Software Alternatives & Reviews

YouNeedABudget Reviews

Personal home budget software built with Four Simple Rules to help you quickly gain control of your money, get out of debt, and reach your financial goals!

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about YouNeedABudget and what they use it for.
  • 29yo, 39k salary, 5k credit card debt and 40k in student loans debt. My rent is $1100/mo. I’m just looking for any advice that can help at all, long or short term.
    You don't need to buy their app to do the process, but youneedabudget.com has a pretty good explanation. https://www.youneedabudget.com/the-four-rules/. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • New to YNAB -- "available" confusion
    Have you been able to watch any of the training videos or read any of the support articles at https://youneedabudget.com? YNAB has a bit of a learning curve, so it is worth it to review the help available in video and written format from the website. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • Looking for bookkeeping software for personal finances
    You Need A Budget (YNAB) is good since my wife also records transactions (phone app!). - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • Recommendations for Apple OS Financial trackers?
    Try out YNAB. It is not a macOS app, per se, but it works in the browser and they also have phone and tablet companion apps. The best thing about YNAB is that it teaches you how to think about money in a more sustainable way, giving every dollar a job and having to account for every penny. If you read their docs, watch their training, and follow their concepts, you will be on your way to breathing easy. It isn't... - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • GnuCash
    I hated all of the advertising in mint. I recently started using ynab[0], which can also import balances & transactions from banks. It supports oauth and 2fa, which was nice for the reason you listed: I don't want to give my credentials to anyone, even a "trusted" vendor like intuit. It also has a rest api, which I haven't gotten to try yet, but stands out as a very nice to have feature for me. The downside is... - Source: Hacker News / 27 days ago
  • IM AN ex FINANCIALLY IRRESPONSIBLE MILLENNIAL WHERE DO I START
    Sounds like you're doing great so far. Two things really helped me get from low 500s into the 800s. One was the YNAB program (youneedabudget.com) and the other was the sage advice from the creditboards.com forums. Good luck to you on your quest for a home of your own. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • How do you budget your "rainy day" funds?
    I use YNAB (youneedabudget.com) and set aside money for house maintenance, auto maintenance, medical etc. I also move some money into savings each month. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Unexpected expenses every month!
    We use separate "sinking funds" to plan for most of the "expected unexpected" things: one for car repair, one for medical copay and deductibles, one for house repairs and upkeep (everything from plumbers to new appliances, so a good 2K minimum.). Also separate fund for gifts that can handle unexpected wedding invitations. See youneedabudget.com for a simple way to organize this, or you can use buckets in a HYSA. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Keeping Up With The FIRE Joneses
    Guard against lifestyle creep with a vengeance. Use YNAB religiously. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Review of Projectifi for financial modeling and forecasting
    I use YNAB for budgeting, and if you're not familiar with it, it focuses on "giving every dollar a job" and only on the money you currently have. There's no forecasting. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of YouNeedABudget

11 Best Quicken Alternatives in 2021 (#1 is Free)
One of YNAB’s core principles is to give every dollar a job. You do that by deciding how you’ll spend every dollar that enters your checking account. As with other tools, you can connect your bank accounts and credit cards to YNAB. This allows for real-time updates so that you can track your spending throughout the month.
The Best Personal Finance Budget Software with Apps (In 2020)
YNAB believes that in order to successfully budget, you need to be hands-on with your money. Until the version released in December 2015, users had to manually enter all transactions–although the program and its companion apps for iPhone, iPad, and Android devices made this very easy. This also means that YNAB is one of the few programs that easily allows users to track cash spending.
Top 15 Budget Apps to Make Your Personal Finance Goals Easy
I love YNAB and Personal Capital. I still use the old version of YNAB as I paid a one time fee for it (as I refuse to pay for subscriptions – yes, I’m cheap). As for Personal Capital, it’s a nice way to view only our investment and retirement accounts, and I love how it tracks contributions and fees.
10 Mint.com Alternatives – Money Apps Fresher than Mint dot com
Our Favorites ServiceWhy We Like Them🏆 Personal Capital[Editor's Pick]Personal Capital is our Editor's Pick as the best Mint alternative because they do the best job capturing your finances holistically. It has the best suite of investment tools available plus a robust budgeting system too. And it's free.Try Personal CapitalYou Need a BudgetHands down the best budget transition software available – it's more than...

Do you know an article comparing YouNeedABudget to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.