Software Alternatives & Reviews

Toast Reviews

Built to make restaurants better. Toast gives your restaurant the technology you need to succeed in today's fast-paced environment.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Toast and what they use it for.
  • Japan: Depopulation a surefire formula for national ruin
    Even without robots, services like Toast can cut down the number of waiters needed by moving ordering & table service to smartphones. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Data science for small businesses / restaurants
    I think toast https://pos.toasttab.com/ does this for restaurants. They sell point of sale systems, but also back office software too. That enables them to collect all the data, then they provide analytics that is supposed to help the restaurant be more profitable. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Anyone familiar with ToastTab? Sales platform for restaurants that keeps ur data. Felt scammed.
    On Saturday I went to a bar where I needed to scan a QR code to order. I had to introduce -mandatory- my personal data. Pretty seemless tbh that was good, the bartender just arrives with your beer and chips, but the restaurant (or/and ToasTab) keeps all your data, including card no. https://pos.toasttab.com. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Google “hijacked millions of customers and orders” from restaurants,lawsuit says
    I think adding some murk is that some restaurants use third party order systems like by door dash via the generic: https://order.online/en-US/ A restaurant tried to call me about an order, but coming from a toll free number I ignored it. I asked them why they didn't have a local number. They could only call me back via the door dash number as my number wasn't provided to the restaurant. It was weird. Around... - Source: Hacker News / 7 months ago
  • Toast built a $30B business by defying Silicon Valley
    One of the few cloud-based solutions to get this bit right[1]: "Always available - 24/7 support, top-tier reliability, and full offline mode keep your restaurant moving." Does anyone know if Toast also enables downloading/backing up critical data in a parsable format in case something were to happen to them/your account/etc.? [1] https://pos.toasttab.com. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • Bring back menus QR codes are terrible
    I've had similar really good experiences, but it's probably just luck. The last place I went to they used https://pos.toasttab.com/. It was quick, easy, everyone at the table was able to pay for their own food without having to worry about dividing up the bill, it was easy to order additional items without having to wait for the waiter to come around, etc. And, fwiw, it didn't seem to affect the social aspect of... - Source: Hacker News / over 1 year ago
  • Found a new kitchen.
    Ticket times: Why are the ticket times so long? Perhaps the ticketing system is not up-to-par? There are tech savvy solutions such as https://pos.toasttab.com/ and I'm sure others that would solve that issue and other issues within restaurant. (Except the understaffing portion, noted later.). - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Has anyone tried Meal Kits or Meal Prep? Looking for some opinions before starting
    I've seen some restaurants use Toast (https://pos.toasttab.com/) for this as well. They generally switch to something more specifically built for meal prep once they start scaling up on orders. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Toast

Best Restaurant POS Systems For 2019
Toast may have the most electronic and socially-distanced ordering/payment options of any of the restaurant POS systems on our list. Dine-in features for COVID-19 include a self-ordering kiosk, NFC-friendly card readers, reservation management, and a QR code payment option that customers use to pay for their meal on their phone. For customers who want to stay home, Toast also has its own Toast Takeout App, which...

Do you know an article comparing Toast to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.