Software Alternatives & Reviews

Pinboard

Pinboard is a personal archive for things you find online and don't want to forget.

As Pinboard is an open source project, you can find more open source alternatives and stats on LibHunt.
Pricing:

Pinboard Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • Pinboard Landing page
    Landing page //
    2021-10-16

Videos

Pinboard Bookmarking Review - Part 1

Using Pinboard to save your digital breadcrumbs as you read online

Pinboard Bookmarking Review - Part 2

Reviews

  1.  
    Simple but effective

    While all the other bookmarking sites have died, pinboard.in remains and is a reliable and handy place to save all those links you love but are sure to otherwise forget.

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Pinboard and what they use it for.
  • I Miss Human Curation
    The list of text links is basically what https://pinboard.in is, basically - social bookmarking. I only use it privately, but it does have the exact function you're talking about as well. I don't think I would use it with thumbnail previews, since I like how lightweight it is, but it wouldn't be difficult to build something like that. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • Linkhut: A Social Bookmarking Site
    Delicious[1] was delicous, and Pinboard[2] is just there. Not into bookmarks that much except for less than 10 significant websites. I might look at ArchiveBox[3] or something like it to bookmark and take a snapshot. Again, none of them as important as it used to be. 1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delicious_(website) 2. https://pinboard.in 3. https://archivebox.io. - Source: Hacker News / about 2 months ago
  • The Small Website Discoverability Crisis
    I'm using a similar service - https://pinboard.in to both managing my own bookmarks and to browse other users' public bookmarks of interest by tag or using built-in search functionality. Quite useful imo. I do remember so-called "Web Rings" and still think they were a nice idea (among others, passed away), and it seems to me, del.icio.us and then pinboard.in are one of a few options we still have to make smaller... - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • After more than 20 years, I published my first dirty project
    The categories of RSS feeds from my bookmarks service, Pinboard, were all concatenated to a single string instead of being displayed separately. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • Google Chrome pushes browser history-based ad targeting
    Https://pinboard.in is my go-to for this sort of thing. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Pocket: It gets worse the more you use it
    FWIW, for this use case of creating curated sets of web pages, I find that Pinboard (https://pinboard.in) works really well for this case. When researching a project I'll tag pages with the project id and other relevant tags I'm using (like "sdr" or "camping-gear") and then the search function can instantly give me the list of pages I was looking at. There was a greasemonkey script that would take the search... - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • I'm new to a DevOps role (it is also my first tech job). How do I get better at my job and set myself up for growth?
    Save lots and lots of notes. Use a bookmark manager and toss everything that might seem useful into it. I've been using pinboard.in for years. Source: 10 months ago
  • Pinboard.in integration would be fantastic
    I've used https://pinboard.in as my to-read list (as well as, uh, everything else) for more than a decade. Source: 10 months ago
  • Ask HN: Can I work on solo projects as a freelance dev?
    Yes, there are plenty of independent developers. Pinboard¹ is by a single person, as is Marginalia² or Overcast³. For the last one check the Under the Radar podcast⁴ where two solo developers discuss matters related to indie development. Or search HN⁵. ¹ https://pinboard.in/ ² https://search.marginalia.nu/ ³ https://overcast.fm/ ⁴ https://www.relay.fm/radar ⁵... - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • the bookmark situation is preventing me from switching to Arc (change my mind)
    No I mean the online bookmarking service Pinboard. I use a Chrome plugin to send sites to pinboard and use various apps or the website to search my bookmarks. Source: 11 months ago
  • Any alternatives to archive.today or web.archive.org in terms of saving webpage archives online?
    Pinboard - Social bookmark tool, with web archiving as a premium feature. Source: 11 months ago
  • Recs for a more causal version of a reference manager?
    There are various online bookmarking services that could accomplish this. I used pinboard.in for a few years, but there are other alternatives out there. With pinboard it's easy to bookmark and tag pages, and there's a 'read later' option you can tick to keep a list of what you want to read. Source: 11 months ago
  • Anyone running Espial bookmarking service? Having trouble with it in docker.
    Thanks so much, this is awesome. I got it running with your instructions, but then I couldn't get it to import my bookmarks file, so after numerous attempts I ended going with linkding instead. I was originally interested in espial because it's basically a clone of pinboard.in, which is what I've been using for a few years now, but linkding does everything it does, and it's slightly easier on the eyes. Thanks a... Source: about 1 year ago
  • How do you guys organize bookmarks on Arc?
    As I've been bouncing around a few browsers lately, I've finally found a reason to fully utilise my Pinboard.in bookmarks account. I have my Pinboard page as a Pinned page in Arc, which you can also split view. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Obsidian but for Web Browser Bookmarks???
    Try the pinboard web app https://pinboard.in/ ?Browser extensions for quick add. Taggable. Searchable. API access enables automated search, download, delete, modify, etc. A few lines of Python would enable you to create markdown files from individual bookmarks if you ever want to move from pinboard to obsidian. Source: about 1 year ago
  • My Bad Habit of Hoarding Information
    How is it different from https://pinboard.in (besides $1/ mo)? - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • Why Not Mars
    It’s great to see him posting again. For those who weren’t aware of the author before, check out the rest of his site – it’s all great stuff. He’s the founder and sole maintainer of Pinboard. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Solved Bookmarks
    So I pulled up my old pinboard.in bookmark service (totally forgot about my account), saved it as a Favorite in Arc for quick access, and that's the bucket where I save all my bookmarks now - stuff that I need once in a while but not daily. A quick tag search reveals all the websites that I need. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Any idea of a Bookmark app that just works?
    I use Pins and a subscription to https://pinboard.in , but this may be a different definition of ‘works’ than the one presumed here. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Ask HN: Successful one-person online businesses? (2022)
    Isn't https://pinboard.in/ run by one guy? - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • What tool do you use to store and organize important links?
    I am a long-time user of https://pinboard.in, and del.icio.us before that. It is great:. Source: over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Pinboard

Pinboard vs. Raindrop: Two bookmark apps enter…
I don’t think Pinboard’s added a feature in ten years. It certainly hasn’t added a feature useful to me in that space of time. A year or so ago I got some Twitter DMs from someone (not Cegłowski) indicating that a refactoring and new features were on the way, but I have heard nothing since and don’t particularly expect to. Its documentation is similarly stale, and so are its ancillary tools—don’t use the...
11 Pocket Alternatives You Must Try Out!
With this tool, you can organize your pile of links into a clean space. With an easy tag option, finding your bookmarks becomes easier with Pinboard.
XMarks is Dead on May 1st, 2018 : firefox
pinboard, $11/yr. It says it's a social bookmarking service but everything is private unless you make it public. I don't think bookmarking pages is done through the browser, though, but you can import your bookmarks and just use pinboard instead.
Del.icio.us is closing down. Time for a roundup of alternative bookmark managers.
And as of recent events it was sold again to competing service Pinboard which plans - as I've foreseen this - to shut it down almost completely. Today (June 15, 2017) it will be set to read-only mode without ability to save new bookmarks as to preserve the "fascinating piece of web history" that contains around 1 billion of bookmarks.

Do you know an article comparing Pinboard to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Generic Pinboard discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Pinboard. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.