Software Alternatives & Reviews

Uber Reviews

Uber is a website and mobile app that allows you to get a ride similar to a taxi service from your phone.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Uber and what they use it for.
  • Please Help - Cannot Request Ride
    Since ordering a ride on uber.com works, it must be something with my phone and/or the app? But I've deleted & re-added the app, to no avail. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • desperately need help - It wont let me tip, and my driver earned every bit of what I want to pay him.
    I cant find any telephone number or online chat on uber.com. PLease someone direct me to someone who can fix this for me. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Be wary of this possible scam. I didn't click, that link looks sus. Never click links guys!
    It's literally the domain at uber.com. That's their website, it isn't fake. It'd be one thing if it were a jumbled up tinyurl or whatever, but anytime it's their actual domain, don't be afraid to click. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • How do people pay for domains when they go for sale for millions?
    If you look at some of the biggest domain sales... snapchat.com; uber.com, gmail.com, wechat.com, twitter.com, SpaceX.com , Instagram.com, Chrome.com, Prime.com (sold to Amazon)... Their sales were all brokered via escrow.com . Escrow.com charges a fee to facilitate the transaction. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Roadmap for July
    He's coming with years of experience of having architected systems at Uber, Flock, Sumo Logic and was a founding engineer who helped design the cryptography primitives at Zeta. Someone of his caliber coming onboard means that we'll be able to ship nicer things faster. 🎉. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Rebranding Wichita
    When I venture to new cities, one of the things that I enjoy doing is branding the city. I come up with a cool kick off campaign, slogan, and catchy ideas I've generated based on my marketing research. My marketing research is getting to understand the city's history, the people that reside there, and the hope for the future. I move around the city and talk to people who have lived in that city all of their life.... - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Story of UBER
    In 2009, Camp began working on the ride hailing service as a side project and roped in Kalanick as a partner. They bought the domain Domain Registered at Safenames. After creating a working platform to hail rides, UberCabs had a beta launch in San Francisco with 3 luxury cars, in 2010. Platform businesses have a very interesting phenomenon called Network Effects. As the number of users on a platform increases,... - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Driving in another state
    Also note, some individual markets are closed to outside addresses (check uber.com for what local driving requirements are). - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • uber from denver airport to breck
    Looking for some advice. I land with my kids on Wednesday at the Denver Airport and I need to get to Breck. uber.com is saying I should order the uber upon arrival. I'm concerned I won't be able to get one and I will be stranded. Has anyone done this lately? Wondering how quickly you were able to get an uber all the way to Breck. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Uber

Can ride-pooling service Via catch up to Uber and Lyft by being the friendly alternative?
Can ride-pooling service Via catch up to Uber and Lyft by being the friendly alternative?This month Via hit 50 million rides, versus Uber’s 10 billion and Lyft’s 500 million–but with much less of the vitriol, and productive relationships with the cities in which it operates. [Photo: courtesy Via] By Ainsley Harris4 minute ReadadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementadvertisementAbout the...
Via Rideshare: Get Shared Rides for Less
Much like Uber and Lyft, Via may charge extra fees for drop-offs at special destinations (like Chicago’s Navy Pier), though you’ll always see these fees upfront before you ride. You can see real-time rates in your Via app. A $3 fee may also apply for no-shows and cancellations, which is actually $2 cheaper than Uber cancellation fees.
Uber, Lyft, Gett, Juno, and Via: Which of these 5 NYC taxi alternatives is right for you?
​Price: It varies; UberX has $2.55 baseline fare and is 35 cents/minute after that; UberXL has a base of $3.85 and then costs 50 cents a minute; UberBlack has a base of $7 and is 65 cents a minute; and UberSUV has a base of $14 and a per-minute rate of 80 cents. There's also UberTaxi—which simply flags down a regular yellow or green cab for you—and UberPool, which matches you with another nearby rider going in the...

Do you know an article comparing Uber to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.