Software Alternatives & Reviews

ZeroTier Reviews

Extremely simple P2P Encrypted VPN

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about ZeroTier and what they use it for.
  • I'm speechless for services like Tailscale, what's the downside?
    I lived under a rock, and only today I found a service called Tailscale.com . I think other provider offers the same thing, one alternative seems to be zerotier.com. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Lab simulators
    I set up EVE-ng on a google cloud VM. Then immediately the question was how do I get access to the lab equip? I found this video explaining how to set up a virtual nic on the eve-ng VM, connect that to a cloud network in eve-ng, then connect mgmt interfaces from your devices to that. Then he used zerotier.com to setup a quick ssl vpn. Now I can turn off all inbound access to the VM and access all my lab... - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Cheap and cheerful router with block list?
    I prefer Routerboard with arm cpu, because it support running ZeroTier and docker containers. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Connecting to my business local network from home
    I suggest using ZeroTier, similar to VPN but without hassle and public ip. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Want to access Homebridge UI remotely. Homebridge is installed on a Pi 4
    I would suggest you look into using Zerotier (zerotier.com). It is easy to install alongside the homebridge software. You'll need the zerotier app from the App Store on the other end but that is about it. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • VPN Server in AWS or Azure?
    If you want easy private access without needing to opening ports or worry about static ip addresses, you could do worse than to consider one of the newer alternatives - https://enclave.io, https://tailscale.com or https://zerotier.com. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Is it possible to have remote connections on starlink
    I read other replies and tunneling is one way. There are also some small footprint tools like tailscale.com and zerotier.com. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Help: can't connect remotely with SSH from a different wifi
    Then once you've done that go back to zerotier.com page and click on your network and scroll down to where it says Members and your machine should be listed. Tick the box under Auth? And then add the name of the machine like Debian NAS so you know which one is which and it should be good to go. The IP address you need to use for SSH should be under Managed IP's. Works great for me. Works from Windows, Mac, Android... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Any chance to have a routable IPv4 or IPv6
    Something simpler might be https://zerotier.com - they have a free service level and make it really easy to link multiple sites together, might be worth a look? - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Reaching out to zerotier.com even though Self Hosted
    The title really sums it up. I self host a zerotier server for my endpoints to communicate with, however, after running some packet capture on the host (not server) it is reaching out to root-mia-01, etc all hosted at zerotier.com. I'm a little concerned that the connection is still not exclusively going through the self hosted part. Any thoughts on why this may be, or a correction on my fears? - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of ZeroTier

15 Best Hamachi Alternatives for Gaming in Virtual LAN (Latest 2021)
ZeroTier creates a safe & secure network between computers, cloud, and mobile devices through its P2P functionality.
The 10 Best Open Source VPN Apps
According to the makers themselves, ZeroTier is a network hypervisor that allows users to create a virtual network. Accordingly, referring to ZeroTier as simply a VPN client would be an injustice to it. Users who are just looking for a VPN can also opt for this open-source software. Using this software, you won’t have to worry about different websites accessing your location or tracking down any other data. When...
11 Best Hamachi Alternatives for Virtual LAN Gaming
ZeroTier also supports almost all operating systems and also has its own Android and iOS mobile applications. It not just offers VPN services but also provides SDN. ZeroTier has a huge community and you won’t have to worry if you get into any trouble while setting up your LAN party. It offers low ping and even though it’s a VPN client it’s useful to setup Virtual LAN parties.
Top 10 Hamachi Alternatives for Virtual LAN Gaming
ZeroTier might be a name you haven’t heard of, but it is one of the best Hamachi alternatives for creating your own virtual LAN. With support for practically all operating systems, including Windows, MacOS, iOS, Android, and Linux, ZeroTier is everywhere. ZeroTier is Open Source app and comes with free Android and iOS apps. The software manages to deliver the capabilities of VPNs, SDN, and SD-WAN with a single...

Do you know an article comparing ZeroTier to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.