Software Alternatives & Reviews

Kickstarter Reviews

Kickstarter is the world's largest funding platform for creative projects. A home for film, music, art, theater, games, comics, design, photography, and more.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Kickstarter and what they use it for.
  • What do you do with a deck that just won't shuffle well?
    For inspiration, you'll be amazed how many great decks are available—at a fraction of Tarot prices. Check out rareplayingcards.com and ellusionist.com and even kickstarter.com for new campaigns. There's also a Reddit: r/playingcards worth seeing. And incredible range of themes & designs are available. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Imagine the noise taking off!
    "Visit kickstarter.com to get in on the ground floor of this amazing opportunity.". - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • "The Sumo Thermos" - Fun Yet Functional Design That Will Donate Portion of Proceeds to Sumo Preservation. Please look for us on Kickstarter for more info!
    If I go to kickstarter.com and search "Sumo Thermos" it pops up. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • At my wits end, trapped
    It's been a long search for what I'm passionate about. It's actually what I did when I was a kid, reading sci fi and comics. But my parents didn't encourage me on that path so I deviated living in their expectations. Today, no more. I'm creating a website similar to kickstarter.com and I'm gonna make CG animation and films of sci fi. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • We just launched pxl.to! A link shortener for kickstarters, creators and marketers
    You can also connect your own domain to create branded links (like yourproject.com instead of kickstarter.com). - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Hello All. I have a very important question to ask about investors. Help would be appreciated.
    Hi have you tried kickstarter.com this might be a good start. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • XCHLABS.com somebody wants to help buy & build it?
    Hi. We have multiple product ideas and lots of ideas, but it's proving difficult to start as we do not have a lot of time or resources. And I think there are more people out there who feel the same. So this idea is about finding collaboration I guess for (open source) chia related projects. It could grow to like a kickstarter.com or juicebox.money but at first it would be just a place to join projects, discuss... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Is a Formatted / Readable version worth the effort?
    OMG, that is SO much more readable. Is it worth the effort? How many people would read it that would otherwise not read the original? Hard to tell. You could use kickstarter.com to start a project, not to make huge profits, but more to gauge interest, If 100 people commit to $10 for a completed copy, well that might tell you it is worth your mostly volunteer effort. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • What to give investors instead of equity?
    Are you selling a product? You could try funding your business by creating pre-orders via kickstarter.com. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Lackluster Kickstarter
    I think this is a link to your actual page which is not shared. It currently takes me to just kickstarter.com. There should be a way to link to the preview page. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Kickstarter

12+ Brilliant Patreon Alternatives to Monetize Your Audience
Kickstarter helps breathe life into projects. It’s ideal for films, music, arts, theaters, games, comics, designs, photography, and so on.
6 Patreon Alternatives for Your Startup in 2019
Kickstarter is a global crowdfunding site that started in 2009. Like Patreon, there are plenty of Kickstarter competitors on the market, but it still boasts over 16.3 million backers and $4 billion in pledges.
10 Best Patreon Alternatives
Kickstarter is a more exclusive platform compared to Patreon, so small-time creators may want to carefully consider this before they join. However, it has had more than 186,000 projects successfully funded by the end of 2019 and more than $5.1 billion in pledges, making it a worthy alternative to Patreon.
Kickstarter vs. Indiegogo – A Creator’s Perspective
Our last Kickstarter campaign for Clapboss flopped and we were a little bitter. I don’t blame Kickstarter itself but I have a relationship with one of the hardware managers there and he totally dropped the ball on us. The campaign likely wouldn’t have fared much better but he had made promises to us for support but instead went radio-silent. After the fact we heard that the KS editorial team didn’t like the style...

Do you know an article comparing Kickstarter to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.