Software Alternatives & Reviews

Blender Reviews

Blender is the open source, cross platform suite of tools for 3D creation.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Blender and what they use it for.
  • Tried some renderings, what do yall think?
    Check out my renders made completely with blender.org,. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • I try to use an add-on for blender and it shows Python Errno-13, how can I fix this? I'm on Manjaro Linux BTW.
    I would try a download from blender.org to make sure it isn't a snap issue. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • I just realized I want to be an animator and I’m still pretty young I animate on animation desktop does anyone have any tips. I want to start taking this seriously. Nothing that involves money… yet.
    "Learn Blender" seems to be a common response these days to questions like this and I think it's probably a good way to go. Blender does a lot, and there's a huge amount to learn within it, and all of that learning more or less is transferable to other tools as you become proficient and knowledgeable. Best of all, Blender is free. - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • Pakistan 🇵🇰 India 🇮🇳 great memes funny conflict
    How did you put them in blender? Is it good quality tho? - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • "Piracy is a service problem", I guess that's true because the offline experience with the Steam Deck has pushed me to piracy.
    Valve itself is not forcing anything (just look at Blender on Steam for example, it is 1:1 exactly the same binary as you get from blender.org, no DRM whatsoever). - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • I made this turtle house.
    Well, I assumed you'd know as most people I've met have heard about it. And even if you didn't, there's the fact that it says "Blender is an awesome open-source software for 3D modelling, animation, rendering and more. Get it for free at blender.org" literally right to the left of this video that you watched, so I'd assumed you would figure out that this was animated even if you didn't already know what Blender is. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • What version of Blender should I use if I am just starting out?
    Make sure it IS blender.org and not some close spelling, there are scams about. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • This is a problem
    Null.blender.org and Blender.org would give you the same host. The domain for both is blender.org. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • You should thank that you're still part of everyone's pipelines.
    No, Blender is an Open Source software. The source code is available for everyone to view and modify. It's not a closed source software to buy source code. I am not a legal expert and don't know whether it is possible to buy Blender.org. Even if that's possible they only buy the organization, the Source code of Blender will still be under open-source licensing. Somebody will fork Blender and open-source... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Workbench I made
    I'd not heard of blender.org I shall investigate though, cheers for that. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Blender

Top 15 free interior design software and tools in the year 2022
Blender is simple to use and includes 3D rendering, photorealistic animations, simulation creation, and other capabilities for a real-time effect. Isn't it fantastic to have a high-resolution 3D representation of your design concepts? With a little effect, you can see your room layout, space planning, and all of your design ideas.
Affinity Alternative
Software developed with input from artists, students, animators, scientists, and other professionals, Blender is free and can meet all your graphic design, 3D modeling, animation, and video game development needs.
15 Best ZBrush Alternatives 2022
Are you an engineer, architect, product designer, or visual entertainer? Do you want to learn how to create three-dimensional models and animations? If so, consider the Blender suite supports the entirety of the modeling pipeline, including:
15 Best Sketchup Alternatives 2022
A unique tool Blender feature is the Grease Pencil Object. With this tool, you can carry out freehand drawing in the 3D space. If you are skilled in 2D, you will find Blender easy to use because it facilitates 2D and 3D designing.
The 10 best free animation software in 2021
This free animation software offers tools for modeling, lighting, video operations after conversion, other animation tools and much more. Blender also works across all major platforms and operating systems, making this free 3D animation software perfect for anyone who wants to put in the effort to learn it.
Alternatives to SketchUp: Check out 10 free programs
Even though the software wasn’t, at first, intended for architectural design, it is one of the best alternatives to SteckUp since it allows you to use more organic shapes and provides enhanced polygon editing tools. Not to mention that Blender has a larger amount of polygons in a single scene than SketchUp does. Thanks to its capacity to map textures over surfaces and the built-in Cycles and Eevee rendering...
Trending 7 Best Game Development Software 2021
Blender is a free and open-source software for video game creation. If you’d like to learn 3D modeling and animation, then blender is the perfect place for you.
14 BEST 2D Animation Software in 2020 [Free/Paid]
Blender is a 2D computer graphics software application for developing visual effects, animated movies, games, and more. This tool allows you to import or export videos in MPEG, QuickTime, and AVI file formats.
9 Best Video Editing Software in 2020 with Benefits & Features
Blender is again one of the most recommended video editing software that is available for free to the people. This is an open-source platform built with 3D computer graphics by combining the efforts of students, artists, visual effect experts, scientists, game artists, animators, artists, and several other professionals.
7 Best 3D Modeling Programs Like SketchUp | EASY RENDER
Blender isn’t quite as straightforward in terms of toolset as SketchUp, but it’s pretty darn close. But, that’s an easy concession to make when you consider everything else the program offers. Not only is it a proper 3D modeler, it has a fully integrated rendering engine that stands tall against programs like vRay, Maxwell, or Lumion. Blender is a one-stop-shop that contintues to amaze the visualization and...
Best Free Video Editing Software for Linux
Blender is a professional, industry-grade, open source, cross-platform video editor. It is popular for 3D works. Blender has been used in several Hollywood movies, including the Spider-Man series.
10 Adobe Animate Alternatives in 2020
Blender has a collection of tools for modeling, lighting and even more. You can work with dynamic simulations and create such things as fabric, pouring liquids, etc. It is also possible to use Blender as a non-linear video editor.

Do you know an article comparing Blender to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.