Software Alternatives & Reviews

Uber Reviews

Uber is a website and mobile app that allows you to get a ride similar to a taxi service from your phone.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Uber and what they use it for.
  • PSA: GRT U-Pass Referendum from Jan. 24-26
    A relatively average Uber trip maybe ≈$10, one way. In fact, uber.com estimates the trip from Pub on King to Marshall street (for example) to be $9.00, one way. - Source: Reddit / 16 days ago
  • Has anyone had the manual identity check approved yet?
    I think the difference is that the selfie from the app, and by that I mean from within the help section, can also be done on uber.com. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • How early to get to IAD/Dulles airport for 6am flight without TSA precheck?
    I just checked going though uber.com website and rides are available. At least from Centreville, I have never had an issue getting a 4am ride to DCA or IAD. I don't know of a public transportation service I would trust other than calling a cab service to get you on time. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Uber was breached to its core, purportedly by an 18-year-old. Here’s what’s known
    I am so sick of these companies gathering info on us and then fucking everything up. One dope was too stupid to know he was logging in to uber.com and gave his credentials to a hacker. And someone with admin did this! - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Are brokers making a killing now? im coming from carrier and one of my buddies works for pepsi. He said they are killing it on the profit right now is it true?
    Is all of these tasks are manual - requiring a person to do it all? Is nothing digitized or automated? Like uber.com or booking.com ? - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Help with UE map (customer)
    Currently the pin is in a specific spot on the map however it's in the wrong place. I will try contacting Uber support for help. Makes no sense why it's correct on uber.com but wrong on ubereats.com. Go figure. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • System Design: The complete course
    Let's design an Uber like ride-hailing service, similar to services like Lyft, OLA Cabs, etc. - Source: dev.to / 6 months ago
  • I Got Offered $20k For Ride (dot) Co
    I'd take the 20 but also ask for $3-4k of preferred shares (non-dilutable) of their company at the most recent valuation. UGM sold uber.com for shares of uber that wound up being worth close to 100 million dollars at peak. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Anyone else have their profile pic upload sideways from their iPhone?
    It's a good thing I'm not spending time trying to locate my first weeks pay with them while spending more time posting a comment on Reddit because you can't obtain an actual phone number from their own native URL (uber.com) and their chat support says I'm 9th place in a cue somewhere. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • How much is an Uber/Lyft ride normally for 10-15 mins in SD?
    You can go to uber.com or the app, type in your starting & ending points, and get the pricing right now! - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Uber

Can ride-pooling service Via catch up to Uber and Lyft by being the friendly alternative?
Can ride-pooling service Via catch up to Uber and Lyft by being the friendly alternative?This month Via hit 50 million rides, versus Uber’s 10 billion and Lyft’s 500 million–but with much less of the vitriol, and productive relationships with the cities in which it operates. [Photo: courtesy Via] By Ainsley Harris4 minute ReadadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementAbout the...
Via Rideshare: Get Shared Rides for Less
Much like Uber and Lyft, Via may charge extra fees for drop-offs at special destinations (like Chicago’s Navy Pier), though you’ll always see these fees upfront before you ride. You can see real-time rates in your Via app. A $3 fee may also apply for no-shows and cancellations, which is actually $2 cheaper than Uber cancellation fees.
Uber, Lyft, Gett, Juno, and Via: Which of these 5 NYC taxi alternatives is right for you?
​Price: It varies; UberX has $2.55 baseline fare and is 35 cents/minute after that; UberXL has a base of $3.85 and then costs 50 cents a minute; UberBlack has a base of $7 and is 65 cents a minute; and UberSUV has a base of $14 and a per-minute rate of 80 cents. There's also UberTaxi—which simply flags down a regular yellow or green cab for you—and UberPool, which matches you with another nearby rider going in the...

Do you know an article comparing Uber to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.