Software Alternatives & Reviews

WriteFreely Reviews

Write Freely is free and open source software for starting a minimalist, federated blog — or an entire community.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    I love this:)

    It is siple to use, the words are the center:)

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about WriteFreely and what they use it for.
  • How does WriteFreely work in the Fediverse?
    I don't know if this is the right subreddit, because it has no description. I am talking about WriteFreely. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Is there an OS blog hosting platform?
    Https://writefreely.org is my favorite and very easy to get running. It supports multiple users with multiple blogs and custom CSS. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Always Own Your Platform (2019)
    May be worth considering: Lightweight ActivityPub writing platform, straightforward to self-host but there are also managed hosts: https://writefreely.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 4 months ago
  • Increasing the Surface Area of Blogging
    Write.as and https://writefreely.org/ are what you want, but static and activitypub don't reallllyyyy go together without shims in the middle. - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • One Foot Out the Door - Austin looking into blogging due to Twitter buy & missing writing
    Plenty of people are migrating into the Fediverse, mostly towards Mastodon/Plemora in my circles but there's also writefreely, a federated macroblogging platform. Every account in the Fediverse can access and follow others, even across services. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • ActivityPub Fediverse Implementations
    Related to the recent post on Mastodon. All these implementations speak the same higher-level protocol and you can therefore connect, follow, and share between them. Two more not mentioned: https://writefreely.org/ (Blog platform) https://bookwyrm.social/ (Goodreads alternative). - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Mastodon 3.5
    Writefreely[1] supports ActivityPub, and are already planning to look at some of the ideas you have. [1]: https://writefreely.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Mastodon 3.5
    Since you didn't say it, I'll mention that fediverse is not limited to microblogging. For long form blogging there is, e.g., https://writefreely.org/ To me it feels like RSS on steroids. Best of the modern web (technology) combined with the best of early 2000s web (decentralization). - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Ask HN: Are blog comments a thing of the past?
    Also if you think this sounds neat and don't have a blog setup of choice already: https://writefreely.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • A guy I recently befriended on slowly texted me on instagram and I didn't like that
    I would suggest you could try a Write.Freely blog - it's free, simple and clean. And there are various hosts you can get an account on. It's the platform I use for my personal Blogs in Slowly matters and Technology. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

Do you know an article comparing WriteFreely to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.