Software Alternatives & Reviews

start.me Reviews

A Modern-day bookmark manager. A place for your favorites. A news feed (RSS) reader. A browser startpage. A portal for your team.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about start.me and what they use it for.
  • Need Browse start page / extension manager suggestions.
    I really like how start.me works as it is URL based I can easily make it the default new tab and home page. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • App for bookmark managing on Chrome?
    I love start.me (https://about.start.me/) . - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Privacy respecting external bookmark managers?
    Is it start.me? If that is the case, I am concerned about their ads. When I go to my bookmarked URL, I notice that Instead of opening the bookmakred URL(e.x reddit.com ), my ADguard DNS server blocks this malicious site: redirect.start.me/xxxidealo.dexx . I know that you can block all these with Ublock but without it, oh no. - Source: Reddit / 12 months ago
  • Ask HN: How do you build your personal start page?
    My subscription to http://start.me has been worth every penny I pay for it. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • Could we have more than 12 tiles for favorite sites on the new tab?
    I'm using start.me. You can have more bookmarks and you can organize them in different groups. You can also sign in in different devices and use the same layout. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • All this talk of intrusive ads has made me realize...
    I use a different start page (start.me, you need a plug-in to use a different start page) in Edge, so no ads there either. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • SANS Cybertalent Aptitude Assessment:
    Google is your friend. Seriously, you don't need to be a Google-Fu master to search a question. There are an insane number of resources out there... So much so that people have started "Awesome" Github pages and they still miss still. There are https://start.me pages with tons of security stuff on them. Go out and self learn and drive your own path. What is good for one person might not be good for someone else... - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • My desired start page is not opening with Chrome and instead with the "basic" Chrome and a blank 2nd tab that says "What's New". How do I get back to my desired start page as both opening page and with each new tab.
    My desired opening page is start.me. Under Settings > On Startup, I have selected "Open a specific page or set of pages" and https://start.me/ is selected. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Does anybody know Nepali calendar app/browser extension for PC?
    Thanks I do use start.me but it never occurred to me. I used to spend whole day making icon for start.me. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Does anybody know Nepali calendar app/browser extension for PC?
    I use New tab page start.me extension as homepage on chrome and add hamropatro iframe as embed. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of start.me

15 Best Xmarks Alternatives For Bookmarks Synchronization
Start.me is an all-in-one service application. It provides users with a widget start page where they can configure various widgets of news, notes, RSS feeds, links, and many more, including email, calendar, weather, to-do list, etc.
3+ Best XMarks Alternatives For Bookmarks Synchronization Across Multiple Browsers
The drawback of Start.me is that it does not synchronize the browser bookmarks. You will need to add bookmarks inside the Start.me extension to synchronize with the Start.me account.

Do you know an article comparing start.me to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.