Software Alternatives & Reviews

Apache Cassandra Reviews

The Apache Cassandra database is the right choice when you need scalability and high availability without compromising performance.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Apache Cassandra and what they use it for.
  • System Design: URL Shortener
    Since the data is not strongly relational, NoSQL databases such as Amazon DynamoDB, Apache Cassandra, or MongoDB will be a better choice here, if we do decide to use an SQL database then we can use something like Azure SQL Database or Amazon RDS. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • System Design: WhatsApp
    We will split the data between different services each having ownership over a particular table. Then we can use a relational database such as PostgreSQL or a distributed NoSQL database such as Apache Cassandra for our use case. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Mom at 54 is thinking about coding and a complete career shift. Thoughts?
    Maybe rare for someone to be seeking their first coding job at that age. But plenty of us are in our 50s or older and still coding up a storm. And not necessarily ancient tech or anything. My current project exposes analytics data from Apache Druid and Cassandra via Go microservices hosted in K8s. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • How We Built a Serverless Backend Using GraalVM, AWS Lambda and Astra DB (Part 1)
    Astra DB is a multi-cloud database-as-a-service (DBaaS) based on Apache Cassandra™ that eliminates the overhead of installing, operating, and scaling your own database installation. Essentially, Astra DB helps developers reduce deployment time, costs, and nightmares. Astra DB also equips you with a few data APIs to build applications faster, which leads us to our next big player — Stargate. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • System Design: The complete course
    Since the data is not strongly relational, NoSQL databases such as Amazon DynamoDB, Apache Cassandra, or MongoDB will be a better choice here, if we do decide to use an SQL database then we can use something like Azure SQL Database or Amazon RDS. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • How to Create a Fullstack App Using NuxtJS, NestJS, and Datastax Astra DB (with a Little Help from Github Copilot)
    If you are looking for a database that can scale fast, has a dynamic schema for unstructured data and flexible data models then choose a NoSql database. In this tutorial, Eddie is using Apache Cassandra®. - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • Bring Streaming to Apache Cassandra with Apache Pulsar
    One such technology is Apache Pulsar® — an open-source, distributed messaging and streaming platform that’s easy to deploy, simple to scale, and packed with developer-friendly APIs. So the next question is: how can you stream from Pulsar to Apache Cassandra®, the powerful NoSQL database designed to support data-heavy applications in the cloud? - Source: dev.to / 8 months ago
  • How to Develop and Test an Automated CI/CD Workflow with Cassandra
    If you have projects that depend on Apache Cassandra™ and you want to develop an automated continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) flow, you’re going to need to create Cassandra clusters dynamically for your tests to make sure that your app works after each code change. DataStax does this every day — we run Cassandra in Kubernetes to power Astra DB. And, we use continuous testing of our Cassandra... - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • Stargate gRPC: The Better Way to CQL
    Recently, we released gRPC as the newest API supported by Stargate, our API data gateway. On the surface, it would seem like the API doesn’t do very much; it receives CQL queries via the gRPC protocol, then passes those to Apache Cassandra® and returns the results. Sounds like a pretty modest feature release, right? - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • SQL vs. NoSQL: Pros & Cons
    Astra is a multi-cloud database as a service (DBaaS), built on Apache Cassandra® and Kubernetes, with a microservices architecture. You can be up and running in a few clicks on the cloud of your choice — Azure, Google Cloud Platform or AWS. Once there, it drastically simplifies application development. - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Apache Cassandra

16 Top Big Data Analytics Tools You Should Know About
Application Areas: If you want to work with SQL-like data types on a No-SQL database, Cassandra is a good choice. It is a popular pick in the IoT, fraud detection applications, recommendation engines, product catalogs and playlists, and messaging applications, providing fast real-time insights.
9 Best MongoDB alternatives in 2019
The Apache Cassandra is an ideal choice for you if you want scalability and high availability without affecting its performance. This MongoDB alternative tool offers support for replicating across multiple datacenters.

Do you know an article comparing Apache Cassandra to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.