Software Alternatives & Reviews

Posteo Reviews

Web- and IMAP-based email service. 2GB cost 1€/month.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Posteo and what they use it for.
  • Ask HN: Why can't I host my own email
    There are sane email providers who do exactly this, for example Posteo — see question "Is there a spam folder" here: https://posteo.de/en. - Source: Hacker News / 19 days ago
  • alternatives to gmail
    RiseUp (requires invitation), Disroot, Infomaniak, Posteo, Mailbox.org, SDF, any of the tildes. I mostly use SDF with a MetaARPA subscription (allows remote SMTP), and Riseup. I do have a Disroot account, but mainly use that for XMPP. - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • Google is going to ban “less secure sign in method”
    I switched to posteo a while ago. I don't need much so it is 1€/month for me. https://posteo.de/en. - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • Those who don't use gmail, what's your preferred email service?
    Https://posteo.de/en. Fair, Safe, Secure, Adfree, Europe hosted, respects data privacy, not free of charge but worth the buck per month. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • GSuite email host alternatives with prices?
    Posteo - https://posteo.de/en Posteo you get an email and aliases for every country if you like https://posteo.de/en/help/which-domains-are-available-to-use-as-a-posteo-alias-address. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Why no love for posteo?
    In /r/privacytoolIO, before the move, I saw Posteo & mailbox.org recommended all of the time actually. I don't know about "no love". - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Ask HN: Protonmail Alternatives?
    An acquaintance tipped me to Posteo[1] which appears to be very privacy focused. One issue (for me) is that they don't (won't) do custom domains (for privacy reasons). Other than that it seems to be a very ideal solution for people who need that kind of paranoid set-up. [1]: https://posteo.de/en. - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • Email
    For 1 euro per month, you have Posteo, a great alternative. (https://posteo.de/en). - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Simple Email Account Set-up
    You can of course pair it with any email provider of your choice, and there is a lot of choice! The big names like Proton can be more expensive. There are cheaper options like https://posteo.de/en but I cannot speak for its privacy or security personally as I don't use it. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Tracking email ID in data breaches
    Anyway I do not use my personal email (https://posteo.de/en) for sign ups except for VPN or Threema something like that! - Source: Reddit / 12 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Posteo

CTemplar Email Shutting Down – Try These Alternatives
In a major blow to email privacy, a court ruled in 2019 that the private email provider Posteo can be forced to log user IP addresses for government agencies. Of course, this paves the way to even more logging and the erosion of privacy. ZDNet covered the situation in this article a few years ago.
Have a private email account
Use Fastmail, Posteo, Mailbox, or any similar service where you actually pay $1-$3 per month and in return get a completely ad-free spam-free wonderful email experience.

Do you know an article comparing Posteo to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.