Software Alternatives & Reviews

Linode Reviews

We make it simple to develop, deploy, and scale cloud infrastructure at the best price-to-performance ratio in the market. Sign up to Linode through SaaSHub and get a $100 in credit!

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Linode and what they use it for.
  • What is the cheapest VPS Hosting?
    I have an 11 GB VPS with Windows on it, and it’s running perfectly. I 100% recommend this hosting, because of it’s pricing and support. I give $8.25 a month for an 11 GB VPS. Which would cost up to $55 a month on popular hosting providers like, Linode, Vultr, and Digital Ocean. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • question for any linode users
    Anyone that hosts a server using the cloud provider linode.com Do you encounter any limits regarding the CPU speed? - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Linux OS
    One of my best recommendations is to spin up a linux server in the cloud, you can do it for free for a few months from linode.com for example. Setting up an online server for a game you like playing can also be a rewarding learning experience for networking and Linux in general. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • A2, Krystal, 20i, Brixly or Mechanicsweb. Best one for resellers?
    Then you can buy a VPS from linode.com, katapult.io, contabo.com or hetzner.cloud, I'd recommend a 4gb VPS, and in order to run, it has to be over 2gb. For the OS, choose AlmaLinux or a supported version of CentOS. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • An 'unlimited' web host has been deleting my files without any notice or warning..
    Use VPS, don't use shared web hosting when you generate content as it tends to use lots of resources like RAM, CPU %, and storage. I'd recommend hetzner.com, contabo.com, or linode.com. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Out of curiosity : What hosting you are using to host database and API.
    A cheap $5 VPS on linode.com running Docker (with my api, admin site, mongo, and redis) - that's just my test environment though. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • A physical server
    Couple of months ago, I rented a small shared CPU server on linode.com (the smallest package that they had, 1GB ram, 25GB storage only). It was located in Germany and I could access my server using PuTTy (I'm using windows). I used the server to run a python server code that would receive information from players (string of characters), store that information in a text file and send it back to players whenever... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Monkey
    Having any debian server should be good for Blacket. If you don't know where to start, I would recommend Linode for beginners. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Hi! Is it ok to have the server location of your hosting in a different country and use a content delivery network? When your visitors are mostly locals.
    For a UK shared host, I'd recommend: https://krystal.uk, for a UK vps, I'd recommend: https://linode.com or https://katapult.io. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Looking for webhosting that supports multiple sites that can mix Php and .Net core
    Https://linode.com and https://hetzner.com (herzner is cheaper) are both good and cheaper than azure. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Linode

Best Vultr Alternatives and Competitor Cloud Services of 2022
Do you prefer to have a command line or terminal access to your virtual machine? If so, Linode would be an excellent option for you. Their plans are also similar to Vultr with the almost same configuration. Linode offers a simple CLI feature to manage your cloud instance using shell commands.
Top 7 Best VPS Hosting Services 2021
Linode is also among the best VPS hosting companies. They are in this business since 2003. All of their VPS plans are backed by SSD Storage. With Intel E5 Processor and 40Gbit network, your website is sure to get blazing speed. You can also choose from the data center according to your need.
Top 5 Alternatives to Vultr
Selecting hosting and server management is not all about getting these services. It is also about the quality of these services. Reliability and a well-performing platform are also requirements, and Linode is the server services platform that fulfills all of these requirements.
The 10 Best DigitalOcean Alternatives of 2021
Linode is a name you’re probably already familiar with as the company has been around for over 15 years now. This company is seen by many as DigitalOcean’s closest direct competitor and it’s easy to see why. Linode primarily targets developers as well and all its cloud hosting plans are unmanaged so there are clearly some big similarities between DigitalOcean and Linode.
The Amazon Premium
The effect is even more pronounced once you consider that for $40/month, Linode and DigitalOcean provide four cores rather than two and SSD disks rather than HDD (or EBS).
$10 VPS Showdown - June 2018 - DigitalOcean vs. Linode vs. Vultr
Vultr excelled in a lot of ways this month, I suspect because of the CPU upgrade but still fell short to Linode’s memory (read/write) performance.
Linode vs DigitalOcean Performance, Benchmarks, Uptime & Network Speed Comparison
Linode has been in the hosting game a little longer, having been established in 2003, and they are recognized in the industry as pioneers of cloud computing. Linode is a classic model of an IaaS, or Infrastructure as a Service. With an IaaS, you essentially rent the server and network resources from the provider.Started in 2011 with humble beginnings, DigitalOcean has quickly grown into one of the world’s largest...
VPS Showdown - January 2018 - DigitalOcean vs. Linode vs. Vultr
DigitalOcean may have taken the fil I/O but it’s worth nothing that Linode and Vultr both performed consistent across each server instance while DigitalOcean had one instance that performed wildly better than the other two (bringing up the average considerably).
VPS Comparison 2018: Vultr vs. Digital Ocean vs. Linode vs. SSD Nodes
Are you looking for a new virtual private server (VPS) in 2019? As with every year, the VPS hosting landscape changed a lot by the end of 2018, with a handful of arriving and departing players. There’s new features, new pricing structures, and entirely new technologies (NVMe!). We have plans a-plenty to write up comprehensive VPS comparisons for a bunch of these new contenders, but for now, it’s time to dive into...
Top Five Alternatives to Amazon AWS Cloud
Right off the bat, all Linode servers are powered by SSD’s. Secondly, all Linode servers are billed by the hour and the month. Thirdly, all Linode servers can be deployed in less than a minute. Fourthly, the cheapest Linode SSD Cloud server runs $10 per month and the most expensive runs $960 per month.

Do you know an article comparing Linode to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.