Software Alternatives & Reviews

Hamachi Reviews

Hamachi is a VPN service scaled to the unique needs of business owners.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Hamachi and what they use it for.
  • Radarr on M1 Mac Mini
    I also use Hamachi to provide secure remote access to my Plex / Sonarr / Radarr server when I'm out and about. That allows me to add new TV shows and movies from my iPhone. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • Methods of securing open port
    You might even consider Hamachi. It was one of the original P2P VPN solutions, created way back in 2004. I think it became very popular precisely for gaming between friends. Hamachi is also known as LogMeIn, the company that acquired it. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • [Online] [PF2e] PF2e Group looking for two(2) more players to join on our adventure!
    Regarding on playing, we use Discord for Voice Chat and the platform we play on is Foundry VTT. I do also want to specify that if you are willing to join you would also need to get VPN.net - Hamachi. But if you are willing and having problems with anything technical I will be more than happy to help you. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • OmniEdge – an Open source P2P layer 2 VPN infrastructure based on n2n protocol
    Reminds me of Hamachi VPN from ~15 years ago. https://vpn.net/. - Source: Hacker News / 4 months ago
  • Would QC with a higher tick rate be more playable?
    Unfortunately, I do not have enough knowledge myself to be able to say that I am a network expert. However, I and my friends know how to tune our computer hardware and router to achieve maximum performance. Many of my friends live in the Netherlands like me, two live in Belgium and one lives in Italy and another in East Germany. From East Germany, QC seems to be playable. But he does not like to play without us.... - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Can we remote connect to a Linux computer without knowing the IP address?
    If you can get hamachi from vpn.net running on it as a service, that might help out. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! Legacy Format - Play as Your Favorite Anime Characters!
    All you'll need to do to play is download the deck and expansions folders here and put them in the root folder of your Project Ignis application. Then, if you want to play with a friend who you are not on the same Wi-Fi Network as, you'll have to create a Hamachi server using this application. It is incredibly easy to make a Hamachi server and you can do it in a few minutes. Just "Create a Network," give it a... - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • So I tried connecting and playing with my friend on my game using the free Photon 2 PUN for my networking. He lives in a city a 30mins drive from me and we couldn't connect to the same lobby. However using two personal android phones, I could connect and play with myself, what am I missing here?
    If you are hosting the server on your own computer, you will need to port-forward or use something like LogMeIn Hamachi to let external computers connect directly to yours. - Source: Reddit / 12 months ago
  • What are some of the best games you've ever played??(Only console and pc)
    I used to play by using some VPN tunneling software, nowadays I have started using steam. It was some 120 rs or something in an offer https://vpn.net/ Hamachi was the software I used to play. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Play with friends without server or LAN (Java)
    There is a way to get around not having the same internet connection. There is a (free) Programm called Hamachi , which simulates a LAN connection between two or more computers. There are a few great tutorials out there how to set it up (it is pretty easy). - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Hamachi

15 Best Hamachi Alternatives for Gaming in Virtual LAN (Latest 2021)
15 Best Hamachi Alternatives for Gaming in Virtual LAN:- Hamachi is a very famous VPN particularly used for gaming within a Local Area Network. Hamachi act as a connection between the computers with its powerful LAN connection and features. This software helps multiplayer gamers play LAN games efficiently.
11 Best Hamachi Alternatives for Virtual LAN Gaming
Well, Hamachi does just that. It’s a virtual LAN connector that emulates a LAN connection using your internet and makes your computer think that it’s connected to the other PCs via LAN. But Hamachi also comes with its own shares of problems. The most common being the driver related issues that most users seem to have with Hamachi. It also doesn’t include any other features apart from virtual LAN. But here not,...
22 Alternatives To Hamachi For VPN & Virtual LAN Gaming!
Hamachi seems to be the most effective but there are other options that can favorably fit into its role, relying on our survey of the alternatives available to Hamachi, we have come up with the best alternatives to Hamachi for you.
Top 13 Hamachi Alternatives for Virtual LAN Gaming
We hope our list of Hamachi alternatives will come handy to you and enhance your multiplayer gaming experience. Although there are a number of programs like Hamachi, we tried covering the most stable and reliable ones. In case, you know a good Hamachi alternative that we missed mentioning here, feel free to let us know in the comments section below.
Top 10 Hamachi Alternatives for Virtual LAN Gaming
That being said, Hamachi does come with its own drawbacks. The biggest one being that on a free account, a specific Virtual LAN can only have 5 clients at most, including the host as well. Furthermore, users have been experiencing a lot of lag and latency spikes. It really destroys one’s gaming experience. In my experience, when I host my own server using port forwarding, my friends get a ping of 20-30 ms,...

Do you know an article comparing Hamachi to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.