Software Alternatives, Accelerators & Startups

MongoDB

MongoDB (from "humongous") is a scalable, high-performance NoSQL database.

MongoDB Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • MongoDB Landing page
    Landing page //
    2023-10-21

Badges & Trophies

Promote MongoDB. You can add any of these badges on your website.
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code

Videos

MySQL vs MongoDB

The Good and Bad of MongoDB

what is mongoDB

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about MongoDB and what they use it for.
  • DocumentDB Elastic Cluster Pricing
    Does anyone know if the most basic Elastic Cluster instance of DocumentDB carries any monthly fixed cost or is it just on-demand cost? Another words if I run like 10,000 queries against the DB per month, what kind of bill would I expect? This is for a super small app. I am currently using mongodb free tier , but want to migrate everything to AWS. Can't seem to find a straight answer to the pricing question. Source: over 1 year ago
  • I wrote some scripts for converting the UTZOO Usenet archive to a Mongo Database
    You can use either MongoDB.com's dashboard (if you host a remote database) or Mongo Compass to run queries on the data or you can modify the express middleware with your own queries. I'm still working on the API, so it's not very robust yet. I will update this when it is. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Is the internet off in Russia ?
    Mongodb.com and many other services that don't work with russians anymore. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Unable to POST, Strange HTTP Response
    If I go to mongodb.com, I can see that no data has been posted to the database. However, the logs DO show that my requests have been received. Source: over 1 year ago
  • MongoDB, Inc. gives your information to other companies
    I recently made an account on mongodb.com, and soon after, I saw checked my Facebook advertisement settings and saw that MongoDB was targeting me through "uploaded a list to target you". Very likely they sell or use your information on/to other platforms and companies too. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • If you wanted to make section with random quotes in your React application, how would you approach fetching the data?
    - Create your own database on Mongodb.com and fetch quotes from there. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Change Streams
    Otherwise, all the other instances of the application will fire (if I run the app on localhost, changes on the server will observed on localhost without this check). Thus exponentially increasing "writes" (they aren't writes as the data would be the same, but its traffic none the less). That's what I mean about the "watch happens on the database" which means I'm not watching the code locally (e.g. it's not handled... Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Error when building an offline version of MongoDB docs
    I've actually managed to do it today. The reason why I haven't done it before is because I had to login via mongodb.com to use their Jira. I hope they respond! Source: about 2 years ago
  • Ask HN: Who is hiring? (March 2022)
    MongoDB | SE3/Senior Software Engineer, Query | Full-time | $180-300k+ (total comp, negotiable) | NYC, Chicago, or Remote (North America only) | https://mongodb.com MongoDB started as a NoSQL document database, but we are growing into a data platform with sophisticated support for transactional, analytics, full-text search, and time-series queries at huge scale. This opening is specifically for my Database Query... - Source: Hacker News / over 2 years ago
  • Notiger - Get realtime notifications on events from your application
    After creating a notiger account, you create a project. Each project can have streams that will receive the events. When an event is received, it is stored in a database, MongoDB in this case and a notification is pushed to all devices with notifications enabled that the user has. - Source: dev.to / over 2 years ago
  • Lovenotes - MongoDB Hackathon Submission
    This project was bootstrapped with Create React App Designed using the effluent Chakra UI and powered by MongoDB. - Source: dev.to / over 2 years ago
  • Docket - A simplified and minimalist ToDo App
    Hello There! I am Tharun and I am really happy to present to you the Docket. (You guessed it, a ToDo App). It is powered by the beloved react with node as the backend doing all the heavy lifting and ofcourse, one of the well thought out and most awesome nosql database out there our very favorite MongoDB storing all the app's data. - Source: dev.to / over 2 years ago
  • Why Use MongoDB and When to Use It?
    MongoDB is a documents database that is used to create high-availability and scalable web applications. Thanks to its modular schema method, it's trendy among teams of developers who employ agile methodologies. Moreover, with the drivers for all the major software languages, MongoDB permits you to start developing your application without configuring databases instantly. - Source: dev.to / over 2 years ago
  • Migrating your SQL Database to MongoDb
    In this article you are going to learn how to migrate your Relational database(MySQL, MariaDb etc) to Non-relational database like MongoDb. - Source: dev.to / over 3 years ago
  • Please upvote for an official MongoDB driver for Dart
    How does this have 110 upvotes on reddit but only 25 on mongodb.com lol ... You guys..!! Source: over 3 years ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of MongoDB

Announcing FerretDB 1.0 GA - a truly Open Source MongoDB alternative
MongoDB is no longer open source. We want to bring MongoDB database workloads back to its open source roots. We are enabling PostgreSQL and other database backends to run MongoDB workloads, retaining the opportunities provided by the existing ecosystem around MongoDB.
16 Top Big Data Analytics Tools You Should Know About
The database added a new feature to its list of attributes called MongoDB Atlas. It is a global cloud database technology that allows to deploy a fully managed MongoDB across AWS, Google Cloud, and Azure with its built-in automation for resource, workload optimization and to reduce the time required to handle the database.
9 Best MongoDB alternatives in 2019
MongoDB is an open source NoSQL DBMS which uses a document-oriented database model. It supports various forms of data. However, in MongoDB data consumption is high due to de-normalization.
20+ MongoDB Alternatives You Should Know About
If you’re not ready for a major migration effort, there is one more solution for you – Percona Server for MongoDB. Based on MongoDB Community, and enhanced by Percona with Enterprise Features, Percona Server for MongoDB offers 100% compatibility. As we wrote in a previous post, we commit to shipping a supported AGPL version until the situation around SSPL is clearly resolved.

Do you know an article comparing MongoDB to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

MongoDB discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about MongoDB. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.