Software Alternatives & Reviews

Unity Reviews

The multiplatform game creation tools for everyone.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Unity and what they use it for.
  • Non-video resources to learn Unity?
    You know what -- I hadn't seen that there's a text-based manual. Because all the obvious links from "learning" on unity.com lead to video tutorials. So I'd seen those and the API docs, but not discovered the manual. And you're right, it's really helpful and most of what I needed. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • Frozen Temple [20x36]
    Sure here's the link! https://unity.com/ It's not technically a map tool, it's a game engine, and it's 3d. It's actually meant for videogames, but it can work :). - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Looking for a specific map, please help
    How about you Try Google Earth Studios (https://www.google.com/earth/studio/) and follow this Tutorial if you like (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bb0HnaYNUx4). Hey Even Google Earth Works (https://earth.google.com/web/). Also, Read this Article for River (https://www.esri.com/arcgis-blog/products/product/mapping/make-a-river-map/) and use the software ArcGIS Pro... - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • How to stay motivated on projects
    I've built an anonymous polling application. I've built games using Unity. I've started building a e-commerce site for classic vehicles and parts. I've written a basic javascript game(which I've been told is great and should be put on the app store). I've written so much more than what is listed. But at one point or another, I decided to stop working on them. - Source: dev.to / 8 days ago
  • Unreal vs. Unity: Choosing the Best Gaming Engine
    The world of gaming engines is more democratized than ever before. Thanks to their low barrier to entry, Unreal Engine and Unity are now two of the most popular choices beloved by indie studios and AAA game developers alike. The low-to-no pricing structure of these game engines managed to revolutionize the industry in a matter of years, convincing large publishers to abandon their old engines and game devs to... - Source: dev.to / 12 days ago
  • GameMaker Studio 2 and Unity
    For this week, we will ask about Unity. - Source: Reddit / 16 days ago
  • Capcom's "MT Framework" game engine is considered to have a "proprietary" license. What does this mean?
    It means they don't use any of the free software licenses. It could be completely restricted for in-house use (like MT Framework, seemingly), or it can be licensed to anyone, with very welcoming terms, like Unity and Unreal. Notable free engines are Godot and O3DE, both available under MIT License. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • no hate or complaints here.... but let's just be honest
    Go on Unrealengine.com , unity.com or any other engine website, learn for a few years, talk with other people, and then look at this comment and see how stupid you are. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • In-Game Chat: An Intro to Text, Voice, & Video Messaging
    At the time of writing, Unity does not have a built-in chat solution capable of leveraging client-side networks to support chat within your game. While UNET is listed on the Unity website, it is deprecated. Unity is developing a replacement solution called MPLAI. It is currently in a pre-release stage with no official release date set. Suppose you are creating a game powered by the Unity engine. In that case, you... - Source: dev.to / 28 days ago
  • 2D Story Game engine recommendation
    You can also use Unity, which also has visual scripting but I'm not a huge fan of it myself because for me it feels very limited compared to regular scripting. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Unity

Trending 10 BEST Video Game Design & Development Software 2021
Unity offers an intuitive interface and the simplest platform for creating the very best AAA games. So, studios and experienced professionals will want to weigh the versatility of Autodesk with the simplicity of Unity.
Best Game Engines for Linux in 2021
Unity is the most popular game engine in the community. There are tons of successful and award-winning games on Google Play Store made with Unity. It is free to use and available for Linux.
Trending 7 Best Game Development Software 2021
ANS: Unity is free until your revenue is less than $100K in the last 12 months. If your revenue exceeds $100K in the last 12 months, then you have to purchase Unity pro by paying $1,800 per year.
The 12 Best Linux Desktop Environments
Unity is one of the most well-known versions of Linux desktop, a former default interface for Ubuntu. From Ubuntu 17.10, the GNOME desktop environment has become the default interface instead of Unity. Originally, Unity was developed for replacing the older version of GNOME. Unity is designed for the small screen with a space-saving Launcher and a Horizontal top menu feature. Still, it is less customizable as...
The Top 10 Video Game Engines
Out of all the pros and cons, Unity is the one game engine that has earned critical and user acclaim across the board. It’s possible to create nearly any type of game, including some of the best 2D games out there, using Unity, and it’s learning curve isn’t too bad.
Top 10 Mobile Game Development Tools For Intellectual Games
On the trail of studying the top 10 mobile game development tools, we found plenty of praises for the Unity game development platform. We dug into the deep and unearthed why it should be on the top for game development, and here you go.
11 tools to get you started making video games
Learning tools: Unity provides some free resources to help those new to the engine. But it provides a lot more under its Unity Learn Premium program including classes, tutorials, and even certifications. Unity Learn Premium is currently free until June 10th, 2020, but is normally $15 per month.
How to pick a game engine: Unity vs. Unreal
As far as Unity… I’m not a huge fan but still think it can work very well for many things. Another thing about Unity, you don’t need to use code to work with it. Use Playmaker or Bolt, both available in Unity’s asset store. But you don’t need to code with many engines these days… GameMaker has drag & drop as well as its own scripting language (GML), and the previously mentioned Construct and Clickteam Fusion are...
The Best 15 Mobile Game Engines / Development Platforms & Tools in 2020
Among the top Mobile Development engines we find Unity – a cross-platform tool launched by Unity Technologies. This platform helps you to create your own game using amazing 2D and 3D development features and work together with your team. Unity allows you to import assets from many 3D applications as Maya or Blender for example and it offers you a wide range of assets that can be purchased straight from their own...

Do you know an article comparing Unity to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.