Software Alternatives & Reviews

Zim Wiki Reviews

Zim is a graphical text editor used to maintain a collection of wiki pages. Each page can contain links to other pages, simple formatting and images.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Zim Wiki and what they use it for.
  • Moved from Windows 10. What do you guys use for journal? Daily Diary?
    In that case, you might like Zim. It's a desktop wiki tool, that writes flat text files in folders (if you use note nesting), using markdown (plus buttons for formatting if you prefer). You can configure it to default new notes to include date, and I think a calandar selector is used for something, but I've only used it for cross-referenced things, such as cookbooks or loading TTRPGs/settings together. - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago
  • Firefox on Unix is moving away from X11-based remote control
    I've just checked my desktop and (beside a ton of terminals), I have : - Zim (GTK widgets note taking app): https://zim-wiki.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 29 days ago
  • The best note-taking software for programmers
    I don’t want my dev notes in the cloud, so I use Zim Wiki. Has git integration and markdown supports as well as dozens of plugins for other kinds of markup (graphs, flowcharts, etc). Also decent attachments support and the ability to export HTML for documentation. Also has sufficient GTD support. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Looking for a OneNote alternative for Windows
    You could try Zim wiki. It might not be exactly what you want, but it's fairly close, I think. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • How do you guys keep track of all your NPCs and their stories?
    OneDrive + https://zim-wiki.org/ = a personal desktop wiki I can create a record for each NPC, notes, and use a simple but effective tagging system for the search function. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • r/SteamDeck in summary
    Also, sometimes I use KDE's kate editor for things, I often keep a Zim notebook open as well. I could use emacs' org-mode for that but I like zim more usually. I've also tried using joe and jed in the past; they seemed nice, but I never really stuck with them for some reason. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • A second brain, for you, forever
    Just to chime in here, long time "http://zim-wiki.org" guy here. I'm still basically sticking with Zim for most of what I do, but that's probably mostly the equivalent of "personal muscle memory," for structured things. But I am moving to Obsidian for anything "non-heirarchical" or "unstructured;" which for me is my "bookmarking" system as well as my personal Zettelkasten/brain exploring gardeny thing. The... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • Show HN: Stormah, cloud notes stored in your own Git repo
    Related software and previously discussed on HN - ZimWiki https://zim-wiki.org/ It lets you run a Wiki out of a vault in your drive, which can be moved to a new machine or exported as PDF/HTML. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • How do you keep track of your home brewed world?
    OneNote is probably most intuitive, but I use https://zim-wiki.org/ and keep it hosted on OneDrive so I can edit between Laptop and PC and the changes sync automatically. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Looking for a recipes app
    Https://zim-wiki.org is pretty sexy as long as you don't need to interact on mobile. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Zim Wiki

8 Free Note Taking Software For Windows – Evernote Alternatives
Zim is a graphical text editor used to maintain a collection of wiki pages. Each page can contain links to other pages, simple formatting and images. Pages are stored in a folder structure, like in an outliner, and can have attachments. Creating a new page is as easy as linking to a nonexistent page. All data is stored in plain text files with wiki formatting. Various plugins provide additional functionality, like...
Ask HN: Favorite note-taking software?
One problem is that some notes tend to become spread out and somewhat chaotic, especially when having to multitask under time pressure. Many notes taken have little if any value after some weeks or months so I don't pay much attention to strict discipline there. Zim is essentially a somewhat messy lab journal intended for myself.

Do you know an article comparing Zim Wiki to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.