Software Alternatives & Reviews
Text Editors IDE Software Development

CotEditor Reviews and details

CotEditor Landing Page
CotEditor Landing Page

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about CotEditor and what they use it for.
  • Software Developer Mac Apps
    CotEditor, which is like TextEdit except actually useful for non-text documents (e.g. I write a lot of Markdown in it). Source: 22 days ago
  • What are your favourite apps?
    CotEditor - Plain text editor but with many more features and a clean macOS UI. Absolutely a must-have for basic file editing (e.g. Markdown). Source: 2 months ago
  • Getting my first MacBook today (been PC for 25 yrs) and planned on using the native apps - any suggestions on 3rd party downloads?
    Some recommendations: - Find a better mail client, the default is archaic. - ProtonVPN truly speaks for itself. - AdGuard For Safari is unbeatable. - The Unarchiver, for all your unzipping needs. - Infuse or INAA for video media. - CotEditor for your coding/text editing. - Rectangle for app window snapping. - LuLu stops unauthorized outgoing connects. - Do Not Disturb, if you leave it unattended... Source: 3 months ago
  • MacOS alternatives to Atom
    As others gave mentioned VSCode is probably the best replacement but for something less overkill I often use CotEditor. It’s downloaded via the App Store but is free, open source, apple silicon ready and also has a command line helper tool. Https://coteditor.com. Source: 4 months ago
  • What’s your notepad++ alternative for mac?
    CotEditor Has tabs, syntax highlighting, etc. Lightweight. Source: 8 months ago
  • What is the Notepad++ of MacOs?
    Or of course https://coteditor.com. Source: 8 months ago
  • How would I get a TextEdit file to stop saving as .txt and instead as .html
    For any kind of basic text and code editing I use CotEditor. It's free, has useful functions and syntax highlighting for almost anything. It's more lightweight than Atom/Brackets.io and thus way faster. Source: 11 months ago
  • text apps
    CotEditor is imo the best text editor I've ever used other than vim, but fortunately kindaVim integrates with it smoothly, so. Source: 11 months ago
  • Rust Editors to Replace TextMate 2
    As someone who just recently, as in last weekend, came to the same conclusion to leave textmate behind after 15 years service, this article is a bit redicoulus but I ended up with a split between CotEditor for simple formats and CodeRunner for LaTeX and R that requires code execution and have so far been pleasently surpriced with CotEditor but havent had a lot of time to use CodeRunner yet. Source: 11 months ago
  • Help! This was somehow imported to my phone as a note. Can someone please tell me how to read it or revert it back into whatever it’s supposed to be
    Luckily, there are plenty of code editors out there and some are free. If you don't know any, try CotEditor. You can choose which encoding scheme it will use in File > Open menu. Source: 11 months ago
  • TextEdit alternatives?
    Yes, CotEditor. Been using it for years to quick edit files. Source: about 1 year ago
  • Mac Apps That You Have Been Using For Long Time
    CotEditor - Wanted a really simple text editor which saves previous opened files when closed - So I use it for very quick braindumps or when I need to take notes quickly. Source: about 1 year ago
  • CodeEdit: Building a free, open-source code editor for macOS
    CotEditor (https://coteditor.com) is a well written, open-source (https://github.com/coteditor/CotEditor), lightweight, native (Swift), lightweight plain-text editor that many Chinese, Japanese, and Korean developers love to use. I highly recommend it. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • CotEditor - Very versatile and Open Source
    I switched to CotEditor from Sublime. It is very versatile and great. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Good open-source alternatives to essential paid Mac apps
    Coteditor is a lightweight text/code editor with support for "50 pre-installed major languages like HTML, PHP, Python, Ruby or Markdown". Source: over 1 year ago
  • Text editor to change encoding
    Not sure if it's the best text editor out there. CotEditor works well, and it’s free. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Writing app for MacOS
    Maybe too minimum for you, but I've used CotEditor to write for years. Source: over 1 year ago
  • De-duplicate app
    But unless you're making automation scripts, you really don't need to do everything in command-line. You can always find a code editor to do all what you want (including delete duplicated lines), such as BBEdit, CotEdit (https://coteditor.com) or Visual Studio Code with DupCheck (https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=jianbingfang.dupchecker) mod. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Does a TEXT ONLY editor exist for MacOS?
    The second branch is called "plaintext editor" or "code editor". As its name implies, it's designed for coding. The mainstream code editor are IDE-like with mods/plugins to expand functionality, such as Visual Studio Code, Sublime Text, Atom, and enterprise level IntelliJ and PyCharm. There are also basic code editor with fundamental features, such as BBEdit, TextMate and CotEdit (https://coteditor.com). And of... Source: almost 2 years ago
  • I'll be switching to Mac today - my laptop is old and buying a Macbook is cheaper than buying a premium Windows laptop in Brazil. I'm freaking out a little bit and need to help regarding some features that I use daily and I'm not sure if they are available on MacOs. Can anyone help me?
    CotEdtior and BBEdit are similar simple text editors. Sublime Text, VSCode, and such have Mac versions as well. There's also a mac exclusive text editor called Nova that's also worth a look. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Do characters receive equal space in TextEdit?
    Code editor is useful even you aren't coding. I'd recommend CotEditor (https://coteditor.com). It's tiny, simple, fast, easy to use, and free. Source: almost 2 years ago

Do you know an article comparing CotEditor to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Generic CotEditor discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about CotEditor. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.