Software Alternatives & Reviews

Goodreads Reviews

See what your friends are reading.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Goodreads and what they use it for.
  • [New Release] Dungeon in the Clouds
    I fixed your goodreads.com page. Added missing details and fixed a mistake. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • I need help remembering the name of a book
    I am finally creating a goodreads.com account to track all of the books I've been reading and listening to. There was a book I read about 13 years ago and it was titled something like "Lonnie Garner was Here". It was about a boy in high school who was bullied and I think his friend was an angel or something. I remember loving this book and I tried looking up the title on Good Reads as well as Google and tried a... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Just finished The Martian by Andy Wier, and I loved it more than I thought I would
    Nice! If you didn't know you can keep a list of books you read and like on goodreads.com and it will recommend books like those. It's the main way I find new content. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Goodreads Help
    Note, I can confirm the from address is [[email protected]goodreads.com](mailto:[email protected]goodreads.com). Providing in case need to make sure that is in your safe senders list as it is not simply @ goodreads.com. But again, I would think if this was happening, they would be going to your junk folder. Plus, I would think others of us on Yahoo would be seeing similar issues from GoodReads communication to our Yahoo... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • How do you keep track of upcoming volumes to your existing LN's?
    It'd be nice to have an automated update though. At the moment Amazon will sometimes inform me of new titles in a series but, as you mentioned, it's not reliable. Perhaps goodreads.com has some better options. It's also synced with your amazon account so that works well if you use amazon. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Would their be copyright on a quote I found randomly on Instagram?
    Not a dumb question, and something to pay attention to as I recently learned the hard way. As a motivational post we used this quotation: "“You can't go back and change the beginning but you can start where you are and change the ending.” The quotation was attributed to C.S. Lewis, as per information from goodreads.com, which I have always found to be reliable. Turns out there is a controversy about this... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Looking for a book (a light read) on Scandinavian values, lifestyle, and culture
    Something that gives a high-level overview of Scandinavian value systems and lifestyle. Similar to Meik Wiking's hygge book (that got mixed reviews on Goodreads.com so I didn't bother buying it though points to the visuals and aesthetic of the book). - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • The day meditation actually started working for me was the day I needed it the most
    Thank you! I believe I may have read The Power of Now years ago. I appreciate the rec for Tattoos on the Heart, that sounds like an inspiring read. I will be picking this one up. It has a 4.48 rating on goodreads.com. Thanks again! - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Suggest me a sci-Fi Book that’s not people killing each other in space
    (Links are to goodreads.com. No affiliate links used). - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • What is something you accomplished this year that you’re proud of but don’t have anywhere to share?
    And as a final tip, make a goodreads.com profile (readers "social" network) you can select the books you want to read in 2023 and track your progress :). - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • How do you search for books to read, if you want to get to know some valuable and interesting stuff that sits outside the classics and the acclaimed?
    All these responses are great. I'll add this one: browse small presses for their offerings. If one of their books tickles you, google it for reviews. You can usually find some helpful info on goodreads.com. This also helps struggling writers. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Today's Influencer Culture is Awful at Literary Criticism.
    Then the issue seems to be with goodreads.com and not the existence of critics. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Book Suggestions with Grade for 2023
    I suggest taking your list over to a site like http://goodreads.com or http://thestorygraph.com, plugging it in and using their “similar reads” search feature. Similarly, http://literature-map.com can help you find authors with similar styles. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Book Suggestions with Grade for 2023
    I suggest taking your list over to a site like http://goodreads.com. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • A question about "And then there were none" different versions
    In goodreads.com there are a lot of versions of the book, one called "And then there were none" with 264 pages, and one with the old polemic title which has 167 pages. Does anybody knows what are the differences between these? Why one has 100 less pages if they supposedly are the same book? No spoilers please, I'm a first-time reader, thanks. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Do people still have an interest in reading books?
    Check out goodreads.com or Amazon's book reviews. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • I finished reading a book for the first time in over 7 years, and I'm embarrassingly proud of myself for it.
    I've found goodreads.com to be super useful as an adult, whenever I hear of an interesting book I add it there and if I'm bored I just search out a few books on my 'want to read' list. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Tips on how to think of a design for my side project?
    P.S. I'm making a book cataloguing website like Goodreads. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Fantasy book review: hello writers✍️🧐
    You can go on goodreads.com and use their beta readers forum and can also do a book swap with someone else on there. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Newbie questions
    I just joined a couple of days ago also and I'm so confused. When you say you were able to see Additional Items right away...where do you see them??? Items are showing up in your RFY? I went looking for the Vines group on goodreads.com too, but couldn't find it (sigh). I consider myself pretty computer savvy, but right now I'm feeling pretty Amazon stupid right about now. LOL Any guidance would be... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Newbie questions
    FYI, fellow newbies, there is a Vines group on goodreads.com that also answers a lot of questions about this program. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago

Do you know an article comparing Goodreads to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.