Software Alternatives & Reviews

WordPress Reviews

WordPress is web software you can use to create a beautiful website or blog. We like to say that WordPress is both free and priceless at the same time.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about WordPress and what they use it for.
  • What is the best/cheapest CMS to develop in?
    You were using the wrong WordPress as stated by others. You were using wordpress.com while you should have been getting an open source copy of wordpress from WordPress.org. That allows you to do anything you want with it. The reason I went to it was mostly employability considering it has such a huge market share. You'll always be able to find work in WordPress. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • What is the best/cheapest CMS to develop in?
    Oh I had no idea that "wordpress.com" and "wordpress.org" were different. Thanks a lot for the help! Ill look into it! - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • THANK YOU! I LITERALLY MADE A WEBSITE FROM SCRATCH AND HOSTED IT ON THE INTERNET BY GETTING FREE ADVICES FROM THIS SUB.
    Please explain the difference between Wordpress CMS, wordpress.org, and wordpress.com. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Confused About How To Setup a Blog
    Do I create a website with wordpress.org and then host it on wordpress.com? Or do I use wordpress.com only? Also can I setup a website before paying for any hosting? Also if you know of a better way to start a blog I'd love to know. - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • Let this sink in...
    Another solution which requires an in-company tech team is BTCPayServer. It's like wordpress.org by comparison. It gives you much more control on what you can do and although you have to pay hosting and maintenance fees, it should be cheaper than the subscription fees and you will likely get more value for your buck in the long run -- if you can manage it and manage the upfront costs. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Customising a premium theme
    Hi folks, I'm working on a child theme for a client's premium wordpress.org theme and I've come across two issues which I hope someone could help me with. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Migrating from Wordpress.com to Wordpress.org
    Because you're new to WP.org, I'd recommend first installing wordpress.org locally, using "Local" (localwp.com). Get that setup the way you want, import your .com posts, then when you're ready to go live, go get yourself some decent hosting (i.e. Not BlueHost or Daddy!) an migrate from your local version to your live server. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • Best YouTube video for a guide to creating a WordPress website for beginners?
    Wordpress.com is a private company who uses their own version of Wordpress. It has many restrictions, whereas the proper, self-hosted (wordpress.org) version there are no restrictions. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Where can a Freelance Translator advertise online?
    Finally, you can make your own website, and online presence is dictated by SEO too. It takes a bit of knowledge in this field, but you can create one more easily on specialized websites (Wix, Wordpress.com) or download a website design programm like wordpress.org, which allows you to be the owner of your own content, but you have to pay for the domain name. - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • Basic plan—magnifying glass
    Wordpress.com is not wordpress.org, better go with some other hosting provider than wordpress.com. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of WordPress

How to Choose the Best Blogging Platform in 2021 (Compared)
Because of the similarity in names, beginners often start with WordPress.com thinking they are getting the powerful WordPress.org software. After seeing the limitations, users often end up switching from WordPress.com to WordPress.org to have more features, ease of use, and control over their website.
WordPress alternative that is simpler and faster
However, the truth is that WordPress can be overkill for many people who are just looking to publish content on a blog, and don't need all the features that WordPress has to offer to create virtually any kind of website. DynaBlogger goes back to WordPress' roots and focuses purely on blogging by delivering a simpler experience with all the features that you really need to publish awesome content, and nothing else...
13 Best Tumblr alternatives in 2020
First one in the list of tumblr alternatives is WordPress. When we talk about blogging or posting, no one could ever forget about WordPress. It is one of the widest platforms which come in two variants helping you create the best place where you can post useful blogs. A blogging platform is usually considered as incomplete without WordPress. Why WordPress is considered as the best Tumblr alternative? It is because...
Best Headless CMS for 2020
WordPress isn't typically what you'd think of as serverless, but you can use the REST API, available on both self-hosted WordPress sites and WordPress.com, to build static sites or JavaScript-rendered sites. Visit site here
4 Best GoDaddy Alternatives for WordPress Sites – Cheaper, Faster, Better
Most importantly (for our purposes), there are other companies offering a service more targeted to WordPress users. GoDaddy’s WordPress plans are a nice option, but you’ll have to go elsewhere to find WordPress-specific hosting that is non-managed, for example.
Most Popular Free and Paid cPanel Alternatives in 2020
Lastly, Managed WordPress hosting is the best alternative to cPanel powered hosting where you can easily manage your WordPress site. It not only saves your time but it also saves you from the hassle of managing your server related tasks and responsibilities. The best part is that you don’t need any technical skills or expertise to manage your application through a managed WordPress hosting as it offers one-click...
7 open source alternatives to Dreamweaver
The open source content management service (CMS) and blogging platform, Wordpress, features a structured yet flexible page layout interface. It lets you create blog posts and pages with just enough flexibility to let your creativity thrive, and with just enough restriction to ensure that your creation renders correctly in all browsers. With Wordpress, you can have choose your desired level of complexity at every...
Best CMS Platforms in 2019 [WordPress vs Joomla vs Drupal vs Squarespace vs Wix vs Medium]
Small-medium or big, WordPress is the perfect solution for all. In this tight competitive era, when other platforms are struggling with their places; WordPress is the single winner in almost every aspect. Not us, data is telling this. All the recent states are the witness on this statement.
6 Best GoDaddy Alternatives for Web Hosting: Find Your Perfect Provider
Generally, most websites out there will be comfortable on a shared or VPS hosting plan. VPS hosting especially can handle thousands of weekly site visitors, and gives you more control over things like security and resource limits. WordPress hosting is the obvious choice if you’ve built your website using WordPress.
The Best 21 Sharepoint Alternatives in 2019
Similar to Wix above, you may be surprised to find a website creation tool on this list of Sharepoint alternatives. However, WordPress’ easy to use interface, makes it practical for sharing information. This includes data, pictures and videos. All of the members on a team can gain access to a site from any device. Since you can determine the privacy settings of a WordPress site, your team can use it as their...
9 Reasons I Think Craft is the Best CMS on the Market Today
It might seem like a small thing to be celebrating but a low reliance on plugins ultimately makes updating the site a breeze. For developers, once you update the core files, you just have to visit the control panel to run migrations. This makes updating the core really seamless across multiple environments. Having a one-click update is revolutionary compared to the Wordpress days where you would have to update...
Etsy Alternatives For Handmade, Vintage and Supplies
Cons – Setting up a store on WordPress is harder than on Shopify by quite a magnitude. You will have to have hosting for your site and also pay for some kind of shopping cart or payment processor. Your ultimate costs might or might not be lower than on Etsy. This would probably be the last thing I would recommend as an option unless you are very techy AND like marketing.

Do you know an article comparing WordPress to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.