Software Alternatives & Reviews

Unity Reviews

The multiplatform game creation tools for everyone.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Good

    This is such a wonderful abd helpful game-making platform,even for the beginners. And i know and I've played in the several games ,for example,which were made so thoroughly and carefully and also simply by using “UNITY” . So the game quality is just a matter of the programmer's skill,i think.

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Unity and what they use it for.
  • Random Generator
    Well this is something which you can do in every programming language basically in 5-10 minutes (for example in c# in unity 3d: https://unity.com which I use). - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • I can't access any Unity websites in Australia.
    You don't have permission to access "http://unity.com/" on this server. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • i want to make my first 2d game, using opengl. So should i use OpenTK or LWJGL?
    If you want to write everything by hand and you want to work with C# get monogame it will take care of window, ogl/dx intialization for you. You will also gain primitive 2D drawing api. But if you can skip a lot of work by using full game engine like Unity3D or Godot. They will solve low level stuff for you like UI and Input mapping. - Source: Reddit / 24 days ago
  • Tutorial on creating a game like Vampire Survivors using Unity
    Just wanted to share this tutorial series here on how to create a game like Vampire Survivors using the Unity engine. The series is not finished -- more parts for it will be released in future. - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • Where to start with game programming?
    I feel like Unity will be a good first engine for you. It handles both 2D and 3D. It has huge community and a lot of resources. C# is the language you will learn with Unity. You can start for example here. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • How would I go about creating a point-and-click game like Myst or The 7th Guest?
    Unity: Unity's a game engine that's plumb popular fer makin' games of all sorts, includin' point-and-click adventure games. It's got all sorts of tools fer creatin' and managin' game assets, and a scriptin' language (C#) fer implementin' game logic. You can find out more about Unity right here: https://unity.com/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Heartstone on Console
    The OSX version of HearthStone uses the Unity engine, using the Unity/OSX version it is possible to get Hearthstone running on Linux without wine or similar compatibility/virtualization layers. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Just wondering what the best software for coding a 3D game with 8GB ram
    Lots of shops use Unity. I don't know what the minimum RAM requirements are for Unity. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • I'm programming a game and could use help on basically everything
    Unity is the most popular game engine and there are tons of resources about it. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • anyone here currently actually productive using Unity with PopOS?
    You mean the UNITY 3d Programing Environment? https://unity.com/. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Unity

15 Best Maya Alternatives
Unity is a real-time development platform; a 3D, 2D VR, and AR engine. Side by Side, the platform has more features than Maya. In addition to the game engine, the platform supports automotive, transportation, and manufacturing of real-time 3D models.
10 Best KeyShot Alternatives For Rendering 3D Models
Unity is a professional program for both object designers and game developers. It includes an extensive and useful library of assets and is powered by a fairly fast engine, so it can render even the most complex scenes in a quick way. The software is packed with excellent visual effects, so you can produce scenes to show how to use your 3D models. For example, it can be a coffee machine with steam coming out of it.
Trending 10 BEST Video Game Design & Development Software 2021
Unity offers an intuitive interface and the simplest platform for creating the very best AAA games. So, studios and experienced professionals will want to weigh the versatility of Autodesk with the simplicity of Unity.
Best Game Engines for Linux in 2021
Unity is the most popular game engine in the community. There are tons of successful and award-winning games on Google Play Store made with Unity. It is free to use and available for Linux.
Trending 7 Best Game Development Software 2021
ANS: Unity is free until your revenue is less than $100K in the last 12 months. If your revenue exceeds $100K in the last 12 months, then you have to purchase Unity pro by paying $1,800 per year.
The 12 Best Linux Desktop Environments
Unity is one of the most well-known versions of Linux desktop, a former default interface for Ubuntu. From Ubuntu 17.10, the GNOME desktop environment has become the default interface instead of Unity. Originally, Unity was developed for replacing the older version of GNOME. Unity is designed for the small screen with a space-saving Launcher and a Horizontal top menu feature. Still, it is less customizable as...
The Top 10 Video Game Engines
Out of all the pros and cons, Unity is the one game engine that has earned critical and user acclaim across the board. It’s possible to create nearly any type of game, including some of the best 2D games out there, using Unity, and it’s learning curve isn’t too bad.
Top 10 Mobile Game Development Tools For Intellectual Games
On the trail of studying the top 10 mobile game development tools, we found plenty of praises for the Unity game development platform. We dug into the deep and unearthed why it should be on the top for game development, and here you go.
11 tools to get you started making video games
Learning tools: Unity provides some free resources to help those new to the engine. But it provides a lot more under its Unity Learn Premium program including classes, tutorials, and even certifications. Unity Learn Premium is currently free until June 10th, 2020, but is normally $15 per month.
How to pick a game engine: Unity vs. Unreal
As far as Unity… I’m not a huge fan but still think it can work very well for many things. Another thing about Unity, you don’t need to use code to work with it. Use Playmaker or Bolt, both available in Unity’s asset store. But you don’t need to code with many engines these days… GameMaker has drag & drop as well as its own scripting language (GML), and the previously mentioned Construct and Clickteam Fusion are...
The Best 15 Mobile Game Engines / Development Platforms & Tools in 2020
Among the top Mobile Development engines we find Unity – a cross-platform tool launched by Unity Technologies. This platform helps you to create your own game using amazing 2D and 3D development features and work together with your team. Unity allows you to import assets from many 3D applications as Maya or Blender for example and it offers you a wide range of assets that can be purchased straight from their own...

Do you know an article comparing Unity to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.