Software Alternatives & Reviews

WordPress Reviews

WordPress is web software you can use to create a beautiful website or blog. We like to say that WordPress is both free and priceless at the same time.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about WordPress and what they use it for.
  • I want to have my own .com but I am currently on Wordpress with a .home.blog and not sure of what to do. HELP.ME.
    Okay so just like what I replied on the first comment, to do that, firstly 'd have to get my own domain from wherever like namecheap for example then get wordpress.org on which I would have to sign up with my newly purchased domain then go to my wordpess.com account then extract and export the entire website into the new domain I have on wordpress.org right? I mean yea sure I could use the migration tool too but... - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • I want to have my own .com but I am currently on Wordpress with a .home.blog and not sure of what to do. HELP.ME.
    That was actually very useful. So in my understanding I'd have to get my own domain from wherever like namecheap for example then get wordpress.org on which I would have to sign up with my newly purchased domain then go to my wordpess.com account then extract and export the entire website into the new domain I have on wordpress.org? Did I get that right? If I did then damn thats the question Ive been wanting an... - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Which platform is best for getting started?
    If you do not want to use wordpress.org I can recommend buying your own WordPress instance on a cloud provider. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Wordpress.org from .com
    I have never build out a website and I am finding it to be fairly difficult to do things I would think are fairly easy with wordpress.com. I kind of jump into the wordpress.com hosting subscription without looking into options, and I have read that you have a bit more freedom having outside hosting and using wordpress.org to build the website. I have also noticed that any of the tutorial videos I watch are have... - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • Completely new: does this look right?
    I asked on a different comment but would a beginner with no coding experience be better off on wordpress.com ? Or is wordpress.org easy enough to learn? I'm still leaning toward .org since getting a managed plan at knownhost seems to be the same. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Completely new: does this look right?
    Thanks I'll remember that. I'm doing research on how this all works. I don't know if wordpress.org will be simple enough for someone with no experience. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Completely new: does this look right?
    I have a question. Since I don't know any coding or anything about building a website, should I go for wordpress.com? Or is wordpress.org easy enough for me to get my website going in the next few days? I plan on getting a managed plan regardless. Thank you! - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • How to use a custom developed theme?
    No, I just didn't realise that wordpress.org was self-hosting. I had some random idea that I could upload to host on the web version? I was really just trying to figure out how to get the template online so other people can search it up. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Completely new: does this look right?
    Hello I had a website on Wix many years ago and found out that I shouldn't use them. I don't know anything about building a website but I decided to go with Wordpress (wordpress.org). The website is really basic. We provide care and education for high risk children and the website just has text info. The most interactive thing is a contact us page. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • How do add advertisements to a webpage that can be disabled for certain users?
    Plugins on the wordpress.org website are free, but almost everyone has a "Paid" version. Start small and pay for the one you like. - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of WordPress

16+ Best Web Design Software in 2022 (Ranked by a Trusted Expert)
You can download and use WordPress page builders for free, and the platform also offers web hosting plans that are among the most affordable options. You can even watch WordPress tutorials or follow the guide from the web builder, and it will help you choose from various growth-focused plans that will allow you to scale your business easily.
16 Best Web Design Software in 2022 [Essential Guide]
WordPress is a free and open-source content management system (CMS) based on PHP and MySQL. To function, WordPress has to be installed on a web server, which would either be part of an Internet hosting service or a network host in its own right. An example of the first scenario may be a service like WordPress.com, for example, and the second case could be a computer running the software package WordPress.
15+ Best Web Design Software of 2022 (Ranked and Reviewed)
WordPress is a free and open-source web development platform that provides everything you need to build a dynamic website. From customizable themes to web hosting – WordPress is a full web design and development suite.
EasyContent vs WordPress
One subscription or license for a single site - most of the time, premium WordPress themes and plugins (which includes "all-in-one" plugins) sell licenses or subscriptions that can only be used by a single site. If you have multiple sites, you'll have to buy multiple licenses or subscriptions.
8 Great Drupal Alternatives to Try for your Website (Nov 2021)
Not to be confused with WordPress.com, WordPress.org is the flexible, free-to-use solution for building your own website. WordPress.com is a hosted platform that runs on the WordPress software, but doesn't give you nearly as much freedom as WordPress.org, which is similar to Drupal in its open-source design. WordPress.org doesn't require nearly as much coding experience to use. There are countless resources to tap...
WordPress alternatives: Which CMS platform is the best?
WordPress is something beginners usually can pick up quickly, whereas Drupal is somewhat complicated. WordPress is incredibly intuitive and user-friendly for users with no background in web development. Additionally, WordPress’s community gives users great support due to its outspread.
11 Popular Free And Open Source WordPress CMS alternatives in 2021
So you want to create a website or blog but would rather avoid WordPress? WordPress is very powerful and scalable, it’s also pretty complicated for beginners.
How to Choose the Best Blogging Platform in 2021 (Compared)
Because of the similarity in names, beginners often start with WordPress.com thinking they are getting the powerful WordPress.org software. After seeing the limitations, users often end up switching from WordPress.com to WordPress.org to have more features, ease of use, and control over their website.
WordPress alternative that is simpler and faster
However, the truth is that WordPress can be overkill for many people who are just looking to publish content on a blog, and don't need all the features that WordPress has to offer to create virtually any kind of website. DynaBlogger goes back to WordPress' roots and focuses purely on blogging by delivering a simpler experience with all the features that you really need to publish awesome content, and nothing else...
13 Best Tumblr alternatives in 2020
First one in the list of tumblr alternatives is WordPress. When we talk about blogging or posting, no one could ever forget about WordPress. It is one of the widest platforms which come in two variants helping you create the best place where you can post useful blogs. A blogging platform is usually considered as incomplete without WordPress. Why WordPress is considered as the best Tumblr alternative? It is because...
Best Headless CMS for 2020
WordPress isn't typically what you'd think of as serverless, but you can use the REST API, available on both self-hosted WordPress sites and WordPress.com, to build static sites or JavaScript-rendered sites. Visit site here
4 Best GoDaddy Alternatives for WordPress Sites – Cheaper, Faster, Better
Most importantly (for our purposes), there are other companies offering a service more targeted to WordPress users. GoDaddy’s WordPress plans are a nice option, but you’ll have to go elsewhere to find WordPress-specific hosting that is non-managed, for example.

Do you know an article comparing WordPress to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.