Software Alternatives & Reviews

Zim Wiki Reviews

Zim is a graphical text editor used to maintain a collection of wiki pages. Each page can contain links to other pages, simple formatting and images.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Zim Wiki and what they use it for.
  • Silver Bullet: Markdown-based extensible open source personal knowledge platform
    I'm very interested here. I'm a big http://zim-wiki.org guy, but I've always been fascinated with the promise of doing this in the browser to reduce that sort of friction. Tiddlywiki's a possibility here, but for being browser-based it always seemed weirdly difficult to do client/server style. This seems like the kind of thing I'm looking for, should be easy to self-host and access from different browsers,... - Source: Hacker News / about 17 hours ago
  • Writing by hand is still the best way to retain information
    It might not be exactly what you need, but I use Zim for this purpose. [https://zim-wiki.org/]. - Source: Hacker News / 11 days ago
  • For me, obsidian is a software in need of a purpose ; interested in knowing *why* do you use it?
    You might explore Zim Wiki since it's free and useful even though it's an older app. There's less to learn and you might find it useful. It also uses text files just like Obsidian does. - Source: Reddit / 23 days ago
  • How do you stay organised?
    The alternative if it matters to obsidian is Zim desktop wiki which is fully open source unavailable cross platform too. - Source: Reddit / 26 days ago
  • Vets and civ players of NMS, is there a group or dedicated wiki that charts every single planet?
    Personally I would recommend travelers wanting to log their journeys & discoveries outside of the game use personal wiki tools like Zim Wiki or TiddlyWiki, or maybe DokuWiki set up to run on a flash drive (see: DokuWiki on a stick). - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • How did you choose between Joplin, Foam, Trilium, Obsidian, Logseq, Roam?
    Journal, Alt-d, creates a file for the day https://zim-wiki.org But it depends, your needs. - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • Comfy Software: A software aesthetic for hackers with depression
    My basic i3 desktop - I remember when I tried i3 for the first time, I had put the intro video and just followed the keybindings and it instantly felt the most natural I had ever felt with my computer (having been through dos, win 9x up to 7, with aston shell, various stardock stuff I forgot the name of, litestep, bblean, xoblite, linux with kde 3, fluxbox for a very long time, gnome 2, kde 4, gnome 3, and a few... - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • Ask HN: What wiki software do you use?
    I have never used wiki software before. But, some HN users recommend to use Zim [0]. They shared their experience with Zim on this thread [1]. This is one of the example [2]. Hopefully, it can be a reference for you. [0]: https://zim-wiki.org [1]: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=30089544 [2]: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=30089544. - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • How to Build a Personal Webpage from Scratch (In 2022)
    Wonder no more, you 100% do not. I use http://zim-wiki.org + a customized template. http://jrm4.com is it. - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • Local, Server-Less, OpenSource Wiki?
    You might look at Zim (https://zim-wiki.org/) as well. It's cross platform and all the data is stored in .txt files (but is displayed using a markdown style). - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Zim Wiki

8 Free Note Taking Software For Windows – Evernote Alternatives
Zim is a graphical text editor used to maintain a collection of wiki pages. Each page can contain links to other pages, simple formatting and images. Pages are stored in a folder structure, like in an outliner, and can have attachments. Creating a new page is as easy as linking to a nonexistent page. All data is stored in plain text files with wiki formatting. Various plugins provide additional functionality, like...
Ask HN: Favorite note-taking software?
One problem is that some notes tend to become spread out and somewhat chaotic, especially when having to multitask under time pressure. Many notes taken have little if any value after some weeks or months so I don't pay much attention to strict discipline there. Zim is essentially a somewhat messy lab journal intended for myself.

Do you know an article comparing Zim Wiki to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.