some of Wise’s competitors to see which is the best option for you.
Cross-border fintech startup Airwallex raises $100M at a valuation of over $1B
For now, the backing of its investors is allowing Airwallex to grow its business without needing to focus on making money. That’s proven tricky for some fintech companies — such as TransferWise and Europe’s challenger banks — but Zhang is confident that when that changes, his company will have little trouble being sustainable.

Do you know an article comparing Wise to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.